PDA

View Full Version : Please help me choose an OS =D


Snivi
June 15th, 2009, 03:22 AM
I am getting a computer built and right now I am in the middle of telling the guy what I want. He is suggesting I go with XP Pro but I have read that Vista is good now with all the service packs?

I am thinking I want to go with Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit. Let me tell you the other features I am getting and please advise me which OS will give me the most performance. THANKS!!

If I do go with VISTA which VISTA is the best?

NOTE: I want 64 not 32 in the OS I choose.


----------------------------------------------
Processor: AMD Phenom X4 Quad core 2.6ghz
RAM 6GB
Hard Drive 1TB

Zet
June 15th, 2009, 04:23 AM
In all honesty Vista still has issues, even with the service packs. I have Vista SP2 32bit and I have problems all the over the place. For example sometimes when the Aero theme disappears I can't view pictures or watch videos(unless they're online). But why would you go with 64bit?

Cartmic
June 15th, 2009, 04:23 AM
I am getting a computer built and right now I am in the middle of telling the guy what I want. He is suggesting I go with XP Pro but I have read that Vista is good now with all the service packs?

I am thinking I want to go with Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit. Let me tell you the other features I am getting and please advise me which OS will give me the most performance. THANKS!!

If I do go with VISTA which VISTA is the best?

NOTE: I want 64 not 32 in the OS I choose.


----------------------------------------------
Processor: AMD Phenom X4 Quad core 2.6ghz
RAM 6GB
Hard Drive 1TB

My advice would be, use ubuntu :D

http://www.ubuntu.com/

P.S. Do you seriously need 6 gig of RAM? What you going to be doing?

Alinthea
June 15th, 2009, 05:25 AM
But why would you go with 64bit?
32 bit can't see over 3GB of RAM.

Just go with home premium.
You are most likely going to have problems with every OS eventually.

HarrisonH
June 15th, 2009, 05:33 AM
I'd wait until Windows 7 is released later this year. But, seeing as you are getting the computer now, go with Vista 64bit. XP 64bit is a laugh, and will cause more headaches than it is worth.

Pokémon Professor
June 15th, 2009, 05:39 AM
My advice would be, use ubuntu :D

http://www.ubuntu.com/

P.S. Do you seriously need 6 gig of RAM? What you going to be doing?

I also use Ubuntu (9.04) and I must say it's brilliant. Imo it has such an amazing community with it's support system. It has that feel of freedom, being free and open source. Not to mention there are so many options to explore and use from the community. I suggest having Ubuntu on a secondary partition along with whatever version of Windows you use. So if it doesn't suit you, you can simple format the second partition.

Bianca Paragon
June 15th, 2009, 05:44 AM
Needs more OSX. Delicious!
Linux is just Unix for people who don't get why they need a Mac.

HarrisonH
June 15th, 2009, 06:15 AM
Linux is just Unix for people who don't get why they need a Mac.
I really do hope you are joking. :|

Gerri Shin
June 15th, 2009, 06:21 AM
I would definitely advise you go with Windows 7 x64. You can still download the release Candidate for free and it's been unofficially slated for release in the 1st or 2nd quarter of next year.

If you have to go with Vista, I would say choose Home Premium x64, it would probably give you the least headaches for Vista.

Cassino
June 15th, 2009, 07:08 AM
P.S. Do you seriously need 6 gig of RAM? What you going to be doing?
Simply a future investment.

Linux is just Unix for people who don't get why they need a Mac.
ō_ô

Bianca Paragon
June 15th, 2009, 09:13 AM
I really do hope you are joking. :|

Simply a future investment.


ō_ô

You guys realize Mac = Unix, right? :)

Eureka1
June 15th, 2009, 03:25 PM
I really do hope you are joking. :|

Subtle troll is subtle, nothing like a fanboy.

And if you realise OSX = UNIX why would you go out of your way to pay for it?

Running it on regular ATX specification hardware is also illegal and should be treated as such in discussion. Also, you cannot use Apple related products for the production of weapons of mass destruction.

HarrisonH
June 15th, 2009, 06:23 PM
You guys realize Mac = Unix, right? :)
I was :| at you saying Linux was for people who don't get why they need a Mac, not at you saying Mac == Unix.

Bianca Paragon
June 15th, 2009, 07:04 PM
I was :| at you saying Linux was for people who don't get why they need a Mac, not at you saying Mac == Unix.
All things being equal, there's no reason whatsoever to run Linux when there's OSX available ^_^

Amachi
June 15th, 2009, 07:12 PM
All things being equal, there's no reason whatsoever to run Linux when there's OSX available ^_^

Why run either when Windows is available? ^_^

Anyway, I say get Windows 7 RC 1. I don't need to provide reasons, just get it.

Bianca Paragon
June 15th, 2009, 07:20 PM
Why run either when Windows is available? ^_^

Anyway, I say get Windows 7 RC 1. I don't need to provide reasons, just get it.
Because we were talking Unix OS's :) And I dunno if using a beta OS for your production environment is the best call..~

Gerri Shin
June 15th, 2009, 07:32 PM
All things being equal, there's no reason whatsoever to run Linux when there's OSX available ^_^
TBH, OSX is NOT available, Installing Mac OS X on non-Apple labeled hardware is strictly against the EULA, and is therefore, Illegal. Not to mention getting it to run on an AMD brand CPU requires even further modification. To get it to run properly you would have to know your way around the Unix Architecture to install it without more than a few errors.(and since speaking or advising someone about doing something that is illegal is not allowed here, I suggest you drop it)
Because we were talking Unix OS's :) And I dunno if using a beta OS for your production environment is the best call..~
Also to be honest, Windows 7 is one of the most stable OS right now that I've tried and is certainly just as stable, if not moreso, than Windows Vista SP0 was. (minus the drivers headache)

Bianca Paragon
June 15th, 2009, 07:35 PM
TBH, OSX is NOT available, Installing Mac OS X on non-Apple labeled hardware is strictly against the EULA, and is therefore, Illegal. Not to mention getting it to run on an AMD brand CPU requires even further modification. To get it to run properly you would have to know your way around the Unix Architecture to install it without more than a few errors.(and since speaking or advising someone about doing something that is illegal is not allowed here, I suggest you drop it)
No such issues, actually - AMD CPU's will run just fine with the Voodoo kernel. And stop back-seat moderating; we've had OSX86 threads here before.

Also to be honest, Windows 7 is one of the most stable OS right now that I've tried and is certainly just as stable, if not moreso, than Windows Vista SP0 was. (minus the drivers headache)
Great. But I've got Vista SP1 which has had the benefit of a few years of maturity that the immature and still very beta Windows 7 doesn't.

Snivi
June 15th, 2009, 07:52 PM
Thanks! I have decided to go with Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit.

HarrisonH
June 15th, 2009, 08:00 PM
Great. But I've got Vista SP1 which has had the benefit of a few years of maturity that the immature and still very beta Windows 7 doesn't.
Windows 7 isn't Beta anymore, it's in RC stage now.

I've been running Windows 7 ever since the beta, and it's been just as stable as XP SP3 and Vista were for me. I'd choose 7 over XP or Vista any day, mainly because of how smooth Aero is, even though I've got incredibly crappy integrated Intel graphics.

I've run OSX86 before. It actually run well on my Inspiron E1501 I had at the time. Too bad it got stolen.

Zet
June 15th, 2009, 08:42 PM
TBH, OSX is NOT available, Installing Mac OS X on non-Apple labeled hardware is strictly against the EULA, and is therefore, Illegal. Not to mention getting it to run on an AMD brand CPU requires even further modification. To get it to run properly you would have to know your way around the Unix Architecture to install it without more than a few errors.(and since speaking or advising someone about doing something that is illegal is not allowed here, I suggest you drop it)

Also to be honest, Windows 7 is one of the most stable OS right now that I've tried and is certainly just as stable, if not moreso, than Windows Vista SP0 was. (minus the drivers headache)
yet Apple hardware requires windows hardware to run windows, who knew? So really there isn't any issues in destroying the EULA. Also Windows 7 RC1 gave me BSoD bootup screen, unlike Vista SP0 where I had no problems at all

Windows 7 isn't Beta anymore, it's in RC stage now.

I've been running Windows 7 ever since the beta, and it's been just as stable as XP SP3 and Vista were for me. I'd choose 7 over XP or Vista any day, mainly because of how smooth Aero is, even though I've got incredibly crappy integrated Intel graphics.

I've run OSX86 before. It actually run well on my Inspiron E1501 I had at the time. Too bad it got stolen.
I do hope you're joking about it being more stable than XP SP3. Beta's and RC's aren't really trustworthy as they can wipe all data off a harddrive if something goes wrong

HarrisonH
June 15th, 2009, 09:15 PM
I do hope you're joking about it being more stable than XP SP3. Beta's and RC's aren't really trustworthy as they can wipe all data off a harddrive if something goes wrong
Nope, I'm not joking. Been running it since it was released, upgraded to the RC from the Beta (which was disabled and you had to change some things yourself to make it possible), and my only problem is that VBA disables Aero for some reason when you open up a ROM.

Bianca Paragon
June 15th, 2009, 10:35 PM
Windows 7 isn't Beta anymore, it's in RC stage now.

I've been running Windows 7 ever since the beta, and it's been just as stable as XP SP3 and Vista were for me. I'd choose 7 over XP or Vista any day, mainly because of how smooth Aero is, even though I've got incredibly crappy integrated Intel graphics.

I've run OSX86 before. It actually run well on my Inspiron E1501 I had at the time. Too bad it got stolen.

RC is still a beta until it's decided that it's ready for RTM.

twocows
June 15th, 2009, 11:54 PM
Release candidates are generally feature-complete and relatively stable. Having said that, claiming that the Windows 7 RC is as stable as XP SP3 or even Vista is absurd. Pre-release software is pre-release for a reason; it might work just fine, or it might not work at all. There's no reason to use pre-release software when there are stable alternatives available. Most computers will come bundled either with Vista or XP; don't bother "upgrading" to Windows 7 pre-release if those work fine. If you do end up working with Windows 7, at the very least keep regular backups of your data on an external hard drive.

Archer
June 16th, 2009, 02:49 AM
Look, different OSs meet different needs of different people, so no one OS is totally superior to another.

With those specs, I assume you'll be playing games, in which case, you'd be best off with Vista x64 for that RAM. XP 64-bit never properly developed as a widely-used OS, so it's probably not a great choice.

And if you're putting OSX on there, I'd shut up and take whatever's the cheapest, then do it yourself.

If you choose to get with Linux, there's a few options. Ubuntu's great in the fact that it has a massive userbase and is usually the best supported. Of course, you can go with Fedora, or one of the media-based distros that have mp3 and DVD codecs in-built, etc.

Snivi
June 16th, 2009, 04:22 AM
I will not be gaming. I just want a lot of RAM and a big hard drive.

Zet
June 16th, 2009, 04:28 AM
I understand the whole harddrive wanting, but as for RAM you'd really only need 4GB and stick with a 32bit OS if you're not going to be a power user person :/

Snivi
June 16th, 2009, 04:34 AM
I want 64 and more than 4GB.

I want a FAST computer and that I can use for a long time.

Zet
June 16th, 2009, 04:48 AM
I want 64 and more than 4GB.

I want a FAST computer and that I can use for a long time.
yeah, 4GB is totally slower than 512MB of RAM. I can run 2 instances of wlm 2009, Photoshop CS4, FireFox and foobar2000 all at once with 512MB of RAM and suffer no problems at all on my desktop(XP SP3 home edition 32bit). RAM doesn't mean everything -_- Trust me if you have no real need for 6GB just because you want it, just stick with a 32bit OS and deal with 4GB seeing as it's plenty of RAM then you'd really ever need.

But... if you really want 6GB that badly just go with OSX :/

bgt
June 16th, 2009, 05:55 AM
I would go with Vista at the moment due to the fact that its 64-bit version is more refined than XP 64-bit however keep in mind that Windows 7 is releasing this year. It's one thing I would suggest upgrading to from Vista.

Benadryl
June 16th, 2009, 06:12 AM
I want 64 and more than 4GB.

I want a FAST computer and that I can use for a long time.
6GB of RAM is excessive and kind of useless, to be honest. 4GB is probably more than you'll ever need. Even at under 1GB, my computer still works almost exactly as it did 2 years ago when I bought it. There are some drivers I need to fix and unauthorized scripts I need to clean out making my 1GB RAM not as effective, but with 4GB the only way you can end up with a slow computer is to open up your CPU and smash the hard drive with a hammer.

Eureka1
June 16th, 2009, 07:12 AM
Actually, keeping your OS install to only the programs which are required and not bogging it down with tons of programs at startup is the method of making your PC run fast.

This is regardless of the OS you decide to use.

OP, stick to what you know.

Snivi
June 16th, 2009, 10:21 AM
lol I only wanted advise on an OS now people telling me to get less than what I want.

twocows
June 16th, 2009, 10:47 AM
Actually, keeping your OS install to only the programs which are required and not bogging it down with tons of programs at startup is the method of making your PC run fast.

This is regardless of the OS you decide to use.

OP, stick to what you know.

Take the above advice and stay with what you're familiar with. If you've been a Mac user, use OS X. If you've been a Windows user, use Windows. Also, if you go with XP, nLite might help you strip down the OS a bit to make it faster, though you'll want to be careful not to remove anything important.

I'd recommend Linux/BSD normally (especially since you cited speed as a key factor), but unless you've got a few days to set it up and a friend to help you, I wouldn't bother.

Also, I agree anything more than 4GB is excessive. If you want something that will last a long time, get a computer with 4 RAM slots, two of which are filled with 2GB RAM cards. That way, if you want to upgrade later, you'll have that option available to you, but you won't be wasting money you don't need to ATM.

Snivi
June 16th, 2009, 11:16 AM
Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit

I just got all the specs from the guy who is gonna built it for me.
Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black
Motherboard: Foxconn A7GM-S with AM2+ and AM2 support
Graphics/Video Card: XFX PVT98GYDLU GeForce 9800 GT with 512MB of DDR3 memory, 256-bit
Power Supple: hec HP585D with 585Watts
Processor: AMD Phenom 9600 running at 2.3GHz, Quad-Core, socket AM2+
Memory: 6gb (3X2GB) 2 of OCZ DDR2 1066 and 1 Kingston DDR2 1066
Hard Drive: 1TB Hitachi @ 7200rpm connected with a sata @ 3gb/s
CD/DVD-Drive: Sony Optiarc Black connected with a sata 3gb/s

He can do it for $800

Benadryl
June 16th, 2009, 01:30 PM
Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit

I just got all the specs from the guy who is gonna built it for me.
Case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black
Motherboard: Foxconn A7GM-S with AM2+ and AM2 support
Graphics/Video Card: XFX PVT98GYDLU GeForce 9800 GT with 512MB of DDR3 memory, 256-bit
Power Supple: hec HP585D with 585Watts
Processor: AMD Phenom 9600 running at 2.3GHz, Quad-Core, socket AM2+
Memory: 6gb (3X2GB) 2 of OCZ DDR2 1066 and 1 Kingston DDR2 1066
Hard Drive: 1TB Hitachi @ 7200rpm connected with a sata @ 3gb/s
CD/DVD-Drive: Sony Optiarc Black connected with a sata 3gb/s

He can do it for $800
Wait, what did you need advice on, then?

Eureka1
June 16th, 2009, 02:29 PM
Announcing their new PC.

10/10 OP :P

Snivi
June 16th, 2009, 07:29 PM
The OS which I got from this thread.

Zet
June 17th, 2009, 02:47 AM
get a 3GHz processor for even faster results ;o

Snivi
June 17th, 2009, 04:17 AM
Thanks for the advice! I may end up going with 3 then.