PDA

View Full Version : I need help


Too-Angel
June 27th, 2004, 3:52 PM
I need help on my computer. I've been having this bug lately, everytime I click on NAV this message appears, and you know when you go to
START >> RUN >> CONTROL_USERPASSWORDS2 to delete msn sn's it says the same message. Anyone know how to get rid of this? It doesn't just show this error in just 1 software, probably HP Invent also does this. I have no idea what I did. Lately I haven't been on the computer, I have no idea what's going on. Please someone help me? There's a picture of the error provided, please click on the attachment.

http://img62.photobucket.com/albums/v188/InvinsibleM/Error.jpg


Bug 2: I also tried to delete softwares, it said i'm not logged in as an admin, only admin could do this kind of selections. Someone kind enough to tell me as well how to switch back to being an admin to be able to do what i'm able to do before.

Thanks in advanced.

aaaaaa
June 27th, 2004, 4:01 PM
Norton is borked, I'd say.
Head over to the Symantec Website and grab their NAV Removal Tool to remove all traces of it.
Then reinstall, and you should be fine.

Master Kwesi Nkromah
June 27th, 2004, 4:32 PM
First Question
a1337a has a good point, thats what I would do in your situation. Dont waste your time trying to fix a broken program when a reinstall can be done with no heart ache. But I wouldnt remove all traces of NAV from your system.

When a1337a said to remove all traces of NAV from your system I think her* mind set was on removing everything so the corrupt file can be deleted and replaced with a new one. My problem is if your NAV has quarantined any serious worms, Trojans or Viruses removing everything NAV had may just be releasing all of that back into your system. I dont know what kinda safety procedures NAV has but that would worry me.

If I were you I would go threw the normal uninstall program supplied with your software.

And to Answer your Second Question
First, is this your computer? If its not you may not have the ability to become admin. If thats the case you have to go threw the computers admin to get your software installed.

If it is your computer Go to My Computer > Control Panel (a link in the left menu) > User Accounts Here you should be able to see all the accounts registered on your machine. See whats what in there, I guess well take it from there next time if your still having problems.

aaaaaa
June 27th, 2004, 4:38 PM
Mm, point, Kwesi.
Well you could try a standard uninstall, and reinstall, but if that fails to correct the issue, you may have to run the NAV Removal Tool.
Give it a shot, anyway.

Oh, and Kwesi, I'm not a him ^_~

Too-Angel
June 27th, 2004, 4:56 PM
If I were you I would go threw the normal uninstall program supplied with your software.

So does that mean I have to ''uninstall norton system works,'' btw I don't
have the newer version of NAV, i'm guessing I have the 2002 version. So unistalling it would be safe? I'm planning to re-install it once it's finally uninstalled.

Master Kwesi Nkromah
June 27th, 2004, 4:58 PM
doh... I had a feelin u were a girl, Sessy Freak was like a dead give away. I ment to change all the hims to hers before I posted but i just forgot. SORRY (@_@);

So does that mean I have to ''uninstall norton system works,'' btw I don't
have the newer version of NAV, i'm guessing I have the 2002 version. So unistalling it would be safe? I'm planning to re-install it once it's finally uninstalled.
What we're saying is uninstall norton system works (/or whatever you have) then reinstall the same norton system works (or whatever you have). This will just replace any corrupt files u have on the system.

aaaaaa
June 27th, 2004, 4:59 PM
All is forgiven.

Well, Too-Angel, if the only uninstall opinion is for System Works, then by golly I say do that.
As long as you got the disc/s to reinstall, you should be fine.

Too-Angel
June 27th, 2004, 5:07 PM
All right, thanks again. Obviously I still need help one more thing, you know how to fix the problem with going to Run deleting MSN sn's. Cause it also says the same message.
Do I have to do something with that? I think I should go to msconfig, but i'm not so positive what to look for.

Master Kwesi Nkromah
June 27th, 2004, 5:23 PM
i think the reinstall of Norton may solve that problem as well. If not, do what the error message says, go to the options and create an association.