PDA

View Full Version : Another Computer Problem


Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 01:54 PM
Hey. Im having ANOTHER computer problem. The problem is that I am seeing an excessive amount of broken Images. can anyone help me out and tell me why?

Thankz
~'kuni?

aRedMoon
June 24th, 2004, 01:56 PM
Where are you seeing them? Any site in particular?

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 01:57 PM
every site. even pc. especially attatchments and sigs.
this site here: http://www.rpg2knet.com/resources/?resource=chipsets has even more than usual. so can you help?

PichuSecretBase
June 24th, 2004, 02:19 PM
OH I HAD THIS PROGLEM! Go into Tools>>Internet Options>>Advaned Scroll down to Multimedia and select Show Pictures ^_^

I was so p-oed when i couldnt figure it out bleh

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 02:30 PM
no. i tried it. it shows very few images. but half of them dont work.

PichuSecretBase
June 24th, 2004, 02:35 PM
Is that on evrey website? try neopets.com, pichusb.com, suta-raito.com and any other websites. See if its just P but then again I see evreything..

Sayuri no Hoshi
June 24th, 2004, 02:37 PM
Do you have a new antivirus on your computer? If you do, that could be the problem. I've had it before and I had to configure it so that I wouldn't be seeing broken images all over the place. If that's your problem, I'll be more than happy to help you.

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 02:38 PM
pichusb.com is the only one with all its images...

Sakura and Espeon
June 24th, 2004, 02:40 PM
Maybe it's Norton Firewall. It has been blamed for blocking images. If you have it on your computer, disable it.

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 02:41 PM
hmm... is that part of norton system works???

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 03:48 PM
sorry to dp but the edit button makes my browser crash. this isnt my browser. i checked. so... can anyone help me out???

Kairi
June 24th, 2004, 04:13 PM
Um, Norton Internet Security seems to block all images, you can try removing that or seeing if your ISP has something to do with it?

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 04:14 PM
thanks kairi. is norton system works 2003 got anything to do with a firewall?

Kairi
June 24th, 2004, 04:21 PM
The NSW 2003 firewall may be blocking it, if you disable it and they work, then thats it. But...I didn't think SW had a firewall, oh well.

Imakuni?
June 24th, 2004, 04:26 PM
OH WELL?!? come on! i REALLY need help here...

Simon
June 26th, 2004, 04:59 PM
NSW 2003 doesn't come with a firewall. I have NSW 2003 and I've had no major problems with it so far. Do a virus scan or something. Although I don't know how a virus could do that to a computer.

Master Kwesi Nkromah
June 27th, 2004, 08:37 AM
Well if it's not a firewall blocking access to website content and it's not your IE image settings it may be your IE security settings.
Go to Tools > Internet Options > Security : Then check your Internet Settings, my IE is set to medium, but I suppose medium or medium-low would be fine. When viruses threaten yer computer you should set this to high.

After that, i suggest checking out what's in your trusted and restricted sites. trusted sites allow all downloads and images while restricted blocks all images n stuff.

I would then click over to the Privacy Tab check to see if that's set to medium.

If you haven't already, go to the Advanced Tab and click restore defaults. If after all of that images still don't work I would try browsing the web with a diffrent web browser. I would suggest Mozilla Firefox http://texturizer.net/firefox/download.html it's one of the best bowsers (imo)
-------

I'm moving this topic to the Computer Help and Discussion forum. We're testing to see if this forum could be successful in other chat so it's on a one week trial basis.

Imakuni?
June 27th, 2004, 09:46 AM
thanks kwesi. that helped.

Rukario
June 27th, 2004, 10:42 PM
another thing you can do is force your browser to always load the page (and not cache it)
tools > internet options > general tab > temporary internet files > settings > check for newer version of stored pages > every visit to the page (radio button)
this will slow down your browsing a bit cause IE has to load new pages each time u visit a site but it's worth it if your having browsing issues or like to see current pages.

you can also clear your cache files (same place as above) that may help a little..