PDA

View Full Version : PKM Colleseum and XD?


wow_wow
March 1st, 2008, 08:28 PM
Hey I play PKM Colleseum and XD on Wii. I just wondering, can it connect to DS (have a GBA game) and send PKM into that like Gamecube and GBA before :D
Thank you guy!

bobandbill
March 1st, 2008, 10:42 PM
No, the Gamecube games are incompatible with the DS as far as I know, as they had been made before the DS, and as the Gamecube was never able to communicate with the DS, the games never did either. You'll need a GBA/GBA SP, GBA game and a GBA-GCN cable to transfer Pokemon to Colo and XD - the only way I'm afraid.

Archer
March 2nd, 2008, 02:35 AM
No, the Gamecube games are incompatible with the DS as far as I know, as they had been made before the DS, and as the Gamecube was never able to communicate with the DS, the games never did either. You'll need a GBA/GBA SP, GBA game and a GBA-GCN cable to transfer Pokemon to Colo and XD - the only way I'm afraid.

Exactly. Neither Col/XD or the GBA games were designed with wireless functions in mind, so thye could not possibly use them. In fact, no GBA games can link/battle using the DS's wireless capabilities.
You are going to need:

A GBA (SP)
A GameCube - GBA link cable. (Colliseum should have contained one)

lostprophetsown
March 2nd, 2008, 04:17 AM
no it cant i no wat ur trying 2 say like u mean use the ds wireless function to connect to the wii and save u buying a gamecube cable well unfortunatly it wont work i tried

bobandbill
March 2nd, 2008, 09:04 PM
no it cant i no wat ur trying 2 say like u mean use the ds wireless function to connect to the wii and save u buying a gamecube cable well unfortunatly it wont work i tried

That's because the game itself can't connect to the DS either as well as the Gamecube, as I and Archer said....
Anyway - it ain't possible.

wolverfrog
March 2nd, 2008, 11:51 PM
i loved xd! i used to use the cloning cheat in emerald, trade them off xd, clone 'em, and trade em back on.
on topic, the above people are correct, and theres no way of connecting your gba to a wii either(unless some cunning 3rd party develeoper has made a usb compatible cable........)

bobandbill
March 4th, 2008, 12:00 AM
on topic, the above people are correct, and theres no way of connecting your gba to a wii either(unless some cunning 3rd party develeoper has made a usb compatible cable........)

... but it does connect. Using the GBA-GC connector does the trick - one end connects to the BGA, and the other fits into the GameCube contoller slots, which the Wii has (how else would it be backwards-compatible with the Gamecube contollers?)

Waris
March 23rd, 2008, 03:21 AM
Hey, question: Could I download a ROM and then put that on a GBA flashcard and connect it with Colosseum? I've had this idea for a long time, and I would like to know if it's actually possible.

And also, is it possible to catch Shadow Pokémon you've missed later on?

Dave-o-rama
March 23rd, 2008, 03:58 AM
First Question: Probably not. The GBA wouldnt be able to handle playing colosseum on it.

Second Question: Yeah, you can catch them, just battle miror B.

bobandbill
March 23rd, 2008, 03:11 PM
Hey, question: Could I download a ROM and then put that on a GBA flashcard and connect it with Colosseum? I've had this idea for a long time, and I would like to know if it's actually possible.

And also, is it possible to catch Shadow Pokémon you've missed later on?
No, ROM do not work (just asks you tho insert the GBA game - tried with a Rom game I happened to have).

In Colosseum, you'll eventually meet up with the person you missed snagging the Pokemon off, usually after the main storyline. So you can try again and again until you get it.
In XD, Miror B ends up with the Shadow Pokemon that you've missed.

Waris
March 24th, 2008, 07:02 AM
Thanks for answering my questions without spoilers. :)

I like Miror B.'s afro =D

But hey, I now have another question, but it's not really about Colosseum anymore... I'm sorry to go off-topic, but, um, is there any other way to evolve Pokémon that only evolve through trading with GameShark codes? (Without catching the evolved version in the wild, which will make you have two Pokémon?)

Supreme Dirt
March 24th, 2008, 08:11 AM
No, ROM do not work (just asks you tho insert the GBA game - tried with a Rom game I happened to have).

In Colosseum, you'll eventually meet up with the person you missed snagging the Pokemon off, usually after the main storyline. So you can try again and again until you get it.
In XD, Miror B ends up with the Shadow Pokemon that you've missed.

Actually, you can connect with a Flashcart with a ROM. After connecting the game to the GCN, start up the flashcart, and load the Pokemon game. DO NOT PUSH ANY BUTTONS. It will work just fine.

Waris
March 25th, 2008, 05:40 AM
Actually, you can connect with a Flashcart with a ROM. After connecting the game to the GCN, start up the flashcart, and load the Pokemon game. DO NOT PUSH ANY BUTTONS. It will work just fine.

So I should first connect, then start the GBA, then start the GC, and then go to the trade option in Colosseum?

Gloomymort
March 29th, 2008, 05:48 AM
iv been playing collosseum on my wii lately and the instruction book says you can trade early on in the game, i have a GBA and the link cable and all i get is a message saying its not ready yet!
can i only trade GBA - GC Even tho the wii has the controller slots?
not that i mind much coz i still have my GC

Gloomy

bobandbill
March 29th, 2008, 04:57 PM
iv been playing collosseum on my wii lately and the instruction book says you can trade early on in the game, i have a GBA and the link cable and all i get is a message saying its not ready yet!
can i only trade GBA - GC Even tho the wii has the controller slots?
not that i mind much coz i still have my GC

Gloomy
They are referring to the GBA games then. You'll have to beat the 'main' storyline of Colosseum to be able to trade, same for XD.
You can trade via the Wii - just after the main storyline is beaten.

Gloomymort
March 30th, 2008, 04:50 AM
They are referring to the GBA games then. You'll have to beat the 'main' storyline of Colosseum to be able to trade, same for XD.
You can trade via the Wii - just after the main storyline is beaten.

thanks so much!
*is very excited now*

KurosakiKun
April 11th, 2008, 03:35 AM
*Tip*

You can use the GBA-GCN cable with a GBA and Wii, as the Wii has the required ports. It's a confuzzling conversation and I just thought I'd clear that up! :)