PDA

View Full Version : Trouble getting a job?

Penguin13
February 2nd, 2009, 11:23 PM
I know I'm not the only one having trouble getting a job.. Post your job search stories?

I live in Hawaii, and that means only one thing. If you have an auntie/uncle/cousin (no, not the blood relative type, here it just means close acquaintance) in the company, you're given priority over even the most qualified applicants. That's just how it works here, sadly enough.

Well, even since December 19, 2008 (the day after I graduated from the National Guard Youth Challenge Academy, a 5.5 month residential alternative school run by the DoD, instead of DoE, for teens age 16-19 to get their HS diploma) I've been looking for a job. I've filled out countless applications, both paper and online, and went to countless interviews. I don't have any work experience, but I do have an impressive resume:
- graduated top of my class with a "Director's Academic Achievement Award"
- scored exceptionally well on the ASVAB
- lots and lots of volunteer work (100+ hours)
- in college with a 4.0 GPA
- etc

Well, for more than a month after that, I didn't get offered ONE job. I even applied to all of the popular fast food restaurants at more than one location. I applied all over the island, and for many different positions: cashier, receptionist, stocking, inventory, manual labor, etc. But about a week ago, I FINALLY got a job offer. It was from the UPS store as a package handler. You basically unload all the packages from the airplane. The only shift available was 10pm to 2am. It's a very physically demanding job. You have to handle 1 package every 3 seconds, weighing anywhere between weightless and up to 75 pounds. It's also pretty dangerous. Normal injuries can occur. One guy even got his toes chopped off by a saw blade that fell out of the package.