PDA

View Full Version : 3D Games... Your views?

Captain Fabio
June 12th, 2010, 04:26 AM
http://www.ladonia.net/new_herald/wp-content/3d_nimis2.jpg
3D Gaming
[[If you have 3D glasses, you can see the picture fully]]

Ok, so 3D is seeming to start to come back since the early 00's, but stronger and better.

I was wondering, what are your views on 3D in gaming, do you think it will open new worlds into the gaming scene, or do you think it is just a gimmick, another money printing scheme.

Personally, until it is standard, I think 3D is useless. I work part time in a store that has 3D TV's. Although they are really good, they are very expensive. You will end up paying £3000 + for the 3D TV, and then £80+ for the glasses.

When the glasses are not needed, 3D will become a lot better.
[css-div="clear:right"][/css-div]

Cassino
June 12th, 2010, 08:52 AM
I was watching Princess Mononoke not long ago, and I noticed the scene where Ashitaka first sees the Deer God had a sort of 3D effect with the trees as the viewpoint zoomed past them. Also in the documentary series 'Cities of the Underworld' a number of those black and white scenes during historical commentary had the same effect.

Given these examples it seems perfectly doable without glasses to me, to make at least 2D objects appear with greater perspective just by moving and resizing the closer objects faster than the further away ones. I think ultimately this 3D is a gimmick made upon the recent revival of the popularity of wearing stupid (imho) red/blue glasses while watching films, though it'd probably work well for FPS games I think, but by and large it has little use. If anything, red/blue 3D will make games even more cinematic and less in fact games than they already have become.

sab
June 12th, 2010, 09:22 AM