PDA

View Full Version : New Problem: Report Categories Missing?


Captain Fabio
November 11th, 2010, 04:44 AM
Only just noticed that after clicking on the 'report' button that the categories that you can file it under are all gone, and the only option is 'Other'.

Known change or something just gone a little wrong? Or is it just me?

Kevin
November 11th, 2010, 05:28 AM
Yep I'm in Mozilla Firefox and I noticed the other choices are blank besides "Other" when reporting...

Cello
November 11th, 2010, 05:59 AM
I'm in Safari and I tried in Google Chrome; Still no options, so you aren't the only one. D:

Something must've went wrong during the short downtime last night.

Peeky Chew
November 11th, 2010, 06:17 AM
I'll be glad if they're gone for good, it's a nuisance having to fill them out.

Captain Fabio
November 11th, 2010, 06:52 AM
I'll be glad if they're gone for good, it's a nuisance having to fill them out.

It isn't exactly that hard...

Anyway, be interesting to see what the staff say.

Melody
November 11th, 2010, 10:11 PM
I am noticing the same problem....there is just an Other option, and the drop down list IS populated, but with nothing but blanks.

Because it worked before, I can't believe that it's a browser rendering error, I've cleared my cache since then, among many things...so I think it's something on the server-side

Team Fail
November 11th, 2010, 10:50 PM
I liked it how it was optional to use either the drop down menu or type a reason. Lately, I was forced to use the type field because the drop down was broken. I'd love if it was fixed.

Cherrim
November 12th, 2010, 08:59 AM
I am not actually sure what the problem is but here are my two guesses:

1. We had to disable the reports system for a time last week and when it came back, we might've brought it back with only the original base features.

2. That never actually WORKED on the staff side of things anyway (if you selected a drop-down reason we couldn't see it... or I couldn't, anyway 9_9) so we dropped the feature until it can be properly implemented.

But I'm not actually sure!

poopnoodle
November 12th, 2010, 11:13 AM
ah so it's not just me. can't be browsers, i've tried all three of mine :s


1. We had to disable the reports system for a time last week and when it came back, we might've brought it back with only the original base features.


if i recall correctly, ive made plenty of reports since last week and haven't encountered this problem until today. but maybe i dont recall correctly

well anyway

Captain Fabio
November 12th, 2010, 03:22 PM
I am not actually sure what the problem is but here are my two guesses:

1. We had to disable the reports system for a time last week and when it came back, we might've brought it back with only the original base features.

2. That never actually WORKED on the staff side of things anyway (if you selected a drop-down reason we couldn't see it... or I couldn't, anyway 9_9) so we dropped the feature until it can be properly implemented.

But I'm not actually sure!

Interesting that they might not have worked on your side.
They worked for me a few days ago, but it was only when I posted this that I first encountered that problem.

Platinum Lucario
November 13th, 2010, 11:07 AM
I've never had this problem until when I saw this thread... I checked the report system... and when I clicked the drop down list... there was only 'Other' on the list, all the rest was completely blank and just white. I'm not exactly sure what has happened, but it's been quite a few days since I last reported a post, and when I last reported was on the day before this happened. It really does need to be fixed. When I tried reporting a post in the Emulation... I'm pretty sure my post report might've turned into spam when I sent it. I think something might be messed up with the reporting system, cause there was a thread that was supposed to be closed and was a month old revived thread and was not in any forum that had the exception of the revival limit... I'm not exactly sure what is going on with the report system. Something's very odd.

Perrie ✿
November 23rd, 2010, 12:09 PM
For the past few days there has been something wrong with my reporting reason.

The drop down bar for the reasons only has Other. The drop down still appears and the rest is blank.

I've tried;


Logging out and Logging back in.
Closing the browser
Using Firefox. (I currently use Safari)
Shutting my computer down for an hour (Don't see how this would help>>)


So to PC Staff who' has had to deal with my "other" reason reports all the time, I apologize D:

Ausaudriel
November 23rd, 2010, 12:19 PM
I don't get why this always freakin breaks, nothing ever changes... o_O

Team Fail
November 23rd, 2010, 12:27 PM
I don't get why this always freakin breaks, nothing ever changes... o_O

I don't know, either. I find it gosh darn annoying, though. If it ever does break again, I'll let you know. :-)

Also, what about the one for reporting PMs? The last time I used that one (I don't know how long ago), it was broken as well. Has that been resolved?

Arago
November 23rd, 2010, 12:30 PM
I don't get why this always freakin breaks, nothing ever changes... o_O
Maybe you can use radio buttons or check boxes (in case there's more than one reason for reporting) instead of a drop down list? See if it works better that way.

Team Fail
November 23rd, 2010, 12:36 PM
Maybe you can use radio buttons or check boxes (in case there's more than one reason for reporting) instead of a drop down list? See if it works better that way.

Ooooh... I like the idea of that- if the post is having more than one way of defying the rules- like illegal content AND signature offences, you can check both and let the mod (or whoever) lay the penalty. :D

Captain Fabio
November 23rd, 2010, 12:36 PM
You might want to have a look at the thread I made with the same problem.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=236545

It has been like that since the 11th of November so I don't think it is going to be fixed.

How important was it that it was needed? (question to the uppers)

Arago
November 23rd, 2010, 12:53 PM
Ooooh... I like the idea of that- if the post is having more than one way of defying the rules- like illegal content AND signature offences, you can check both and let the mod (or whoever) lay the penalty. :D
I don't think it works on the mod side of it. At least, I haven't seen it.

Gardenia101
November 24th, 2010, 01:38 PM
There isn't any in IE 8, either.

When I reported something the other day, I didn't see ANY options... What's up with that? o.O