PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Hack on Linux: Run EXE's + run EliteMap


groudonlover
December 17th, 2008, 12:33 PM
Ok... I don't know if there are anyone else than i who uses Linux here, but if there is, this may be useful.

===PART 1===
If you are using a distro without the "yum" command, get and RPM/DEB m.m. at http://www.winehq.org/ (try "man yum", if you get an error, you have no yum:( )
If you are using a distro with yum(Fedora, RedHat Enterprise, m.m.), just use

> su -l
Password: (Password to "Root" user)
> yum -y install wine
Then wait for it to install
When it is done, you can run Windows .EXE applications by running the command "wine path to .exe"

And, yes i know that f.ex. SuSe uses apt-get instead of yum, but i don't know the args for apt-get, since i am using Fedora 9 Sulphur. If anyone can post the command for apt-get i can add it here

===PART 2===
Run EliteMap
You might have noticed, that if you double-click any of the EliteMap applications, it says something similar to "Pokeroms.ini not found" or "No gba roms in current directory at all", that is beacuse Nautilus(GNOME) or Konquerror(KDE), sets the Current Directory to /home/(your username, a.k.a. your Home Folder.

These examples will assume that you have installed EliteMap in C: \Program Files\EliteMap.
So if you want to run it, you can either:


Method #1, Run from Terminal only, more stable


> cd (wherever your Hack Project's folder is)
> ln -s /home/(your username)/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/EliteMap/* .
That will create Symbolic Links to every Application in the Folder for EliteMap, then you can just type

> wine ./(program)
TIP: Press tab to auto-complete, press twice to show all possibilities


Method #2, Run from App bar, not that stable as #1, can make a mess in your homefolder...



> cd
> ln -s [I](wherever your rom is) .
Then add the Applications to the App Bar!

You can also create an .desktop file, but it is pretty advanced, and requires a lot of time and Photoshoping, so i won't explain it here


Method #3, Run like any command... (thanks to IIMarckus (http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=64049))


> export PATH=$PATH:/home/(your username)/.wine/Program\ Files/EliteMap/

after that, just run for example PokePic.exe when you are in the Rom directory



Hope this helped!

IIMarckus
December 19th, 2008, 07:37 PM
(try "su -l root" then "man yum", if you get an error, you have no yum:( )You don’t need to be root to view man pages.or whatever you use in KDEKDE folks tend to use Konqueror for file browsing.> ln -s /home/(your username)/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/EliteMap/* .
Why not just add them to your $PATH?

pokefreak2
December 19th, 2008, 07:57 PM
its a good tut

a really really good tut

groudonlover
December 20th, 2008, 02:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by groudonlover http://www.pokecommunity.com/images/templates/delibird/button/viewpost.gif (http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=4202179#post4202179)
(try "su -l root" then "man yum", if you get an error, you have no yum:( )

You don’t need to be root to view man pages.

I was not sure if Root Specific Command's MAN Pages also needed root.... I remove that
Quote:
Originally Posted by groudonlover http://www.pokecommunity.com/images/templates/delibird/button/viewpost.gif (http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=4202179#post4202179)
or whatever you use in KDE

KDE folks tend to use Konqueror for file browsing.
Thanks! I'm using Gnome, and i couldn't find the name... I thought i could maybe be Konquerror, but i thought that was a Web Browser :\
Quote:
Originally Posted by groudonlover http://www.pokecommunity.com/images/templates/delibird/button/viewpost.gif (http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=4202179#post4202179)
> ln -s /home/(your username)/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/EliteMap/* .


Why not just add them to your $PATH?
WINE-emulated applications can be a little buggy, and some people are afraid of changing anything system-related, but i'll add that too

Full Metal
December 27th, 2008, 07:59 AM
For Christmas i got a pentiumIII computer.(to "experiment"(write programs) with) I am dual booting linux and xp pro. I don't have but an ethernet connection and 2 usb slots. FLoppy support and read write cd's. I'm running linux ubuntu 8.10. With no internet connection available i have realized ubuntu is very hard to use. Could you
a.)Dummy this down for me
b.)Tell me of a way to get wine without an internet connection
c.)Set up an internet connection (preffer a and b first though)

Cartmic
December 27th, 2008, 10:50 AM
For Christmas i got a pentiumIII computer.(to "experiment"(write programs) with) I am dual booting linux and xp pro. I don't have but an ethernet connection and 2 usb slots. FLoppy support and read write cd's. I'm running linux ubuntu 8.10. With no internet connection available i have realized ubuntu is very hard to use. Could you
a.)Dummy this down for me
b.)Tell me of a way to get wine without an internet connection
c.)Set up an internet connection (preffer a and b first though)

In what way is Ubuntu hard to use?

Download the wine debian package here: http://packages.ubuntu.com/intrepid/i386/wine/download

Once you have wine_1.0.1-0ubuntu2_i386.deb put it on a usb stick/floppies/burn it to a cd, then copy it across to your Ubuntu machine and install it as you would with an Windows installer.

Once installed try a program, e.g. Tile Layer Pro (right click and choose other application, then type in the command box: 'wine'). If your program does not work like that open the terminal then type 'cd' then the path to the folder the program resides in, finally type 'wine [ProgramName.exe]' press enter and it will print the error,nusally the problem is just a missing DLL, if so, go and search a DLL files web site where you can download most of the ones you need. Once you have the DLL put it in the same folder as your program and try again.

It works for me :)

Full Metal
December 27th, 2008, 02:00 PM
thnx very much i will try this

In what way is Ubuntu hard to use?
I have a hard time installing anything without internet.
I will try your method.Thank you a bunch ;) Could you tell me which link to use?
Ive tried this one http://mirrors.kernel.org/ubuntu/pool/universe/w/wine/wine_1.0.1-0ubuntu2_i386.deb and on ubuntu i get this
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/526/errerby0.png

Cartmic
December 28th, 2008, 03:33 AM
Could you tell me which link to use?


Try installing this first:

http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/n/nas/libaudio2_1.9.1-4_i386.deb

If that doesn't work then try this package instead:

http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/w/wine/wine_0.9.59-0ubuntu4_i386.deb

Full Metal
December 28th, 2008, 10:18 AM
it works now thnx SOOO MUCH!

parkerer
December 28th, 2008, 12:41 PM
Oh, excellent, now I don't have to struggle with the faulty wireless network on the PC. :D

TheWesleyOne
May 13th, 2010, 12:06 AM
In Ubuntu 10.04 you just need to go to Applications and click on Ubuntu Software Center, and type in wine then click install.

NARFNra
May 16th, 2010, 11:01 AM
To install Wine on an apt-get system, you need to be root or have sudo privileges:

Prompt$ sudo apt-get install wine


That's basically it.