View Full Version : Naming and Nicknaming Screen (RMXP)

May 3rd, 2008, 5:06 AM
The reason I'm not posting this in the Help and Requests thread is because it doesn't seem to apply with the rules.

So you know those screens in FR/LG where you choose your name and choose a Pokemon's nickname? Well, I'm trying to insert the same one into my game but I don't have the faintest idea where to begin. I am using Pokemon Essentials by the way, if that helps. The current naming screen in Essentials is a bit plain, so I'd love if someone could give me a fully working script(s). It's quite urgent, I'm trying to have the demo ready as soon as possible and can't delay it any longer, and this is one of the problems.

May 3rd, 2008, 8:32 AM
The background of the name entry screen can be changed by adding a 480x320 picture located in "Graphics/Pictures/entrybg.png".

Also, if it helps, change the line "USEKEYBOARD=true" to "USEKEYBOARD=false" located on line 812 of the script section PokemonEntry. Doing so will enable a more "manual" input method than the keyboard.

May 3rd, 2008, 11:45 AM
Thank you for that, but I actually need it to be the same as the FR/LG screen. Here's the one I'm talking about.


I know this will require a different script, or a new one altogether, but I'd like to be able to get it as close as possible to this.

May 3rd, 2008, 1:40 PM
Did you at least try setting the USEKEYBOARD constant to false? That's what it's for...

May 3rd, 2008, 2:52 PM
Yes, I knew that already. But the FR/LG one is different, the letters appear in different places, there aren't any textboxes, the tabs are in different places etc.

I just amn't able to make or edit scripts for some reason.. I tried, but I don't think I'll ever be able. This should be the last script I need before I retire anyway.

May 3rd, 2008, 6:48 PM
I have finished creating a system as you requested. In the attachment below, place all pictures in Graphics/Pictures/. Replace the script sections PokemonEntry and SpriteWindow with the contents of the text files.

O.G. Duke
May 3rd, 2008, 10:35 PM
I have an error when it load the PokemonLoadScene after I insert the script.

May 3rd, 2008, 10:47 PM

I had defined "Graphics.width" in a later release of Pokemon Essentials. The attachment above requires the most recent version. I can tell you are using a version older than December 2007. In the releases that followed I have added countless features and fixed countless bugs. Thanks for trying, though.

May 4th, 2008, 3:35 AM
Wow, this is exactly what I need! I can't thank you enough. I'm sure this will be a huge help for other people who need it as well. I think you should use it in the next release of Pokemon Essentials.