PDA

View Full Version : An Annoying Problem.


^^NICK^^ v.3.0
July 12th, 2004, 07:51 PM
I was wondering if anyone knew what is wrong with my internet. Lately, my internet explorer and AOL and all the other internet thingies keep randomly freezing, and I CTRL, ALT, DEL. It is really annoying, and it usually happens when I click on links to other sites. Does anyone know what this could be? I just stared happening about three days ago.

Simon
July 12th, 2004, 08:06 PM
Spyware? Ad-ware? Virus? Bad connection? Not up-to-date? Not enough RAM to load a simple link?

^^NICK^^ v.3.0
July 12th, 2004, 08:29 PM
Well, I got it in June of last year. I use Weatherbug, and I'm suspicious of it spreading ad-ware and spyware. My connection is good, and I have no idea what the deal with RAM is.

Simon
July 12th, 2004, 08:41 PM
You do actually know what RAM is right? Well if you don't have enough RAM or if other programs are draining your RAM then certain programs won't have enough RAM to run so they may freeze up until they can obtain the RAM to run. A very big problem I used to have with my old 56MB RAM computer...took it 10 minutes to even load the start-up...

I have no idea what Weatherbug is.

100marios
July 12th, 2004, 08:43 PM
Hmm, what company do you get your internet from? I've been having some problems somewhat similar to that, (though chances are they have nothing to do with eachother) so I'm curious.

Lokhlan
July 12th, 2004, 09:18 PM
I'm not too tech savvy, but would a virus do that maybe? If it's memory problems your having then just defragment your computer & uninstall any unnecessary programs. Thats my answer to everything. :D

^^NICK^^ v.3.0
July 12th, 2004, 10:18 PM
demonchaos916- I know what RAM stands for, and that's about it. My internet doesn't take long to load, since I have cable. It's just everytime I do certain things, it freezes, so I just exit it, and go back on.

100marios- We have Comcast, but we are also using a "free trial" of AOL, that expired, but we haven't stopped using it yet. -_-

Tendo- Yeah, I just got rid of some thigns like LimeWire, and my Weatherbug. Other stuff.

I shut down my computer for about an hour, and I got back on, and so far it hasn't happened. But, I haven't really done much, except gone on Serebii.net, and here.

Gr8person62.2
July 12th, 2004, 10:32 PM
Update EVERYTHING! Maybe you have something thats just a little too good for teh rest of the stuff, and it's not compatible.. oh heck that means nothing! Just update the browser or something..
Oh yea, and from your last post you said it hasn't done it in a while after a restart. Maybe it is a RAM problem? Get more of it. I reccommend 512MB. It's not that expensive these days either.

^^NICK^^ v.3.0
July 12th, 2004, 10:52 PM
Yeah, I clicked a link in the Snail Law thread, and AOL didn't freeze on me. So, what exactly is RAM. Is it like memory? All I know is, I had a lot of RAM when my mom bought this dell in june of last year.

EDIT: Here's my comp info:

Memory (RAM): 256 MB
Processor:Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.20GHz
Processor Speed: 2.14 GHz

Is that good for a one year old Dell?

Simon
July 12th, 2004, 11:30 PM
RAM=Random Access Memory..when it comes to computers it does anyways. It could stand for hundreds of other things...like "Radar Absorbing Material". Not going to get into that here.

RAM is a temporary means for your CPU to store and process data and so on. As long as power is flowing to the RAM modules, they can do their job. Once you turn the computer off or cut off the power from the module, any data will be lost. EG: You type up a 50 page report and a blackout occurs. You didn't save at all so you lose your entire report.

Almost all system crashes originate in memory, and almost all memory related crashes could be avoided if there were more RAM space to work in. There are lots of kind of RAM errors. Either too many programs are using the RAM, causing overlapping, or more than one program using the same RAM address which might cause an error. It goes on...not going to bother with it.

256MB of RAm is okay and should be a sufficent amount for using the internet.

http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

You can check a more detailed version of your system specs in that link. It should be a short download if you have cable.

RAM might not be causing those freeze ups on your IE. It could be you haven't updated it or don't have the QuickFixes Microsoft releases for things that could expose it to viruses and stuff. http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/

The age of a computer doesn't really matter much...especially if it's just one year. I hope those links work..

Gr8person62.2
July 13th, 2004, 12:04 AM
Hmm... I think you should do exactly that. Go to Microsofts update thingo, and download every single update there. It should fix a lot of little bug, and a lot of those are related to MSIE crashing for idiot Micro$oft programming reasons. It'l take long if you don't have cable, and if you don't update often, that stuff could end up being around 80MB :\ You also said your AOL and other internet thingies are freezing too, so I think your best solution is to go on an updating spree, and update everything of anything you can find.

Sakura and Espeon
July 13th, 2004, 10:05 AM
Never use AOL Browser.... it's evil!!!! or it's oni like...

Use Mozilla Firefox, the ultimate browsing animal.. XD... anyway, I have 384 MB of RAM so, it never freezes, even when I am using a virtual machine. ^_^

lol.... cute firefox.... lol... and my one year old about 2 years old dell still running fine... ;)

2.0 gHZ Celeron (evil) processor (Upgradable to a P4...............)
384 MB of Memory...