PDA

View Full Version : Grammar.

Harley Quinn
October 25th, 2008, 10:41 PM
Do you generally try to use good grammar?

Yes. I'm still learning the fine tuning, but enough to get around.

Becuz tlkng lik ths is su nt col:D:laugh::cheeky:

Hiidoran
October 25th, 2008, 10:50 PM
Yes, I do enjoy using good grammar.
It annoys me to no end when someone speaks in "1337" or "cht-spk". I mean really, what on earth is the point of talking like that?

Then again, I suppose I may take it a little further than that as well. It often irks me when someone misspells something or doesn't punctuate correctly. Heck, sometimes I get worked up if they leave a simple linking word out of their sentences. I often look at their age and am quite surprised to find that they are of a rather mature age. It really makes me wonder what these people learned during their years of education...
(Of course, if English is not their native language, then that is perfectly understandable.)

Well, that was my mini-rant. I do hope you enjoyed it!
(Well, if you read it.)

BeachBoy
October 25th, 2008, 10:54 PM
Obviously, and even as a staff member I feel I have to have perfect grammar at times. So yes, I try to do the best I can when it comes to grammar. I'm by no means perfect, but I think it's sufficient to understand and read without problems.

Do I absolutely despise people that make mistakes? Not at all, and a good portion of this forum isn't English. Leet speak? Another ball game I generally dislike. <_<;

Harley Quinn
October 25th, 2008, 10:57 PM
Then again, I suppose I may take it a little further than that as well. It often irks me when someone misspells something or doesn't punctuate correctly. Heck, sometimes I get worked up if they leave a simple linking word out of their sentences.
(Well, if you read it.)
Agreed, but what if it was a simple typo?

/defeat'd.

Hiidoran
October 25th, 2008, 11:04 PM