PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Guide to add new Pokemon without replacing, the easy way


madarawolf
March 26th, 2010, 11:18 AM
Things Needed
Advance Pokemon Sprite Editor
YAPE
Icon Editor

Getting Started
To start things off open your GBA rom in YAPE. Then scroll down on the Pokemon list until you reach the question marks after Celebi and click on one of them, it doesn't matter which.
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/3456/guidescreen1.png (http://img413.imageshack.us/i/guidescreen1.png/)


Go down and change the name of the Pokemon to whatever your new one is called, in all caps.
http://img532.imageshack.us/img532/5687/guidescreen2.png (http://img532.imageshack.us/i/guidescreen2.png/)

Sprite Editing
Save YAPE and switch over to using Advance Pokemon Sprite Editor. Go to the sprite of the ? you changed, the name should have changed to your new Pokemon.
http://img109.imageshack.us/img109/7609/guidescreen5.png (http://img109.imageshack.us/i/guidescreen5.png/)

Go into edit mode. Import your new sprite, make sure it's 64x64 and indexed, and synchronize the palette so your sprite looks right.
http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/3370/guidescreen6.png (http://img526.imageshack.us/i/guidescreen6.png/)

Import the back sprite, it should already have the same palette. You can then edit the palette for shiny form in the program or in a graphics editor like paint or photo shop. Save your edits.

Stat editing
After that go back into YAPE and edit your Pokemon's stats, evolutions, and moves. http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/4413/guidescreen3.png (http://img179.imageshack.us/i/guidescreen3.png/)

To edit the moves you need to go to other Pokemon and remove useless moves. I suggest going to evolutions and deleting moves they learn before evolving.http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/425/guidescreen4.png (http://img404.imageshack.us/i/guidescreen4.png/)

You have to do this because the game can only give a certain number of attacks to all the Pokemon and by deleting unneeded moves it frees up some for your new Pokemon.

You can't edit the pokedex entry or change the icon. well you can change the icon but only if you add one new pokemon.

TheFitz
March 27th, 2010, 01:58 PM
To edit the moves you need to go to other Pokemon and remove useless moves. I suggest going to evolutions and deleting moves they learn before evolving. You have to do this because the game can only give a certain number of attacks to all the Pokemon and by deleting unneeded moves it frees up some for your new Pokemon.


Ah-ha! I was wondering why it wasn't allowing me to add new moves! Thank you, sir, that was inordinately useful!




After this you're pretty much done, because I don't know how to edit it's Pokedex entry. If anyone knows how please tell me and I'll add it to the guide.


I can answer that one. Unfortunately, the ingame Pokedex can only handle 386 entries, so even if you did write something in, it wouldn't show up in the game.

Shiny Quagsire
March 27th, 2010, 03:20 PM
Is there a way to repoint it's cry to something else? This is good for looks and other stuff, but what aabout it's cry?

Aden Sickle
March 28th, 2010, 12:42 AM
Try PokeCryGUI. It comes with EliteMap.

ShinyBill
March 28th, 2010, 01:21 AM
I know how to put more attacks without deleting the old ones. For example, if you wanted 14 more attacks you would make 15*256 which is equal to 3840. Go to FSF and add that value to the needed bytes. Copy the offset. Go to Poke Edit Pro and select you Pokemon. Click on the button 'Insert new table' and paste the offset. Then all you need to do is change the attacks.

PS: There's a bug. Once you make that, on YAPE the availables moves will be negative. So in my case it showed up as -14.

deoxyslol
April 1st, 2010, 11:56 PM
how do i catch them cause i caught it and since tier was no pokedex data, it froze.

Shiny Quagsire
April 2nd, 2010, 06:59 AM
how do i catch them cause i caught it and since tier was no pokedex data, it froze.
Use Gamer2020's Pokedex Order Editor, and switch out some entries. Then use YAPE and you'll have a pokedex entry. If you switch it around too much, you entries will be out of whack. ex: groudon's entry on torchic.

Ready4failure
April 2nd, 2010, 03:02 PM
so, who's been using what to make their pokemon, b/c my paint program sucks too much, I can't make a good looking sprite. Anyone have a suggestion for a prog to make a non-pixelated pokemon?

MUDKIPS4LIFE
April 25th, 2010, 10:25 AM
Where can you get advance pokemon sprite editor?

Tranitar
May 2nd, 2010, 04:26 PM
When i try to import my Skorupi sprite the first sprite on the top left is black and glitchy while all of the others are perfect whats wrong?
EDIT: Nevermind i got it =3

Hopeless Masquerade
May 5th, 2010, 05:11 PM
Thanks for the awesome TUT! This really helps me! Preciate it!

gl3500
May 26th, 2010, 02:08 AM
For those looking for advance pokemon sprite editor and lots of other tools, check out my toolbox on mediafire.

Go to my profile and check my biography for link to my toolbox.

For those looking for advance pokemon sprite editor and lots of other tools, check out my toolbox on mediafire.

Go to my profile and check my biography for link to my toolbox.

I apologise if this was the wrong place. No credit goes to me for tools. I justwanted to help people find tools that they may need. All credit goes to the makers of these tools. If this was the wrong place, then i apologise, i was merely trying to help people that could not find advance pokemon sprite editor and possible other tools which are hard to find.

zZJoennZz
June 2nd, 2010, 07:40 PM
This tutorial was a easy... It help me.. :D

dragonh123
July 19th, 2010, 11:18 PM
THANK YOU!!!! I have been trying to edit the moves of new pokemon a thousand times THANKYOU!!! =D

Tetra
July 20th, 2010, 07:28 AM
on R\S\E it dosen't work.....

Life in a Shell
July 24th, 2010, 08:09 AM
Anyone know about changing the menusprite? I'm not very fond of running around with a question mark in my party :p
EDIT: Nevermind, got it. Advance Pokemon Icon Editor.

KyotoTushoni
August 9th, 2010, 06:55 PM
YAPE does not allow me to do Evolve by gender, but do you know how I could do this?

Eg. Male Clamperl to Huntail/Female to Goreybss.

Di
September 6th, 2010, 06:53 AM
I can't Download Advance Pokemon Sprite Editor anywhere. Can you send me the file in [email protected]?

PokeBaller56
September 7th, 2010, 02:00 PM
So do i...
Can someone post the Link ??

solarowl
September 7th, 2010, 03:45 PM
if i make a new pokemon using this method, what will the cry be?

stinger123
September 8th, 2010, 07:45 AM
So do i...
Can someone post the Link ??

Its a series of 3 tools by Wichu called Advance Series Toolbox.
Here is the Advance Series on the thread:
All three tools are awesome ;)

Heres the link to the main thread of the Advance Series:

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=196143

Enjoy!

astar_01
September 8th, 2010, 08:24 AM
Very useful tutorial.
Usually I'm happy with the Pokémon in the game so this seems more logical than replacing an existing one.

Di
September 8th, 2010, 08:27 AM
That is Helpfull Cause i got the Advanced Pokemon Script edition! =) Thank You All!

pokepokemo
October 5th, 2010, 02:11 AM
ummmm it shows the number instead of name
in A-Starter and it gets freezed when i pick it for a starter

NarutoActor
October 5th, 2010, 06:02 PM
This is yellow journalism, or yellow hacking. XD I did come into this tread with a preconceived notion that I would not be adding new pokemon. To my dismay, I was right. You are still replacing, your just replacing the "?" pokemon. What about the hackers who already replaced all the "?" pokemons. D:

madarawolf
October 7th, 2010, 01:10 PM
ummmm it shows the number instead of name
in A-Starter and it gets freezed when i pick it for a starter
I don't know how to fix this, if anyone else does then please help.
This is yellow journalism, or yellow hacking. XD I did come into this tread with a preconceived notion that I would not be adding new pokemon. To my dismay, I was right. You are still replacing, your just replacing the "?" pokemon. What about the hackers who already replaced all the "?" pokemons. D:
If you already replaced them then your pretty much screwed.

legoone
November 6th, 2010, 04:01 PM
i had it work for me :).i will give credit for this tut im a noob at this

Super Hacker
November 7th, 2010, 02:41 AM
hey, guy thaxn
this is really the easylest form to do it ^^

shadowdorothy
December 3rd, 2010, 06:55 PM
Can I use this tutorial to replace a sprite? Like say I want to replace Bulbasuar or Metapod? Can I do that with this?

KingTapir
December 21st, 2010, 08:58 AM
When I open my rom onto APSE, it says ''The rom is not compatible with any files in the INIs folder'' Does anyone know how to stop this?

SPG
January 7th, 2011, 08:55 PM
can it be more than 64x64? cuz some pokemon are

NintendoBoyDX
January 7th, 2011, 09:27 PM
No. You'll have to resize and index it.

SPG
January 7th, 2011, 09:48 PM
No. You'll have to resize and index it.
darn it now it will come out all chopy and weird

NintendoBoyDX
January 8th, 2011, 12:10 AM
Yes, it can be difficult to do it well. There are a few downloads Rom hacking resources that have indexed platinum sprites, try checking there.

Tortilla96
February 11th, 2012, 09:51 PM
I followed the steps, but whenever I try to catch my created pokemon, it says "added data to pokedex", and then the rom restarts. Help please!

supersoursky
July 25th, 2013, 06:46 PM
dude it freezes when you catch the certain pokemon coz you need to edit the pokedex entry,is there a way to edit this?

xGal
July 26th, 2013, 09:10 AM
Technicly, it's replacing... Also, if someone wants to add a pokémon without replacing, it's pretty obvious he will go to the "?"s.
By the way, I'd suggest you to add a part where you repoint the cry of a Pokémon, which is actually pretty simple. If I am not wrong, just search a free space, import a WAV with sappy, rememmber the location of the new inserted sprite, go to a hex editor, let's say the cry's offset is 747474, you search for "74747408", and then you replace the "747474" with the free space we used to import the new cry with sappy.

A mini-tutorial xD

DaleDystopiq
November 8th, 2013, 01:10 PM
Is it possible to add new NPCs as well?
Here we have the addition of a Pokemon, but I'd like to add an NPC sprite without having to replace/edit an already existing sprite. I can't find any information on it. D:

gamercomix615
December 26th, 2014, 06:24 PM
Can I use this new Pokemon as an evolution for an exsisting or fully-evolved Pokemon (ex. Charizard, Beedrill, Machamp, etc...)? I tried to do this with Charizard by using YAPE to make Charizard evolve into Mr. Mime with a Sun Stone but have had no luck.

anonyboy
December 27th, 2014, 08:04 AM
Can I use this new Pokemon as an evolution for an exsisting or fully-evolved Pokemon (ex. Charizard, Beedrill, Machamp, etc...)? I tried to do this with Charizard by using YAPE to make Charizard evolve into Mr. Mime with a Sun Stone but have had no luck.

This thread is outdated, use G3HS to expand PKMN and add new evolutions.