PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] How to make multiple instruments in a single midi track using anvil studio


3dd13
August 14th, 2009, 01:24 AM
this tutorial requires that 1 you are using anvil studio, and 2 that you know what you are doing.

this is ment for music hackers to where you can have multiple instruments without creating multiple tracks, thus saving space.

first open your midi in anvil studio. if you cannot do that, leave now XD
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47902

you play the song till you get to the place you want the instrument change.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47898

next, you then go to edit, insert midi controller event.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47901

a box will pop up. check do not show this again, and click ok.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47900

now check the box that says show all events, and select program change.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47899

go to the box that says control value, and type in the number of the instrument - 1
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47904
http://www.pokecommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=6489&pictureid=47903
[example, french horn is 61, but you will type in 60. then select OK. there you have it.]

there! you have now changed the track to support multiple instruments!
be sure to follow the instrument standards for your ROM, otherwise, it could turn into gbsynth, which you don't want...

after searching the internet and finding nothing, i finally opened a midi that had an instrument change, looked at the events list, and figured this out. I decided to post this finding as my first tutorial, but it seems Magnius beat me to it. o well, it was hard to find in his tutorial, so hopefully this edit should help.

liuyanghejerry
August 14th, 2009, 05:45 AM
Nice work.Though I'm not working on music ,but I'll use this tut soon.(But I think I have to learn anvil studio...

●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•●
August 18th, 2009, 09:57 PM
Firstly,
Did YOU make this or did you find a guide and improved it?If this is the case mention the credits.

Secondly,
Pics make a tut look good....

NoriakiZ
August 23rd, 2009, 05:35 PM
Did you update Anvil Studio or something, because it isn't working for me.

Magnius
August 23rd, 2009, 06:02 PM
i personally found this out myself. i did look on google, only to find that there is no tutorial, because anvil by default sees each track as having only 1 instrument. i opend a midi that had a trumpet playing in a flutes track, and went to the event list, to discover it was a program change event.
ill post pics soon.
Not true, look at part 2 of my music hacking, it documents this and more. And by not true I mean that, yes there was already a tutorial that documented this. Good info nontheless.

3dd13
September 14th, 2010, 10:59 AM
i have updated this tutorial with more info and pics!!!

Lost Heart
September 14th, 2010, 11:08 AM
Very useful tutorial! I had no idea that you could do this.