PDA

View Full Version : [POTW] 'Is it pointless to make friends?'

RYOUKI
November 7th, 2007, 10:32 PM
I am not very good at tiles, I think the rule was made...because of em, well I never visit OVP very often but...

Anyways, I thought of this last night, I mean...
There always has a time when you'll be always busy with your school work and jobs that your only options is to leave PC, making all people who you consider as friends just a distant memory like the number one question in your math pop-quiz which you answered quickly xD.
So, Is it pointless to make friends in the internet? Discuss.

Nacon
November 7th, 2007, 10:39 PM
I say no because I'm always down for meeting new people.

the problem I have with meeting people from the digital world is that, odds are, that they are different than the real world person whom they really are.

I know that typing out words is a harder means of communication because of the lack of emotion, and that's also a big downfall...

but all in all.. I'm always down for meeting a genuine person, a person that doesn't change in spite of the means of communication. I have met a few of my digital friends, and you know what, it was quite cool in the sense that they were the same person and it did feel like I actually knew 'em. on rare occassion do I choose to meet 'em, however.... that's because of my trust issues... lol.

Ausaudriel
November 7th, 2007, 10:43 PM
Nah, your thread title is fine. XD As long as it has SOMETHING to do with the thread, it's fine. ("DO YOU LIKE THE WAFFLES?" would, for example, not be good.)

Anyway, I absolutely think it's worth it to make friends on the internet, and I treat my internet friends no differently than I would any other. I think that if you want an internet relationship (friendship or otherwise) to last, you can make it last, you just have to put effort into it.