PDA

View Full Version : Where's the rest of my HDD?


Toothache
October 8th, 2004, 09:51 AM
Ok, I just fitted and installed a lovely new 200 Gig hard drive into my machine. Unfortunately, after formatting I find that my computer only seems to recognise 128 GB of space, and the rest of it seems to have disappeared. Is there any way to get the rest of my space? FYI, I'm on Windows XP.

BigCN401
October 8th, 2004, 12:17 PM
Here's some suggestion:

Do you have WIndows XP, XP SP1 or XP SP2? If you just have Windows XP with no service pack install, you need at least to install SP1 for Windows to detect hard drive 137+ GB.

What brand of HDD did you buy? Did you install their drive? It might have a patch for Windows to detect the HDD of 137+ GB.

If those above method doesn't work, then the only think I can suggest you to do is to partition your drive no more than 137 GB (ex: make two 100 GB drive) or to get a ATA card for your computer.

NOTE: BTW, a '200 GB HDD' is really 187.6 GB.

aaaaaa
October 8th, 2004, 02:44 PM
Oh dear >_>
You've got a PC that only has 24bit LBA addressing capability. Mmm..what brand is your HDD, and what about your BIOS? I may be able to research a workaround.
I recommend you update Windows et al, but if it's the PC at fault it may require being a little under handed. I know the 37GB limit could be broken with the right method, but not sure about the 137GB. Once I know a few more details, I'll let you know

aRedMoon
October 8th, 2004, 03:39 PM
You're complaining? ._.

I know the 37GB limit could be broken with the right methodTell please?=/

aaaaaa
October 8th, 2004, 03:48 PM
Depends on your drive. And you can't boot from it. But you can use it for storage.
Essentially, go to your BIOS and tell it there's no drive there.
Then when you get into a WindowsNT OS (NT/2k/XP), it should probe the IDE bus of it's own accord and discover the drive; at the right size.
I did it to put a 120GB drive in my Brothers Celery 300, which only supported <40GB drives

Toothache
October 8th, 2004, 07:54 PM
Let's see... I'm still on Windows XP SP 1 (not upgraded yet), and my HDD is from Western Digital, a WD 2000.

aaaaaa
October 8th, 2004, 08:10 PM
Check your BIOS Vendor's website for an updated flash.
If this is available, then you've got a totally easy way out.

Toothache
October 9th, 2004, 12:31 AM
I just upgraded to Service Pack 2, it automatically found the remaining unallocated space, so that's formatting now. Thanks for the help :-)

aaaaaa
October 9th, 2004, 12:33 AM
Wow whatdya know ;)
Enjoy your lots of space XD *is waiting for her two new 250GB drives to arrive, at the moment* it's never enough