PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Indexing Sprites


RedYoshi
February 23rd, 2008, 02:19 PM
Indexing Sprites

Hey guys, today I'm going to show you how to index your sprites and later inserting them into your ROM.

Materials Needed (Method I use)
-Irfanview
-Microsoft Paint
-Unlz-Gba
-A sprite

Part 1 - Indexing the Sprite

So in this tutorial I will be using a YOSHI sprite. :D

So here we go, first of all make your canvas in paint 64x64

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/Pic1.png

Once that's done you need to make sure your sprite can fit in that space if not try re-sizing it.

So once you have your sprite you just copy and paste it onto the blank 64x64 canvas. Now save your image as a PNG.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/pic2.png

Now that thats done it's time to index it!

So to index it you open up Irfanview and open up your image.
Now go to IMAGE and click on DECREASE COLOR DEPTH.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/pic3.png

Once you're there select 16 COLORS (4 BPP), and click on OK.
(4th-pic)

Now you have your sprite indexed!!:D

But WAIT!! There's still that white background!!

All right so now go to Image->Pallete->Edit Pallete.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/pic4.png

Now keep this in mind, the first color on the pallete entries is TRANSPARENT.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/pic5.png

Now let's change that color, so double click on that and you'll get this color selection screen, so now choose a color and save your image. Your sprite will look a little bit messed up if you had a black outline or something like that.

So now open up PAINT again and open up your image and edit any errors on it and add your transparent background color.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/YOSHIFORTUT.png

Congratulations you have indexed your sprite and it is ready to be put in the game!

But wait a minute!! What if you don't know how to add it into the game??? No worries, I'll show you how!

Part 2 - Putting it into the ROM.
MAKE SURE THE SPRITE YOU ARE REPLACING IS BIGGER OR AS BIG AS THE SPRITE YOU ARE INSERTING INSERTING OVER A SMALLER SPRITE CAN LEAD TO YOUR PIC LOOKING ALL MESSED UP WITH SOME UNWANTED PIXELS.


All right, so now that you have your indexed sprite it's time to open up UNLZ-GBA.

So do that and search for the images in 667-1441 (POKEMON SPRITES - FIRERED)

All right so now you look for a Pokemon which is meaningless to you or you don't want in ROM and simply OVERWRITE it.

Note: I still don't know how to add them over the 25 empty slots

So go to IMPORT and click on your Indexed Sprite then simply click on WRITE TO ROM and tick all the boxes and then click on OK. In this case I will overwrite IVYSAUR.

There it is! It's in the ROM now! So now go ahead and test it!

If you did this correctly it should appear in the game.

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj99/Tunak_Tunak_Tun/INDEXINGtut6Small.png

Congratulations! You have successfully indexed your sprite and put it into the ROM!

RESIZING YOUR IMAGE
Well this shouldn't be too hard, really. But anyways if you have a huge sprite such as D\P sprites and you want to insert them to your game then you'll need to re-size since you can only use 64x64.
With D\P Sprites this should be easy heres what you need.

-Sprite (Indexed or not)
-Irfanview

Well first of all open up your sprite in Irfanview and then goto Image->Resize Resample. One there you disable "PRESERVE ASPECT RATIO" and thne where it says "Set New Size" just set the width and height to 64. There you have it, your sprite can now be inserted to your rom. But It may look a bit...pixelated so you may want to edit it a bit and then insert it.

I will also be releasing a few sprite packs (indexed) but not in this thread.

Darthatron
February 24th, 2008, 02:28 AM
Good post. I get several PMs a week asking how to do this. When you get the 15 posts be sure to post some images, to help the newbies. :)

Hellsing
February 24th, 2008, 03:29 PM
Good post. I get several PMs a week asking how to do this. When you get the 15 posts be sure to post some images, to help the newbies. :)

Hehe..one of that was me wasn't it?
Anyway I really needed this tutorial, good for n00bs like me. But if my sprite DOES have a black outline, do you still have to edit the transparent colour, or can you just fill the background with the transparent colour?

RedYoshi
February 25th, 2008, 05:03 PM
There we go, finally posted some pics, now it should be a little bit easier to understand.

Night_Blue
February 25th, 2008, 05:08 PM
Thanks
This really helps
I used to make them smaller in paint but they messed up there
Now to add pokemon with less problems

RedYoshi
February 25th, 2008, 05:24 PM
Hehe..one of that was me wasn't it?
Anyway I really needed this tutorial, good for n00bs like me. But if my sprite DOES have a black outline, do you still have to edit the transparent colour, or can you just fill the background with the transparent colour?

You will want to edit the transparent color or else the background (when you insert it) will still be there. If your outline was black and you didn't edit it then that will be gone once it's in the rom. So you'll have 15 other colors you can use in your sprite so you can try to edit one of those colors to something fairly similar to black.

manutdrule
February 25th, 2008, 10:16 PM
hi all something to ask...i resized an image into 64*64 and then reduce it into 16 colours using irfanview. Then i changed the first colour in that palette (which u define as the transparent colour) under the "edit palette" option into a definite colour i.e.green. So why does my image have a weird green outline now? What else must i do?

RedYoshi
February 25th, 2008, 11:43 PM
hi all something to ask...i resized an image into 64*64 and then reduce it into 16 colours using irfanview. Then i changed the first colour in that palette (which u define as the transparent colour) under the "edit palette" option into a definite colour i.e.green. So why does my image have a weird green outline now? What else must i do?


You must either edit the pallete with a color you aren't using to black and then use that color again on your outline.

NOTE: You have to use that weird green outline as your background color in order for the background to be transparent.

manutdrule
February 26th, 2008, 01:33 AM
well i've done all that, but unlz-gba still sees it as having 256 colours (from the palette on the right-hand side), so i can't import it in! The sprite that i got was found on this website: http://pokemonelite2000.com/sprites.html in the pokemon d/p section. Following ur instructions, i still can't make the sprite fully indexed to be imported.

Gogz7314
February 26th, 2008, 07:02 AM
The only problem I have is resizing D/P sprites and making the main and back sprites use the same pallet.
Any advice?

RedYoshi
February 26th, 2008, 12:39 PM
well i've done all that, but unlz-gba still sees it as having 256 colours (from the palette on the right-hand side), so i can't import it in! The sprite that i got was found on this website: http://pokemonelite2000.com/sprites.html in the pokemon d/p section. Following ur instructions, i still can't make the sprite fully indexed to be imported.

Did you go to Irfanview and decrease the colors to 16? Thats the only way that it can be imported into the ROM.

The only problem I have is resizing D/P sprites and making the main and back sprites use the same pallet.
Any advice?

Well in Unlz-Gba the backpic is the shiny form of the Pokemon, so they really shouldn't have the same pallete. You'll have to seperately index the sprite with IrfanView

Gogz7314
February 26th, 2008, 02:24 PM
Thanks for the reply. Any ideas on how to make the D/P sprites smaller though?
Sorry, I'm a total noob

manutdrule
February 26th, 2008, 03:16 PM
Did you go to Irfanview and decrease the colors to 16? Thats the only way that it can be imported into the ROM.


yup i already did that...

RedYoshi
February 26th, 2008, 05:31 PM
yup i already did that...

Well, I tried it with a lucario sprite and it actually worked, It will look as if it had 256 colors on the pallete preview thing but once you import it, it will just have the 16 colors in the pallete.

Do you get a message saying that it can't be imported? Did you add the transparent background?

Thanks for the reply. Any ideas on how to make the D/P sprites smaller though?
Sorry, I'm a total noob

You can try resizing it in paint or you can leave it as an 80x80, Index it, Fix it up and then resize the whole picture by going to Image -> Resize\Resample, once there go to the box where it says "Preserve Aspect Ratio" and disable it, then where it says "Set new size" and set them to "64 x 64". Now depending on how big the sprite is it might come out a bit pixelated.

Xaivier
February 26th, 2008, 06:18 PM
Im having a problem, When I get my pokemon added into the ROM (everything works fine on unLZ) The pallet ends up messed up in-game. My pokemon, that was in tones od Green, grey, and red, ended up in tones of olive green, pink, and orange.

I replaced treeco with this pokemon.

Im fairly new with this, I screwed around a bit in the past, and I have no idea how to fix this.

Know whats wrong?

RedYoshi
February 26th, 2008, 06:31 PM
Im having a problem, When I get my pokemon added into the ROM (everything works fine on unLZ) The pallet ends up messed up in-game. My pokemon, that was in tones od Green, grey, and red, ended up in tones of olive green, pink, and orange.

I replaced treeco with this pokemon.

Im fairly new with this, I screwed around a bit in the past, and I have no idea how to fix this.

Know whats wrong?

Hmm, Did you enable the "Export Pallete" option when you imported?

Xaivier
February 27th, 2008, 02:30 PM
I think so, Il try again with a different sprite.

Hellsing
February 27th, 2008, 02:36 PM
well i've done all that, but unlz-gba still sees it as having 256 colours (from the palette on the right-hand side), so i can't import it in! The sprite that i got was found on this website: http://pokemonelite2000.com/sprites.html in the pokemon d/p section. Following ur instructions, i still can't make the sprite fully indexed to be imported.

I had the same problem. The pallette preview is messed, then when I write it to the rom, the bottom of the sprite gets all funked up. Any suggestions?

RedYoshi
February 27th, 2008, 02:51 PM
I had the same problem. The pallette preview is messed, then when I write it to the rom, the bottom of the sprite gets all funked up. Any suggestions?

Might be b\c you overwrote a sprite smaller than the one you imported.

Hellsing
March 1st, 2008, 07:23 PM
Might be b\c you overwrote a sprite smaller than the one you imported.

Nah, they were both 64x64.
Thanks though.

RedYoshi
March 1st, 2008, 07:30 PM
Nah, they were both 64x64.
Thanks though.

I don't mean the size of the canvas, I meant the size of the actual Pokemon\Trainer.

Hellsing
March 2nd, 2008, 05:42 AM
I don't mean the size of the canvas, I meant the size of the actual Pokemon\Trainer.

Yeah, that's probably it. But does that really matter? Cause then I have to find a sprite the exact same sixe, don't I?

RedYoshi
March 2nd, 2008, 09:50 AM
Yeah, that's probably it. But does that really matter? Cause then I have to find a sprite the exact same sixe, don't I?

Yea, if your sprite is TOO big then it'll have those pixels in the bottom, you don't need to find one the exact size, just something bigger or close to it.

Hellsing
March 2nd, 2008, 01:04 PM
Yea, if your sprite is TOO big then it'll have those pixels in the bottom, you don't need to find one the exact size, just something bigger or close to it.

Thanks. Maybe I should listen to you without objection next time, eh? ;)

Asteroth
March 16th, 2008, 02:47 PM
its not working for me, why?

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/6383/beznzvuir2.jpg

Ryousha
March 16th, 2008, 03:18 PM
...
....
*sigh*
you open up the image infarview.

since it didn't work the first time.
reopen the file and decrease it again.

Asteroth
March 17th, 2008, 04:57 AM
so do you mean to open it in infraview few times ?

its not possible to decrease it again,, next if i decrease,..it will be B/W :(

Ryousha
March 17th, 2008, 06:21 AM
Ouchies,

Copy the image and open a new one.

then when you open infarview. Open the new file and decrease, and save it.
what sprite are u using?
I'll index it for you.

Asteroth
March 17th, 2008, 07:01 AM
its done now :) and i wanna ask, do i need to have all images for pokemon game 64x64 ??

and next ting i want to ask ( do you know any pokemon trainer editor for FireRed etc? i cant find any and maybe you will know)
thx for all <3

Ryousha
March 17th, 2008, 08:14 AM
Yeah, also there size has to be no bigger than 10kb.

or it won't work. and if u unselect auto abort. and do it the sprite will be there but like scrambled.

SerenadeDS
March 17th, 2008, 10:46 AM
Nice guide RedYoshi. There are a lot of these around.. Maybe you should include a section on how to "Resize" an Image. People need help in that area too =)

FenderX
April 11th, 2008, 09:53 AM
thanx!!this really helped me insert my fused pokemon into my hack

NTA
April 11th, 2008, 01:52 PM
i still cant get it done where can i get that yoshi sprite?

Megiddo-san
April 13th, 2008, 07:14 PM
My background isn't transparent. How do I fix this? http://s255.photobucket.com/albums/hh139/oddigem/?action=view&current=biita.png

Tropical Sunlight
April 14th, 2008, 02:46 AM
The background color must be the color it was on the sprite before, or if you editted palletes, the first color

Megiddo-san
April 14th, 2008, 05:41 AM
Okay. I think I know what to do now. Thanks.

Captainman
April 18th, 2008, 02:24 PM
I did everything that your tutorial had me do. It is the right size, and I reduced it to 16 (4 bbp or whatever) and set the bg as transparent. Then I clicked on unLZ-BGBA and it won't let me import it. It's saying that it's still not indexed! I've tried it 3 times and it won't work!! >.<''

It also says my Poke'mon start around number 2078 instead of the lower number you said. What's wrong with my programs?!

dragontamer
May 4th, 2008, 05:09 AM
@ the part where you gonna change the background, you say: make the first layer transparent. how you do that? becuz if I erase the background in paint i get a strange color background

NTA
May 4th, 2008, 11:45 AM
I did everything that your tutorial had me do. It is the right size, and I reduced it to 16 (4 bbp or whatever) and set the bg as transparent. Then I clicked on unLZ-BGBA and it won't let me import it. It's saying that it's still not indexed! I've tried it 3 times and it won't work!! >.<''

It also says my Poke'mon start around number 2078 instead of the lower number you said. What's wrong with my programs?!

i cant help you on the first part but about the 2078-its in run deep scan mode or something relating to that

Chimchar 9
May 5th, 2008, 01:42 AM
thanks this realy helped i can design my own pokemon whoooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Kronos1000
May 11th, 2008, 10:38 PM
Please help me, I indexed a Turtwig sprite and it looks great if I say so myself (Yes this is Emerald so I edited the animation too):

http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/5350/pokemonemerald2hn9.png

Although its backsprite is messed up and yes, I did use the shiny backsprite:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/8803/pokemonemeraldpi7.png

Is there a way to fix it without having to dit it all by hand, that'll take time and the result will suck. :(

umaza
May 12th, 2008, 08:18 AM
I resize it to 64 by 64, make it 16 color mode, and make a transparent background.
I save it as a png, bitmap 16 color but when i try to import the image to unzl gba it says it is not indexed. Do i need to save it as a gif image bor something or do i need to decrease the size to 10kb or less for it to be indexed?

Platinum Lucario
May 12th, 2008, 01:47 PM
Thanks, this is really helpful.
Now I know what programs to use. :)

fleek
June 3rd, 2008, 01:58 PM
sorry if I revived this, but I found it in a search. I'm trying to index a sprite I drew in Macromedia Flash, then opened it in Paint, then saved it as a PNG and opened it in Ifranview. After that I followed the steps, and it STILL says the image isn't indexed.

What did I do wrong?

clixier
June 3rd, 2008, 02:29 PM
Thanks to this thread it rlly helpme alot..

fleek
June 3rd, 2008, 02:38 PM
Can someone please explain what I'm doing wrong?

clixier
June 3rd, 2008, 10:13 PM
w00t....why does it say Sprite not indexed?
is there a problem?

Chosen_of_Manaphy
June 11th, 2008, 05:29 PM
Whenever I try to import pics to ROMs inublz, it says this;
http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj263/pokemonlegacy/-.png
Plus I followed all the steps exactly.

HELP!

Ronin180
June 11th, 2008, 05:30 PM
I do everything in this tutorial and then I press Write To Rom, I get this error...
"Compressed size is: 160. Which is to big. Aborting"
What is wrong?

Edit:
The guy above me posted 1 min before me and he has the same problem.
Can someone help?

KurlyFries
June 16th, 2008, 08:05 AM
i did all the steps, and it says "Compressed size is 2AC: Too big. Aborting...." Also, when I import the sprite, it has a bunch of weird colors in the palette, although it still has the correct colors on the top row.

weird.. 3 of the same problems in a row

timson733333
June 24th, 2008, 02:02 PM
I don't know about you guys, because it worked for me.

edit: It only works on the front sprites. The back sprites get aborted.

Hephaestus
July 5th, 2008, 08:50 AM
Please help me, I indexed a Turtwig sprite and it looks great if I say so myself (Yes this is Emerald so I edited the animation too):

Although its backsprite is messed up and yes, I did use the shiny backsprite:

Is there a way to fix it without having to dit it all by hand, that'll take time and the result will suck. :(

The colors in front sprite do not match the colrs in the shiny sprite, so you have to reorder the pallete of shiny sprite to match exactly the colors in the front sprite.

Basadon
July 10th, 2008, 04:21 AM
thanks=] questuon... when im insert a sprit, the pallets are not in the right order... how can i change it? (without alot of troubleXD )

NTA
July 11th, 2008, 10:58 AM
thanks=] questuon... when im insert a sprit, the pallets are not in the right order... how can i change it? (without alot of troubleXD )

I finally did it. I made a video and put it on youtube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWTIXSwUxI4

mattattack
July 17th, 2008, 05:51 PM
can you do the same thing with this on OW sprites?

Mario_Bones
July 17th, 2008, 10:58 PM
Um... What do you do if it says the sprite is too big?
I tried redirecting to free space, but then when I chose that Pokemon in the game, it reset...

Chary
August 14th, 2008, 06:09 PM
uh could some tell me how to index my sprite i dont understand:(

Dratii
August 15th, 2008, 04:06 AM
I did all of the steps but when I load up my game and find the pokemon it is just a blue screen and freezes.

songlovermaster
August 26th, 2008, 05:46 PM
Hey! redyoshi! exellent job on this. but i hav a question. Does this work for ds games?like pearl?

jakeyboy22
August 27th, 2008, 09:55 AM
Nic tut but i was trying to put piplup in my scorching fire and get rid of spinda but i try to change the backround the sme colour but it just turns black or white and i cant see the piplup

Raging_Lugia
September 6th, 2008, 10:59 AM
will this work with pokemon diamond?

GEEZERNORT
September 9th, 2008, 01:02 PM
In reply to Raging_Lugia, no it will not. Unlz-gba is for GBA roms - Firered, Ruby, etc.My Now, my problem is pretty wierd.
Importing front sprites is fine but when I try and import back sprites I change the the pallete using the Previous Palllete button (the palette before the default shiny) it screws up my front sprites for all pokemon and doesn't work properly with the back sprite either!
Anyone have any ideas? My hack is so close!

Binary
September 11th, 2008, 09:26 AM
I did all of the steps but when I load up my game and find the pokemon it is just a blue screen and freezes.
Maybe you've done something wrong or your rom just crashed.

Hey! redyoshi! exellent job on this. but i hav a question. Does this work for ds games?like pearl?
maybe if you try...not really

will this work with pokemon diamond?
Ofcourse not.

In reply to Raging_Lugia, no it will not. Unlz-gba is for GBA roms - Firered, Ruby, etc.My Now, my problem is pretty wierd.
Importing front sprites is fine but when I try and import back sprites I change the the pallete using the Previous Palllete button (the palette before the default shiny) it screws up my front sprites for all pokemon and doesn't work properly with the back sprite either!
Anyone have any ideas? My hack is so close!
Don't change the pallete with the previous pallete button. It won't work either.

rcaphantom
October 3rd, 2008, 10:14 AM
ok i got the hang of this thanks so much

zazazazazazaza
January 19th, 2009, 05:19 PM
Late question, but:

I can't figure out backsprites. The transparency and overall shape is fine, but the colours are completely messed up. Am I not supposed to use Unlz-gba to do this (for a Fire Red game) or are there some hidden steps to this tutorial?

Blazichu
January 19th, 2009, 06:10 PM
No need to revive month old threads.

*Locks*