PDA

View Full Version : School captain speech-- I'm about to die D:

beauty. proletariat
September 10th, 2009, 02:07 AM
I have to present this tomorrow morning at 9 AM. Its a speech on why I should be chosen as School Captain.

Please comment + critique so that I have a better chance :) Score brownie points ;D

Speech
[css-div=width:500px] Good morning students and staff of James Cook Boys' Technology High School.

I'm here today to tell you why I feel that I should be elected as your School Captain.

My name is Miraj, and I'm currently studying in year 11 with ambitions of being a doctor.

A school captain is someone that will think positively no matter how heavily he is weighed down by his personal commitments, or social life. I believe that a good school captain is someone that is able to put the entire school, and its needs, before himself. He needs to be honest, hard working, well spoken, and also be very approchable.

I am someone who fits into this criteria.

I believe that respect is something that cannot be bought or stolen as it must be earned, and in saying that, I only respect those who respect other people. To me, it is one of my greatest assets, but also a major flaw.

My main concerns at this school are Uniform, and Punctuality. Which is something I believe our school needs to work on. The most important part of school is not your marks, but how an individual can be a part of the community. Arriving late to school, truanting classes, wearing the wrong uniform, are all negative influences on our school community. It creates a gap of knowledge and also breaks the sync between staff and students. If this is reduced, and our community goes back in sync, it will greatly enhance the schooling experience for both students, and staff.