PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 Reboot?


Cilerba
March 27th, 2010, 05:52 PM
Hi, I was wondering if Windows 7 had a built-in reboot function. I want to completely restore my laptop to its factory settings. I saw the "Backup and Restore" function, but I don't want to back any of my data up, since I already have it saved on a USB drive.

Any advice on what to do?

Melody
March 27th, 2010, 06:16 PM
No, Windows 7 itself does not have such a function. If you bought your computer with Windows 7 already on it, there may be a way to restore it to factory condition by pressing a certain key before Windows begins to load, OR booting from a Recovery CD/DVD that came with your Computer

Note that there may be a pre-installed program that came with your computer which enables you to BURN a recovery CD/DVD if none came with your computer.

Cilerba
March 27th, 2010, 06:19 PM
No, Windows 7 itself does not have such a function. If you bought your computer with Windows 7 already on it, there may be a way to restore it to factory condition by pressing a certain key before Windows begins to load, OR booting from a Recovery CD/DVD that came with your Computer

Note that there may be a pre-installed program that came with your computer which enables you to BURN a recovery CD/DVD if none came with your computer.

Oh, alright, thanks.

I did create 3 seperate factory restore disks, using the Acer Reboot Function, I don't know how to use it...

John-117
March 27th, 2010, 06:22 PM
What are you using, a laptop or a desktop?
Laptop: the company who made the laptop should tell you a way to reinstall your OS.
Desktop: when you turn on your computer, interrupt it and you can put your disc and reinstall it.

Cilerba
March 27th, 2010, 06:25 PM
What are you using, a laptop or a desktop?
Laptop: the company who made the laptop should tell you a way to reinstall your OS.
Desktop: when you turn on your computer, interrupt it and you can put your disc and reinstall it.

I am using a laptop, sorry I forgot to mention that.

Melody
March 27th, 2010, 06:28 PM
Please contact the manufacturer of your laptop or look on their website for instructions on how to restore your computer back to it's factory state.

Cilerba
March 27th, 2010, 06:34 PM
If I do have a laptop, will it still work by pressing...F8?...during the reboot?

Melody
March 27th, 2010, 06:45 PM
um....I don't know. Consult the MANUAL that CAME WITH your LAPTOP!

Or look it up online and see if you can find an online manual at your laptop manufacturer's website.

Cilerba
March 27th, 2010, 07:02 PM
um....I don't know. Consult the MANUAL that CAME WITH your LAPTOP!

Or look it up online and see if you can find an online manual at your laptop manufacturer's website.

Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

gosh...

Hovo
March 27th, 2010, 11:53 PM
Did your laptop come with a factory image drive?

Go to Start -> Computer. There should be the C: drive, and if your laptop came with it, a drive called Factory_image or something along those lines.

twocows
March 28th, 2010, 12:32 PM
Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

gosh...
Pachy has a point. Always read the manual and Google before asking questions. First result on Google for acer factory reset gives me this (http://en.kioskea.net/faq/2040-acer-pc-restore-to-factory-settings#restore-the-system).

Pazuzu
March 29th, 2010, 07:27 AM
Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

gosh...

You made my day with that you know? XD!

But in all seriousness, if you have a recovery CD/DVD, usually you can boot from it by pressing one of the F-Buttons on your keyboard.
But which you have to press differs from manufacturer to manufacturer.
Dell uses F12, others use F2, some use F8. You can find that out from your manual or the manufacturer website.

Cilerba
March 29th, 2010, 11:10 AM
Well, I figured it out on my own. It was something completely different from what you guys had said, I forgot how I did it, but I got to some menu, and it had about 7 different reboot options.

Thanks for the help everyone, sorry for that post above, I was sort of in a bad mood because I couldn't figure out how to do the reboot.

Heart's Soul
March 29th, 2010, 11:25 AM
Why can't you just format your HDD and insert a disc to reinstall Windows 7? Or... use GOOGLE!?

donavannj
March 29th, 2010, 03:37 PM
Um. OK! I will DO that. No NEED for the RUDENESS!

gosh...

Pachy had already essentially told you to that in his last post without explicitly saying, "check the manual". :\

Well, I figured it out on my own. It was something completely different from what you guys had said, I forgot how I did it, but I got to some menu, and it had about 7 different reboot options.

Thanks for the help everyone, sorry for that post above, I was sort of in a bad mood because I couldn't figure out how to do the reboot.

Sounds like there was a hidden system restore partition on your computer. A fair few manufacturers do it this way now.

Why can't you just format your HDD and insert a disc to reinstall Windows 7? Or... use GOOGLE!?

Because, it's a laptop... and some manufacturers don't include restore CDs with their computers (I know HP does, but Sony doesn't, and apparently, neither does Acer). They use hidden system restore/recovery partitions instead.

Archer
April 2nd, 2010, 01:52 AM
Cilerba - I'm glad you worked it out. Keep in mind, a reboot is turning your computer off and then back on. You mean a restore or possibly a reinstall.

Heart's Soul - Because then they need to hunt down a plethora of drivers and have a Windows 7 disc in the first place. Given they've had trouble working out how to boot off a CD (don't take this the wrong way, OP.) a scratch reinstall is quite possibly beyond them. A restore is so much easier for a novice.

donnavannj - As far as I know, HP haven't provided restore CDs for a looooong time. They have an option in the Windows start menu that reboots into the recovery wizard, though.

donavannj
April 4th, 2010, 09:33 PM
donnavannj - As far as I know, HP haven't provided restore CDs for a looooong time. They have an option in the Windows start menu that reboots into the recovery wizard, though.

My workplace bought some last month... and they came with those RestorePlus! CDs, for both Windows 7 and Windows XP. Though that may be because it was a company buying.

Archer
April 7th, 2010, 02:31 PM
My workplace bought some last month... and they came with those RestorePlus! CDs, for both Windows 7 and Windows XP. Though that may be because it was a company buying.
The Business end of HP is completely different. Their products are actually good there, and they seem to last. Plus, I reckon the business end looks better.

The Pavilions haven't had restore CDs for ages.