PDA

View Full Version : Question: If you have reputation disabled..


jasonresno
January 6th, 2009, 07:22 AM
If you have reputation disabled, are you still allowed to give it. I'm assuming and hoping no, correct?

Eon-Rider
January 6th, 2009, 07:24 AM
Why don't you just try it? The actual answer no though.

JX Valentine
January 6th, 2009, 07:59 AM
Actually, you can. I've got rep disabled, but I give it out at least once a day. (Backwards concept, but.)

The only thing disabling rep does is prevent other people from seeing how many points you have.

jasonresno
January 6th, 2009, 09:11 AM
Actually, you can. I've got rep disabled, but I give it out at least once a day. (Backwards concept, but.)

The only thing disabling rep does is prevent other people from seeing how many points you have.

That seems a bit..wrong? I think.

Is there any specific reason for that?

Eon-Rider
January 6th, 2009, 09:11 AM
Actually, you can. I've got rep disabled, but I give it out at least once a day. (Backwards concept, but.)

The only thing disabling rep does is prevent other people from seeing how many points you have.

Really? o.o"

I guess you really do learn a new thing or two everyday.

processr
January 6th, 2009, 09:14 AM
Reputation isn't really 'disabled'. As Xanthine has said, it's just that your level is not shown to the community at all, and remains private. You can still give reputation to those users who have it 'disabled', as well.

jasonresno
January 6th, 2009, 09:16 AM
Reputation isn't really 'disabled'. As Xanthine has said, it's just that your level is not shown to the community at all, and remains private. You can still give reputation to those users who have it 'disabled', as well.

I'm pretty sure you can't. I want to rep someone--without realizing their reputation was disabled--and was told "This user has their reputation disabled".

processr
January 6th, 2009, 09:23 AM
I'm pretty sure you can't. I want to rep someone--without realizing their reputation was disabled--and was told "This user has their reputation disabled".

Well, I just gave a +rep to Xanthine for the above post, and that worked fine. *shrugs*

JX Valentine
January 6th, 2009, 09:36 AM
I'm pretty sure you can't. I want to rep someone--without realizing their reputation was disabled--and was told "This user has their reputation disabled".

That's another thing. I also receive rep, and there wasn't a time when I haven't had my rep hidden, really. (How much I have right now, I really don't want to say for obvious reasons. I will say, though, that Erebus' transaction definitely went through.)

It's a little odd, but it all comes down to what's said in the User CP. In order to "disable" rep, you uncheck a box that looks like the attached image. While the box you see on my postbit implies that you can't give me rep or that I can't give you rep, the box in the User CP really only states that unchecking it will result in my rep being hidden. Hence, you only see a white box, rather than green or red boxes that would tell you how much rep I've received. In that sense, rep is disabled only because you can't see my rep.

To further show you that giving rep or receiving rep as a member who's disabled rep works, I could offer a screenshot of the rep I've received thus far or a screenshot of me giving someone else rep if you'd like. If you'd like to experience it yourself, try giving me rep.

As a note, are you attempting to give someone rep by clicking on the white/green/red box below their post count? Because what you should be doing is going to the top right of their post -- right next to the number and the button that allows you to report them. I could offer you screenshots of that as well if I haven't made myself that clear.

I realize it's all heavily ironic that although there's the option of not letting people see how much rep you have, you can still give or take rep from them, but that's really just how the system works. I personally can't explain it because I'm not on staff (i.e., vBulletin's). Maybe the PC staff who reads up on the new versions of vBulletin more than I do might be able to shed some light on that. *shrug*

Edit: Also, support from the FAQ ftw? (http://www.pokecommunity.com/faq.php?s=&do=search&q=reputation&match=all&titlesonly=0)

jasonresno
January 6th, 2009, 09:43 AM
Well, I just gave a +rep to Xanthine for the above post, and that worked fine. *shrugs*

Oh! Thank you very much. I must have been doing something wrong.

JX Valentine
January 6th, 2009, 09:46 AM
I must have been doing something wrong.

In the attachment, look at the part circled in red above the postbit. It looks different in each version, but the placement is generally the same. That's the button you want, not the one below the post count.

jasonresno
January 6th, 2009, 09:49 AM
In the attachment, look at the part circled in red above the postbit. It looks different in each version, but the placement is generally the same. That's the button you want, not the one below the post count.

Well, yeah I know that..I've given reputation before--being here almost four years--I was hoping to get some insight from the staff as to why this is. It seems a bit backwards. Disabling should mean disabling. But thanks Erebus and everyone who replied. I guess this thread can die?

JX Valentine
January 6th, 2009, 09:56 AM
Well, yeah I know that..I've given reputation before

Sorry. By your other post concerning doing something wrong, I was under the impression you were looking for a clear guide on how to do it correctly.

It seems a bit backwards. Disabling should mean disabling.

I agree, although on the User CP, it really doesn't imply that you're disabling rep -- merely hiding it. (You can see that in the first screenshot I offered.) Perhaps it's simply a badly worded description tag on the postbit?

Angela
January 6th, 2009, 11:04 AM
When I turned my rep on, I saw some rep that I had given while it was disabled, so to answer your question, you can give rep while you have it disabled.