PDA

View Full Version : if you have two diff. comps in the same house do you have the same ip?


killax
October 19th, 2004, 03:56 PM
I would like to know... cuse my bro found out I have been coming here and he likes to spam. I don't want any banning matching up with me.

Deinonychus
October 19th, 2004, 04:06 PM
If you are using a router to connect both computers to the internet, then yes, you do.

Kipkip
October 19th, 2004, 04:32 PM
If you are using a router to connect both computers to the internet, then yes, you do.
No. You'll still have different IP's. I'm hooked up on a router and my computer has a different IP than my dad's.
I think this belongs in Computer Help & Disscusion.

Deinonychus
October 19th, 2004, 05:26 PM
Actually, you have different IPs on your LAN, NOT online. Routers use NAT (Network Access Translation). That means all computers on your network share one IP online, but you have different IPs on your home network.

Cool Cr@cker
October 20th, 2004, 12:23 AM
I would like to know... cuse my bro found out I have been coming here and he likes to spam. I don't want any banning matching up with me.

Well One thing!You bro doesnt know your Password so He'll come into his ID Spam and They'll only ban him!They Dont IP Ban Until it's toooooo serious!So dont worry!This'll solve your question better than 2 computers!

aRedMoon
October 20th, 2004, 12:11 PM
This belongs in Computers. :P

*moved*

aaaaaa
October 20th, 2004, 02:20 PM
yeah, to clarify, one ISP, means one IP. Doesn't matter what your internal IP is, you'll both be seen as the same IP.
So yeah, due to past offenses, if he does crap to be IP banned; you'll wear the wrath too.

j0eStER
October 20th, 2004, 04:29 PM
ALL COMPUTERS NO MATTER WHAT U HAVE ALL HAVE DIFFERENT IPS FROM ROUTERS TO CELLPHONES WITH BLUETOOTH TO COMPS!! NOW STOP ARGUING WITH THIAS A+ CERT, GUY :-P

aaaaaa
October 20th, 2004, 09:09 PM
Hi,

I guess you don't understand the concept of IP Masquerading/Forwarding.
The router has the only true external IP. This is assigned by the ISP, and all computers that connect through it are shown as having this IP to the outside world.
Internally, each computer has it's own IP, but that's strictly internal.
Now stop arguing with this 1337 chica, cause you're just dumb

kthxbaiu!

j0eStER
October 21st, 2004, 07:35 AM
dumb? your friggin STUPID! STUPID! All Comps and ROuters has IPs its like an Address book, there is no true IP.

aRedMoon
October 21st, 2004, 08:23 AM
Both of you, stop the flaming.

Imakuni?
October 21st, 2004, 08:39 AM
dumb? your friggin STUPID! STUPID! All Comps and ROuters has IPs its like an Address book, there is no true IP.
that sounds a lot like you maca :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Kairi
October 21st, 2004, 09:17 AM
Well the question was answered, and obviously this thread isn’t going to serve much of a purpose. Though it was important to clear up misinformation, and that was done too. SO, let’s close before any more is spread by our friend j0ester here. o_x;