PDA

View Full Version : Do you have any special effects?


.little monster
July 13th, 2009, 12:03 PM
On your desktop, do you have any special effects running? Like Aero or the Desktop Cube? Also, just because it doesn't come with the system that doesn't mean you have no ability to run special effects. You can download programs to do it, like Madotate.

Ziraider
July 13th, 2009, 12:20 PM
I have the basic effects of Ubuntu where the windows shake all over the place when you drag them.

.little monster
July 13th, 2009, 12:27 PM
Here is a list of all the effects I have on Ubuntu:
- Semi-Transparent Taskbars (http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx231/TheCtep/Screenshot-1-3.png)
- Rain Effect (http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx231/TheCtep/Screenshot-2-3.png) (With window open (http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx231/TheCtep/Screenshot-4-1.png))
- Drawing Fire on Desktop (http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx231/TheCtep/Screenshot-4.png)
- Desktop Cube (http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx231/TheCtep/Screenshot-5.png)
- Wobbly Windows (http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx231/TheCtep/Screenshot-6.png)

.Seth
July 13th, 2009, 12:31 PM
I've got Vista Aero going on, and shadows around windows.

Alinthea
July 13th, 2009, 12:37 PM
Some random things.

Normal Vista Aero.
Matrix sidebar.

Blah blah

twocows
July 13th, 2009, 02:24 PM
I'm a minimalist. All that stuff is, to me, is a bunch of unnecessary bloat. Virtual desktops serve a functional purpose, but I never end up using them, so even that I don't bother with.

On the other hand, I do make a lot of tweaks to the UI and configure some of my programs to make everything easier. On my Windows installs, I have an "open with notepad (http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/add-open-with-notepad-to-the-context-menu-for-all-files/)" option in my context menu so I can open any file with notepad immediately, the "Open Command Window Here (http://www.burgaud.com/open-command-window-here/)" context menu entry (shift + right click is too much hassle), and a context link to Unlocker (http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/) (though I don't have it run at startup) in case I come across a file that I can't delete for some reason. CCCP (http://www.cccp-project.net/) is installed and MPC/Zoom configured so I can play any media file (VLC is good in its own way, but for most media, CCCP is better) and 7-zip (http://7-zip.org/) is installed and integrated with the shell so I can double-click any archive and open it. My "quick launch" bar has the usual "minimize windows" button and links to my data partition, Firefox, and the command prompt, as those are the most common actions I take. More than anything, I like being able to do what I need with as little hassle as possible.

EDIT: I just replaced Notepad with Metapad LE (http://liquidninja.com/metapad/download.html), which is way more useful and equally as fast.

daigonite
July 13th, 2009, 02:27 PM
I prefer not to have all the fancy crap on my desktop/windows. I think the most I ever had were those little pikachus that would walk across your windows.

Archer
July 13th, 2009, 04:14 PM
I prefer not to have all the fancy crap on my desktop/windows. I think the most I ever had were those little pikachus that would walk across your windows.
Oh god, that reminds me when I used to have a pokemon screensaver with the pokemon centre music, and pokemon floating across the screen...

I've got Desktop Cube (and Rotate), Expo and that's about it. I'm yet to configure Minimise effects on this install, but I will. Lamp, ftw. :D

Eon-Rider
July 13th, 2009, 04:22 PM
I don't have ANY fancy effects on my computer to keep a decent performance since my computer is crap enough as it is. =P

Gerri Shin
July 13th, 2009, 07:27 PM
hmm this is tough, I do have a custom theme and I've changed the system font, but other than that I just use the standard 'effects' of minimizing windows to the dock, multiple desktops and the cube spin when changing accounts.

Cassino
July 14th, 2009, 12:47 AM
No; my windows don't even animate when I minimise/maximise them.

Archer
July 14th, 2009, 02:08 AM
No; my windows don't even animate when I minimise/maximise them.
I've considered going with a minimalistic theme occasionally, but I just prefer things to be shiny and flip around, etc.

Just out of curiosity, how do people get screenies of Desktop Cube? Prt Scrn doesn't work when I'm holding the cube...