PDA

View Full Version : Playing hacks on a mac?


Jabunks
June 13th, 2008, 03:10 PM
What program do you use to play hacks? Is it a only windows version? is there a mac version?

Or can i just use a emulator such as VBA? (i think thats it)

dragonarche
June 14th, 2008, 05:55 AM
i think all the emulators work on windows
well you can still try

DMNT
June 14th, 2008, 10:40 PM
If you're talking about playing ROM hacks, then you can use a Gameboy Advance emulator. The two best choices for Mac GBA emulators are:

http://img.skitch.com/20080615-8ttsb7ahccnx9tp72etygb1k99.png
VisualBoyAdvance v1.7 (http://vba.ngemu.com/downloads.shtml)
PowerPC only
Mac OS X 10.2 or higher

http://img.skitch.com/20080615-x22gfjemc42k3aj51qmmuf24du.png
Boycott Advance v0.3.9 (http://www.bannister.org/software/ba.htm)
Universal (PowerPC and Intel compatible)
Mac OS X 10.4 or higher

蜃気楼
June 15th, 2008, 09:09 AM
Someone said Mac is even compatible with PC programs, I don't know is it true

Mr. Pokemon
June 16th, 2008, 06:24 PM
Some Macs are compatible with Windows applications, but only with certain hardware or software. I'm no Mac expert, but I know that Intel Macs can have Boot Camp that allows you to install Windows XP or Vista on your Mac. Then there's a program called CrossOver which does the same thing except it doesn't require a Windows installation (as far as I know).

Jabunks
June 17th, 2008, 10:24 PM
Well, ive had a macbook since last christmas, and i know its pretty up to date.

But on VBA, a the roms are .gba and im not sure if they'll open ( .ips i think i saw one?)

I think your thinking of universal programs

Someone said Mac is even compatible with PC programs, I don't know is it true

Platinum Lucario
June 18th, 2008, 05:17 AM
I think that Windows is more compatible with things, and I'd think that playing hacks on a mac... :\
well I think there is a mac version of VBA. You can download it on the VBA website. ;)
As for NDS roms, I don't know if there is a mac version of No$gba. But you can get the 2.6 version of No$gba...
but I really don't know if they're still updating the No$gba site.

~Teh Panda~
June 18th, 2008, 10:13 AM
make a folder and place the ips and rom in there, rename the ips to whatever the roms name is EXACTLY and the rom will read from the IPS when running an emu

Jabunks
June 18th, 2008, 11:44 AM
Thanks, I'll try that

make a folder and place the ips and rom in there, rename the ips to whatever the roms name is EXACTLY and the rom will read from the IPS when running an emu


(And who ever said windows is more compatable with things, is wrong, 9/10 times theres a better Mac alternitive.)