PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Intro Sprites Editing!


Xatoku
July 26th, 2009, 01:37 PM
Hey PC!

I am going to be making a few tutorials about editing the Big Intro Sprites!
Hopefully you will understand throughout the tutorial but if you have any questions, just post them in a reply below :D.

Things You Will Need:
FSF - HackMew's Tool Factory
VBA - Google
Fire Red Rom - Google
unLZ - HackMew's Tool Factory
APE - HackMew's Tool Factory
Irfanview - Google
Paint - Comes with Windows
Calculator - Comes with Windows
NotePad - Comes With Windows

Let's Get Started (MALE HERO)
Alright first thing's first.

-Okay, first of all, save the sprite you want as a .png.
-Next, open your sprite in Irfanview.
-Click Image>Decrease Colour Depth>16 Colours.
-Next, click Image>Palette>Edit Palette and make it so that the first colour is the transparent colour, if it isn't then switch it with the colour in it's place, don't worry if the image messes up.
-Now save the image as a .png with a different name then the original.
http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/9519/image1yud.png
http://img188.imageshack.us/img188/4964/image2euk.png

-Now open 2 Paint windows.
-Open your old sprite of your Hero, and the one we just edited within Irfanview.
-Copy the Old Sprite and paste it onto the new one edited through Irfanview.
-Now the sprite should look fine.
-Save the image and close Paint.
http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/4079/image4g.png

-Open Photoshop and open your new indexed image.
-Click Image>Mode>Colour Table and then click save and save the palette as a .act file.
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/4048/image5vph.png


-Now open APE.
-Bookmark these 2 offsets.
>0046161C - Hero Sprite 1
>004615FC - Hero Sprite 2
http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/1603/image6q.png

-Once bookmarked, go to Hero Palette 1.
-On the 2nd Colour Table below the first one, click the Import Palette button and chose the .act palette we just saved in Photoshop.
-Once imported, change the first colour to your transparent colour for your image, mine being FF7F(White).
-Then click replace.
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/4174/image7afp.png

-Now load Hero Sprite 2's palette offset and export it.


-Once exported, import it on the 2nd Colour Table under the first.
-After you've imported it, click the first colour and make it the same transparent colour as in the first palette. Once again, FF7F(White) for me.
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1686/image8k.png

-Now open your rom in VBA.
-Make a new game and wait until you can see Red's Big Sprite.
-Once there, click Tools>Palette Viewer>Save .bg and save it as a .act file.
http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/5601/image10a.png

-Now open unLZ.
-Open your rom and then click 256 Colours + Black & White.
-Got to #340 and Red should be around there. For me he's on #341 but it may differ for you.
-Use the Minus(-) and Plus(+) Buttons to make the sprite look proper.
-Once that's all set click Save As and save it as a .png file.
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/6488/image11wvl.png

-Now open the image you just exported in Photoshop.
-Click Image>Mode>Colour Table and load the .bg .act file you saved through the Palette Viewer in VBA.
-Once that's done, click the first colour and make sure that it's the transparent colour of your sprite.
-Now paste your sprite we edited earlier through Irfanview onto the Red sprite, the colours may have some wierd dots but they should be generally the same.
-Now fix up your sprite and save.
http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/448/image12wvd.png
http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/8500/image13z.png

-Go back into unLZ at Red's #.
-Uncheck Black & White.
-Click Import and chose the sprite you just edited through Photoshop.
-Click Write to Rom and make sure that only Export Image and Auto Abort is checked.
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/373/image14s.png


-If you get an error in unLZ follow these steps:
>Open Calculator + FSF
>In Calculator, go into Scientific Mode and click Hex.
>Type the # unLZ gave you when it couldn't Write to Rom.
>Click dec.
>Copy the number you got in Dec and go into FSF.
>Open your rom in FSF and paste the Dec # in the Needed Bytes section, and in the box below that type in 1, and check the first checkbox.
>Click search and copy the offset it gives you.
>Click Write to Rom again in unLZ and paste the offset FSF gave you in the Offset box, and check the Automatically Fix Pointers Box.
>Click Ok and it should say Pt Changed :D.

-There you go, you should have just successfully inserted the sprite.

http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/4159/image15a.png

.Seth
July 26th, 2009, 06:04 PM
Very nice. I'll have to get Photoshop CS3 sometime. Seems like it's really useful for hacking purposes.
Very good tutorial, has images, and of it working. Great job, great job Xatoku!

o0oBahamuto0o
July 26th, 2009, 10:49 PM
I'm Using PTS CS3 for Edit this thing
Thanks men :D
Great Job ^^

sab
July 27th, 2009, 07:17 AM
great tut, but could you also use gimp instead of photoshop?

Xatoku
July 27th, 2009, 08:06 AM
I've never used Gimp so I wouldn't know sorry.

.Seth
July 27th, 2009, 09:39 AM
great tut, but could you also use gimp instead of photoshop?
GIMP can't work well with .pal and .act files if I remember correctly, so no.

hashtag
July 27th, 2009, 09:40 AM
Well, you can't use gimp because you need to save it as .act.
Adobe
Colour
Table.
So, it only works with adobe products, aka PS.

~*Mew*~
July 27th, 2009, 03:50 PM
This Tutorial is good to the NEWBIES and other users.
Though, i already know how to do it.;)
Anyway, this is really helpful.
Well done!:)

~*Mew*~

Xatoku
July 27th, 2009, 04:52 PM
Thanks, I tried to make it newb friendly hehe.

Mr.Silver
July 27th, 2009, 05:39 PM
this is really handy and more in depth
But i keep getting an error saying something about not being able to save to the rom

NarutoActor
July 27th, 2009, 06:14 PM
this is really handy and more in depth
But i keep getting an error saying something about not being able to save to the romuse a hex editor or free shapce finder and change the picture offset

Mr.Silver
July 27th, 2009, 06:40 PM
I did
the error i get is after Unzl,Its on the other pictures

Kakunatops
July 28th, 2009, 04:38 AM
Where do you get the offsets for other sprites, like Pro.Oak, and Gary, etc.

Xatoku
July 28th, 2009, 10:12 AM
Where do you get the offsets for other sprites, like Pro.Oak, and Gary, etc.
Found them myself, it's not hard but it takes some time.

JerisEnigma1337
July 28th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Is there ANY way or other program to do this without Photoshop?
I don't have it and the trial version is 325MB... Way too much for me to download without making my computer go asploud...
I have everything else here and many many tools, so is there no alterative?

Xatoku
July 28th, 2009, 05:30 PM
Is there ANY way or other program to do this without Photoshop?
I don't have it and the trial version is 325MB... Way too much for me to download without making my computer go asploud...
I have everything else here and many many tools, so is there no alterative?
Are you sure you don't have enough space? Because 325mb is hardly anything.

JerisEnigma1337
July 28th, 2009, 06:01 PM
I'm trying to download it but I'm on a pretty crappy connection so I don't know if I can. Plus, it'd be cool to have something to go to when the 30 day trial is up, seeing as I'm too cheap to buy photoshop. :P

EDIT: NEVERMIND!! LMAO!
I went nextdoor where the neighbors have highspeed and started to get the trial version, and their kid copied me his full to use at home XD Edit2: It turns out you still have to activate it, so I'll be out of luck in 30 days anyway. At least I can do this now!

But actually, it'd still be awesome if there was another option for other people with this problem. I know there are other ways to add sprites, but its a shame to only be able to follow this super easy newb-perfect route only halfway.

EDIT EDIT EDIT!:
Weeelll... This is what I ended up with. *attaches*
Looked great right up until you import the final photoshop edit into the game with Unlz... *head-desk* >.<

Boterham
July 31st, 2009, 10:14 AM
Where do you get the offsets for other sprites, like Pro.Oak, and Gary, etc.

Prof.Oak is for me: 342
and
Gary is for me: 343

I don't have photoshop so it won't work for me but when i get the time to download a trial i try this out.

JerisEnigma1337
July 31st, 2009, 06:03 PM
Oh. My. Gawd. I redid this 3 times and its happened everytime! At least the one that I posted was the right palette this time, but I can't make it ungarbled! When I view the character in unLz, its only nice like your's in color; if I view it in b&w like in the tut its all messed up like my final result... :'(

Pokepal17
August 1st, 2009, 05:09 AM
Awesome tutorial. It's simple and easy to follow It'll help a lot of people. Well done! ;)

crdm
August 5th, 2009, 05:35 AM
i'm getting a runtime error...
help?

.Seth
September 27th, 2009, 07:04 PM
Do you happen to have the offset for Prof. Oak's palette?

●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•●
September 27th, 2009, 09:13 PM
Thanks for the Kool tut i was seeking for this!!

HackChu
October 5th, 2009, 05:23 PM
Nice tut, ill try it sometime since i have photoshop.

Bayonetta
October 7th, 2009, 12:48 PM
Im trying to change the rival now.
But I cant find the 2 palette offsets for him.
Like these ones, so its screwed up.
-Bookmark these 2 offsets.
>0046161C - Hero Sprite 1
>004615FC - Hero Sprite 2

Does someone know the Rival Sprite 1 and Rival Sprite 2 offsets for the intro?

SiegHart
October 7th, 2009, 08:03 PM
Im trying to change the rival now.
But I cant find the 2 palette offsets for him.
Like these ones, so its screwed up.
-Bookmark these 2 offsets.
>0046161C - Hero Sprite 1
>004615FC - Hero Sprite 2

Does someone know the Rival Sprite 1 and Rival Sprite 2 offsets for the intro?

I would like to know this as well, along with the female hero sprite and oaks sprite offsets

ME0W
October 7th, 2009, 11:35 PM
Thanks for the tut! Know I know how, now time to edit the sprites!

Bayonetta
October 8th, 2009, 06:14 AM
I would like to know this as well, along with the female hero sprite and oaks sprite offsets


Heroine Palette 1=00460ED0
Heroine Palette 2=00460EF0

Thats the palette offset for the Female Character.

I still need the rival and oaks as well.

Cannavaro
October 15th, 2009, 06:11 AM
I want to change in Pokemon Ruby, how do i will do???

CookieDough
October 15th, 2009, 11:24 AM
Thank you for this tutorial =D I'll take a look at it after I'm done with my titlescreen =D I was searching for something like this!

HackChu
January 23rd, 2010, 08:52 AM
Nice tut, its very self explanatory. BUT...I did have a slight problem.

This probally isn't a common issue but here goes. Well everything went fine the sprite inserted fine but the palettes I threw on it from Photoshop didn't show in game. I saveed the indexed image after I made the sprite look neat, than inserted the sprite. The colors I edited on Photoshop did not show instead it had a different one.I.E I colored the bag green but in game its alot darker and its not green. Is this a problem that needs to be corrected in APE?

helloNL
January 23rd, 2010, 10:44 AM
i think you forget to put a pallette in
so now it uses the old one

Xatoku
January 23rd, 2010, 01:41 PM
I think you inserted them into the wrong palette #.

HackChu
January 23rd, 2010, 01:51 PM
What is the palette number? Is it on unlz or APE?

Xatoku
January 23rd, 2010, 05:23 PM
Well, I copied the palette number from unlz when I wrote to rom, then pasted it in APE.

HackChu
January 23rd, 2010, 06:07 PM
Oh I tried that to... but the palettes are different in APE than what it shows in-game. Although when I inserted Red's palettes in PS it showed what it looked liked in the game. So for some reason its using Red's palettes anstead of the customs. Like I colored the bag green but when I inserted it, it was a different color.

TailOnFire
February 18th, 2010, 05:44 PM
nice tutorial
i've been looking for a tutorial
like this forever

EdensElite
July 14th, 2011, 08:47 AM
The background colour isn't transparent for me, can anyone help?

Edward Newgate
July 31st, 2011, 03:38 AM
I want to change in Pokemon Ruby, how do i will do???

In ruby, it's different I think.

So I suggest to try it out yourself ;)

refep
August 15th, 2011, 10:22 PM
How to do this in ruby! Tutorial on that plz!

MissDigitalis
December 28th, 2011, 07:05 PM
What if we just want to edit the pokemon and we don't have photoshop?

savanger
January 1st, 2012, 11:05 PM
When I try to index my hero sprite, it just reverts back to the original sprite

razorwind124
January 2nd, 2012, 08:36 PM
How to do this in ruby! Tutorial on that plz!


They just go off of the trainer sprites. Nothing difficult... Just edit in paint and re-enter into unlz :)

MissDigitalis
January 6th, 2012, 04:36 PM
Hmm I've edited my hero sprites much more easily.

I just indexed the image I wanted to use and then went to unlz and imported the image and exported the pallet.


Now my only question is, how do you edit the back sprite for the hero?

Edit. that only works for the trainer card image not the main sprite. And I'm not sure what effects that has on the game. :\

auramasterXD
June 3rd, 2012, 02:29 AM
Hi everyone!
I have been making rom hack from fire red
and i followed xatokus intro editing tutorial, But i don't know what is rivals intro sprite APE offset palette. And if i just import the sprite with unlz the sprite has wrong colors and red cube surrouding it.

So what i have to do?

LaDestitute
April 29th, 2013, 11:50 PM
Sorry to grave dig, but I think these are the palettes for Oak and Gary-

Edit: I think I have the wrong palettes, my bad.

LFCAmmy
May 3rd, 2013, 03:28 AM
thx and do u knw how to change intro sprites in emerald???

dunning2012
May 29th, 2013, 12:01 PM
VBA won't let me save the palette as an ACT. file. Every time I try it changes it to a PAL. file. Any ideas anyone?

mooshra
June 3rd, 2013, 07:10 PM
This looks pretty easy but I follow it step by step and when I try to import my custom graphic it says the image isn't indexed when photoshop says it is and I have done all of this. Plus when I try to get my color palette from my custom graphic it gives me some random palette that isn't from my graphic.

riahbobiah
August 10th, 2013, 05:15 PM
I know this is an old thread but has anyone else had the problem that the transparent color (background) and black (detail lines) are switched? The large square that should be transparent is showing up when I open my ROM in VBA, and my black lines are gone. Help?

freddy f1shf1nger
August 21st, 2013, 04:59 AM
Thanks, this was pretty useful, the only thing is that I was unable to change the professor's sprite without it looking like a massive glitch and the rival changes colours when selecting his name :/. Other than that I guess it worked out.

Hakansson
December 5th, 2013, 08:05 PM
Thanks, this was pretty useful, the only thing is that I was unable to change the professor's sprite without it looking like a massive glitch and the rival changes colours when selecting his name :/. Other than that I guess it worked out.

Exactly, I'm having the same problem with the colors of the rival. Have you found a solution yet? I mean, it's been six months, right?

Teh Blazer
February 10th, 2014, 07:06 PM
I come bearing glorious sauce for Oak's palette (although for some reason it alters the background colors too :/)

00460568 - Oak Palette 1
00460588 - Oak Palette 2

Gameassassin989
March 26th, 2014, 12:55 PM
What a great tutorial! It was so easy to follow with all the detail that was put into it. I didn't get lost at all. Just wanted to say thanks. I've looked everywhere for a tutorial and this was the only one I found.