PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Tile Inserting - Marxvile's Way.


Banjora Marxvile
March 6th, 2010, 03:11 AM
Right, I am Banjora Marxvile. Many of you will... Ah, who cares about the standard intro. I have Tile Inserted for nearly 2 years now, so I should know what I am doing in this tutorial. Right, let's start!

What You Will Need:
Advance Map
Paint
The tiles
A ROM (3rd gen, as this is a 3rd gen tutorial)

Instructions:

Step 1: Open Advance Map, and Load your ROM.

Step 2: Go to Block Editor, which is this button: http://i49.tinypic.com/rti1y1.png

Right, a basic run down of Block Editor:
http://i48.tinypic.com/vo320w.png

There are 2 big pictures, one at the left, one in the middle. The left one contains the "blocks", which are what you make your maps out of in Advance Map. The middle one contains the "tiles" which makes the "blocks". In order to insert tiles, you need to know how to use both, as well as how to change the pallettes. That is that little dropdown box that says pallettex (x being a number).

They all are what you really need for inserting Tiles, but the Behaviour Data is needed later.

Step 3: Select the pallette in the dropdown menu that best suits your NEW tiles.


Step 4: Go to Picture - Save Tileset x (x being a number).

This is where I need to tell you that Tileset 1 is the main tileset (basically, the great ourdoors, or the vast sprawl of interior tilesets). Tileset 2 is the secondary tileset (which is specific to certain places, such as Lavender Town has tiles other places don't).

At this point, an error saying something about pallettes being the same comes up. Simple solution is go (in the top menu bar) to Pallettes - Pallette Editor, and make sure that 2 colours in that pallette are not identical.

So, you've saved your Tileset, and you have new tiles. You probably think: Oh, I can just move them in, and it will be fine.

WRONG!

Step 5: Recolour your new tiles to fit the pallette that the Tileset is in. This cannot be easily explained, so I will show you what I mean:

This is an example tile (thanks to WesleyFG): http://i50.tinypic.com/344bll3.png

And this is your Tileset:
http://i45.tinypic.com/24o38lc.jpg

You recolour your tile, to fit the colour of the Tileset, like such:
http://i49.tinypic.com/25up3ld.png

See what I did? I got the grass from Firered, and I used it's colours onto the new grass. That is thanks to this button in Paint to identify the colours from the FR tile: http://i47.tinypic.com/24bt9h2.png

Step 6: NOW you can insert your new tile, replacing old ones or into free space (preferably, for this tutorial, over old ones)

Step 7: Go to Block Editor, and then Picture - Load Tileset x (The x you used earlier, 1 or 2).

Step 8: Then go to Picture - Load New Blocks. Voila, they should be inserted!

Ah, but they are not in the right pallette... Simple:

Step 9: Open the original new tile in Paint, and use the Eyedropper (http://i47.tinypic.com/24bt9h2.png) on 1 colour of it. Then go to Colours - Edit Colours. Click Define Custom Colours, and it shows you the RGB values of that colour. In Advance Map, go to Pallette - Pallette Editor. Select the original FR tileset colour that you used to replace the colour you eyedropped just a second ago. Change the pallette with the slider, doing the R value, then G, then B to get it as near as possible to the tile's original pallette. Repeat for all colours.

The 3rd gen ROM's round the R, G and B values to the nearest multiple of 8. Hence why I said as close as possible. So, hope you know your 8 times table!

Step 10: When done, close Pallette Editor, and go to Pallette - Write Pallette Changes To ROM. Done for sure now.


If you found this hard to follow, please tell me. If you get stuck, please either say in this thread, or Message me. I am willing to help people learn Tile Inserting. I knew what I was saying, but I want YOU to know what I was saying. So, if you have any difficulties or opinions, please tell me, and I will try my best toimprove this tutorial (my 1st, and I cannot explain things, so... Your help is much appreciated!)


Banjora Marxvile's Seal of Approval

558122_DG
March 8th, 2010, 06:18 AM
Excellent tutorial, Don't know why no one commented :)

I didn't find any problems, it was fairly easy to follow, it doesn't appear to need changes. Good job :)


@ppl who viewed but don't comment- People won't be compelled to help you if your not willing to tell them how, or at least comment on the tutorial.

Banjora Marxvile
March 8th, 2010, 11:43 AM
Excellent tutorial, Don't know why no one commented :)

I didn't find any problems, it was fairly easy to follow, it doesn't appear to need changes. Good job :)


@ppl who viewed but don't comment- People won't be compelled to help you if your not willing to tell them how, or at least comment on the tutorial.

Thanks. Well, my real aim is to get people who can't tile insert to read it mostly, but thanks for the encouragement. It really helps.

To those that don't comment: Please, if you have any criticisms, or opinions, please post. Even if you already know how to Tile Insert, every little helps.

Johto_legend
March 8th, 2010, 06:44 PM
i was reading in another tutorial that you needed to change the colors before you insert them. while i read your tutorial i got confused. do u want us to change the colors after we insert them? and to be sure, the palettes are the different colors the tiles(tileset) can become? and the tileset is the blocks?

558122_DG
March 8th, 2010, 07:13 PM
i was reading in another tutorial that you needed to change the colors before you insert them. while i read your tutorial i got confused. do u want us to change the colors after we insert them? and to be sure, the palettes are the different colors the tiles(tileset) can become? and the tileset is the blocks?

Basically you take the tiles you want to insert, put it into the already exported picture, and recolor the tiles you want to insert with the colors that are already there. After that you can edit the palette of the tile in a-map by going to the pallette editor, be sure to select the "write pallette changes to rom" after you finish. Good luck. If what I wrote made no sense whatsoever pretend you've never seen it before...

NarutoActor
March 8th, 2010, 07:21 PM
Not much to say, you do it the way I always have done it. But you didn't breaking up an image with tiles that repeat. Also you can explain byte values, and tiles that have animation.

Johto_legend
March 8th, 2010, 09:04 PM
so by inserting these do i replace the blocks it shows me or is this adding a new tileset? ex.- i replace the grass and tress in tileset 1 or make a new tileset.

~BrenDan
March 8th, 2010, 09:21 PM
so by inserting these do i replace the blocks it shows me or is this adding a new tileset? ex.- i replace the grass and tress in tileset 1 or make a new tileset.

In the tutorial explains how to replace a tile on the other, by recolor
but on many other occasions you must remove the old tiles for your own tiles;)
-------------
great tutorial is understandable
but I think you missed screens at the end:)
lucky!

Johto_legend
March 8th, 2010, 11:45 PM
does it matter which pallete you put them in. cause i know one palette is all black so wouldnt be easy to insert them in that palette?

Banjora Marxvile
March 8th, 2010, 11:49 PM
i was reading in another tutorial that you needed to change the colors before you insert them. while i read your tutorial i got confused. do u want us to change the colors after we insert them? and to be sure, the palettes are the different colors the tiles(tileset) can become? and the tileset is the blocks?

It doesn't matter how you do the recoloring bit. Different people have different ways. As long as you remember to make the tiles fit the pallette somehow.

Not much to say, you do it the way I always have done it. But you didn't breaking up an image with tiles that repeat. Also you can explain byte values, and tiles that have animation.

I am going to update this tutorial, hopefully including how to insert tiles into free space, how to expand a tileset (easy, but it could go buggy, as I have found out, but can be avoided), and eventually which tiles are animated, and where not to insert.

In the tutorial explains how to replace a tile on the other, by recolor
but on many other occasions you must remove the old tiles for your own tiles;)
-------------
great tutorial is understandable
but I think you missed screens at the end:)
lucky!

Thanks. I missed screens at the end as... Well, I was running out of time. When I update, I will add ore pictures of Pallette Editor, and the vital Step 10 (as peope do forget to do Step 10, myself included sometimes).

does it matter which pallete you put them in. cause i know one palette is all black so wouldnt be easy to insert them in that palette?


Doesn't matter about the pallette number, but which is this all black? If it is any Pallette from... 7 onwards, it is in the Secondary pallette zone, which is specific to certain areas, as the Secondary tilesets use them.

Giga Universe
March 9th, 2010, 06:22 AM
Good tutorial. The only thing that bugs me is that you didn't elaborate on the recolouring. Many people don't know about the eraser trick. I'm going to assume you don't know about it because you left it out. Click the eyedropper tools and select the colour you want to change with left click. Then with the eyedropper again, select the colour you want to change the first colour to. Then take the eraser tool, and hold right click, and drag the eraser over to tile you wish to recolour. Instant recolour! Repeat for all the colours you need to change. Much faster than the fill tool.

Banjora Marxvile
March 9th, 2010, 07:50 AM
Good tutorial. The only thing that bugs me is that you didn't elaborate on the recolouring. Many people don't know about the eraser trick. I'm going to assume you don't know about it because you left it out. Click the eyedropper tools and select the colour you want to change with left click. Then with the eyedropper again, select the colour you want to change the first colour to. Then take the eraser tool, and hold right click, and drag the eraser over to tile you wish to recolour. Instant recolour! Repeat for all the colours you need to change. Much faster than the fill tool.

I left that bit out as explaining that sometimes confuses people. I see now it is worth adding, but some people have different methods for recolouring, so I will do that in my update soon. The eraser trick may be helpful to add, but some people find doing it slowly without the Eraser trick to be more time consuming, but sometimes more reliable if your tile is just off the original pallette. Not a good reason, true, but I will add it soon.

Darkerm
March 22nd, 2010, 07:30 AM
I can't insert tiles without measing. But this is the easy tutorial. I will follow it. Thanks for the great Tutorial.....

Blubber300
May 18th, 2010, 03:35 PM
great tutorial, very easy to follow, but when I click"Load New Blocks" (Step 8) I get a message saying "Access violation at address 004A0105 in module 'AdvanceMap.exe'. Read of address 41277FE0." Has anyone else had this problem? and if you know, how do i fix it??

TheChroniclesofLance
May 22nd, 2010, 06:51 PM
I do this a little and many of my self-made tiles revert to something else ocassionally, is there anyway of stopping it?

helmy96
April 25th, 2011, 06:14 AM
Does this mean i have to put in the tiles or the batch of fitting tiles bit by bit?

Banjora Marxvile
April 25th, 2011, 12:24 PM
Does this mean i have to put in the tiles or the batch of fitting tiles bit by bit?

No, not really. You could do them all in one, that would work. Just be careful with what you are doing, and don't remove anything you sitll need from the Tileset, or at least keep an eye on what you've put where.

Meta Paradox
April 25th, 2011, 11:36 PM
Wow, I'm impressed! Thanks for the cool tutorial, Banjora Marxville. This is a really big help for my hack.

M.L
May 26th, 2011, 09:19 AM
dude awsome tut awsome it is short enough easy to follow and just well the best way to nsert tiles, uhm well i have nothing bad to say since its just too good lol love it any way well good tut and ths should help lots people

Aljam
May 27th, 2011, 12:59 PM
Kool you got your tut up dude! I think you should add some more pictures to make this tut as easiest as possible to follow.

Banjora Marxvile
May 27th, 2011, 01:11 PM
Kool you got your tut up dude! I think you should add some more pictures to make this tut as easiest as possible to follow.

It's been up a while, and has random activity spikes now and then. I may actually completely revamp it soon with pics and perhaps reword it to make it easier to understand. I know some bits need changing and perhaps some things need adding too.

Aljam
May 27th, 2011, 01:18 PM
Oh wow, now I feel stupid, but yea a revamp doesn't hurt. (I'm going to be doing that to my tut soon ;))

M.L
May 28th, 2011, 01:11 PM
uhm i dont think im gana create my own tut but maybe i can help you revamp yours i dunno but i have looked at alota tuts and none really explain x-flip y-flip properly maybe it should be inserted insert some pics aswell

Banjora Marxvile
May 28th, 2011, 01:19 PM
uhm i dont think im gana create my own tut but maybe i can help you revamp yours i dunno but i have looked at alota tuts and none really explain x-flip y-flip properly maybe it should be inserted insert some pics aswell

I thought x-flip and y-flip were kinda self explanatory in that they flip either in the x-axis or the y-axis (vertically or horizontally), I think it's that way round, if you look at it as if on a graph.

M.L
May 28th, 2011, 01:24 PM
well ja but f you dont know what it is their for then you wont know how to work it so just assing it the tut

X-Flip basically just flips the tile horizontialy this is to save space may help some people

Banjora Marxvile
May 28th, 2011, 01:26 PM
well ja but f you dont know what it is their for then you wont know how to work it so just assing it the tut

I'll consider it for the revamp. Yet, I don't see that as too important, as I've not actually seen any people ever wonder that, but I suppose there could be silent doubts.

M.L
June 1st, 2011, 01:48 AM
ja i under stand it is kinda simple but some people who have just started dont always know that lol

ZxC Mirai
June 5th, 2011, 01:56 AM
THANKS BRO YOU HELP TO INSERT NEW TILES BUT THERE IS A
LITTLE PROBLEM :D

TAKE A LOOK AT My aTTACHMENT


HOPE YOU WILL HELP ME :D

CAN ANYONE ANSWER MY QUESTION PLEASE :D

Banjora Marxvile
June 5th, 2011, 03:25 AM
Oh, I'm sorry, your caps locks was annoying me, making it seem a bit impolite and shouty. Also, 2 hours is a nothing wait on here, I'm sorry I wasn't on here, I was busy sleeping and being tetchy from lack of sleep. (Sorry for being impolite... Bad night)

Anyway, thats normal. The tiles just haven't been set to be used correctly, as Ruby ignores the corners of mountains (as they aren't normally used). Just use Block Editor, select the tile in the left box, then in the middle box click the part of the tile that is missing, and add it onto the tile. Simple to do, harder to explain.

ZxC Mirai
June 5th, 2011, 10:40 PM
Ok... i done it :D THANKS....