PDA

View Full Version : Help about the posting box


LanceLite
August 21st, 2004, 12:29 AM
Okay its just this thing that.... like the posting box the thing that u write ur messages in.. the BIG one, not the quick little one..

well its been showing up all the code thingys... the auto show thing for the Bold, Italics and Underline and all the other stuff do not come.. just the codes appear. It doesnt come like it was normally... and i have switched it from Standard to WSYGI... a lot of times now but no difference.. can someone tell me how i can get the better box back?

Arcanine
August 21st, 2004, 08:00 AM
You are using (WYSIWYG) Editor Toolbar. And it's stll just showing up as bold and italic and all that is just showing up as the tags and not making it that? I don't get it, I mean it should be working for you.

Kairi
August 21st, 2004, 08:24 AM
Does he mean it’s not retaining pasted in formatting? O_o;

LanceLite
August 22nd, 2004, 02:54 AM
retaining in pasted format wha..??? yea as andrea says all the tags are showing up... i dunno why tho...

aRedMoon
August 22nd, 2004, 03:10 AM
Are they showing up in the post afterwards or are they showing up in the WYSIWYG editor?

LanceLite
August 22nd, 2004, 07:04 AM
Are they showing up in the post afterwards or are they showing up in the WYSIWYG editor?

if they were showing up in the posts u would have seen it..

its showing up in the WYSIWYG (i finally said the full of it!!!) editor.

aRedMoon
August 22nd, 2004, 08:03 AM
I hate the WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) editor...

What skin are you using? I'll see if it does the same to me.

Kairi
August 22nd, 2004, 08:14 AM
I still don’t understand his problem .but I like the basic text editor. XP Plain and simple.

LanceLite
August 22nd, 2004, 08:22 AM
im using Forest Grovyle's Legendaries.. hope that helps...

I'll explain Kairi... the editor i use is the WY... i forgot it again.. that long name editor. its supposed to show up my posts and stuff properly and show the effects of the actions i take with buttons like the Bold Underline and Italics. and now in that editor instead of that the old ugly tags are coming up.

i think thats what exactly is happening... i cant explain properly..

Kairi
August 22nd, 2004, 08:26 AM
Ohh, I get it. Which browser are you using?

LanceLite
August 22nd, 2004, 08:44 AM
IE5.. its temporary tho.... im gonna get something better soon. i just reformat my comp so.... neways i gotta go now. be back tomoro to check here.

Kairi
August 22nd, 2004, 08:59 AM
Hmm. I don’t know much about that, but it could be the cause? @_@; Maybe I can find out of IE5 does WYSIWYG.

aRedMoon
August 22nd, 2004, 09:18 AM
IE6 is the current version, ne?

Maybe it's a simple matter of IE5 doesn't support it...

LanceLite
August 23rd, 2004, 03:23 AM
lets see... i just dled 6 with windows update.. lets see... time to try using the bold.. random buttons to press......

joshfljksdiohidosf

WOOHOO!!!! it worked. kai u were right. it was IE5 the problem. heh now that its solved....

thanx all you guys for helping!!! ^_^

Kairi
August 23rd, 2004, 06:20 AM
Glad it worked, I’m gonna close now okay? ^^;