PDA

View Full Version : New Problem: Two posts, one click!


Melody
November 17th, 2010, 08:10 PM
Well, I know it's probably something you guys always see occasionally, but I have consistently been getting the dreaded double-post on click issue when I'm posting around the forums. I've tried it in both browsers, I've even disabled addons in Firefox to ensure that it wasn't caused by those and yet I still frequently get the message "You must wait 45 seconds between posts". It's not just because I'm using quick reply either, I've gotten this error consistently on the advanced reply as well. It's annoying mainly because it requires that I navigate back to the forum in question then back to the last page on the thread in question, because the breadcrumb link drops you on the first page. Perhaps if we could fix the breadcrumb links on all themes, it'd be nice.

Though I would honestly prefer that rather than dumping me on a blank advanced post page with that error, that it simply silently ignore the extra post request entirely and direct me to that last post made in that thread like it ought to. I know it's not because I'm clicking anything twice.

Captain Fabio
November 18th, 2010, 01:10 AM
I, nearly always, get this message, but I never reported it because it isn't that much of an issue. It doesn't create a double post, only a single, and when you get the message saying you have double posted, you can just scroll down to see your reply in the normal advanced reply screen to check everything is ok.

Ok, I understand it is a pain, but it isn't really high on the list of things to fix, I imagen.

Archer
November 18th, 2010, 02:50 AM
Clear Cookies, Cache and log out/in?

Melody
November 18th, 2010, 08:34 AM
Believe me I've tried all those more than I can count. I've experienced this error for about 3 months now. >_>

Aquacorde
November 18th, 2010, 08:47 AM
It tends to do that to me quite a bit; I used to think I double-clicked but couldn't tell on the touchpad. But it happens even when I know I clicked only once. It happens to my sister as well...

seeker
November 18th, 2010, 08:58 AM
Well, have you actually posted within the previous 45 seconds prior to this? I don't understand the issue, that notice is not an error. Not unless it's appearing when it shouldn't ie. if you have not posted in the previous 45 seconds.

Aquacorde
November 18th, 2010, 09:03 AM
Technically, when it shows me that notice I have posted in the previous 45 seconds. What happens is:
> I type up a post in the Quick Reply or Advanced Reply box
> I click submit, only once.
> My post is submitted, but I am taken to the notice page immediately. My already-submitted post is sitting around as I typed it in the reply box.

It's like what would happen if I had double- or triple-clicked the Submit Reply button.

donavannj
November 18th, 2010, 09:05 AM
I chalk it up to you not realizing that you are clicking twice. Happens to me from time to time where I'll get the message when I thought I had only clicked once and find out it already sent my reply. Just pay attention to how many times you click. Of course, you can largely avoid this by tabbing down from the reply box to the submit reply button and hitting enter.

seeker
November 18th, 2010, 09:05 AM
Technically, when it shows me that notice I have posted in the previous 45 seconds.

I really don't see the issue here. If you've posted in the last 45 seconds, just wait to post again.

The notice is in place to prevent spam and won't be changing.

JakeyBoy
November 18th, 2010, 09:23 AM
I really don't see the issue here. If you've posted in the last 45 seconds, just wait to post again.Judging from the thread title, I'd believe Pachy is talking about the situation where the request to post is sent twice from the same post. Pretty sure that happens from double clicking.

Aquacorde
November 18th, 2010, 09:26 AM
I chalk it up to you not realizing that you are clicking twice. Happens to me from time to time where I'll get the message when I thought I had only clicked once and find out it already sent my reply. Just pay attention to how many times you click. Of course, you can largely avoid this by tabbing down from the reply box to the submit reply button and hitting enter.
I do that sometime too and it still does it to me. :/

I really don't see the issue here. If you've posted in the last 45 seconds, just wait to post again.

The notice is in place to prevent spam and won't be changing.
I don't think you quite understand; I'm not trying to post different things in different places or even the same thing twice. I am posting one thing, one time, and it comes up with that message, as if it thinks I tried to double-post. I'm not wanting the rule changed; it is a good rule. I am just hoping that this might get looked into and/or established whether this is user error, computer error, or site error.

Edit: JakeyBoy beat me to that, yes.

seeker
November 18th, 2010, 09:30 AM
Then just avoid double clicking? At any rate, is this happening when it shouldn't or is it just a quirk? I mean it's not exactly a problem if you're the one making the mistake by double clicking the post reply. Even if you do that, and your post is made, just click on home and leave it. It's really not an issue.

Unless Pachy is suggesting that the post is being sent twice with one click?

Aquacorde
November 18th, 2010, 09:36 AM
Both Pachy and I have suggested that it is being sent twice with one click. Occasionally I believe getting the notification is a result of my own double-clicking, but there are still many times where I click only once and get that message. It isn't really a problem, no; just quite irksome.

Team Fail
November 18th, 2010, 10:00 AM
It's even happened to me. I clicked once, but it gives me that. It doesn't happen with every post, but when it does, it takes a little longer to load what I need to, even with my slow internet at times. x_x

Yuoaman
November 18th, 2010, 12:19 PM
Then just avoid double clicking? At any rate, is this happening when it shouldn't or is it just a quirk? I mean it's not exactly a problem if you're the one making the mistake by double clicking the post reply. Even if you do that, and your post is made, just click on home and leave it. It's really not an issue.

Unless Pachy is suggesting that the post is being sent twice with one click?


That happens to me quite often, the post is sent twice with a single click - the problem isn't horrible though, because I just have to navigate away from the warning message.

Rou.Tsuki
November 18th, 2010, 06:13 PM
Also, might I suggest, check your mouse. I have a crummy laser mouse at work. Sometimes one click from me equals 2 to 4 clicks from the mouse. Drives me bonkers trying to click on text to highlight. Change the mouse click reaction, that might help or switch to a different mouse.

Now, if the issue ONLY happens on this site and not at others, I would have to assume it to be a forum quirk.

Ninja Caterpie
November 18th, 2010, 09:59 PM
If it's lagging and about to double post, there'll it'll say 30 seconds, at which point I just check if I've posted already and then just GTFO if I have.

Melody
November 18th, 2010, 10:07 PM
I chalk it up to you not realizing that you are clicking twice. Happens to me from time to time where I'll get the message when I thought I had only clicked once and find out it already sent my reply. Just pay attention to how many times you click. Of course, you can largely avoid this by tabbing down from the reply box to the submit reply button and hitting enter.

Judging from the thread title, I'd believe Pachy is talking about the situation where the request to post is sent twice from the same post. Pretty sure that happens from double clicking.

Then just avoid double clicking? At any rate, is this happening when it shouldn't or is it just a quirk? I mean it's not exactly a problem if you're the one making the mistake by double clicking the post reply. Even if you do that, and your post is made, just click on home and leave it. It's really not an issue.

Unless Pachy is suggesting that the post is being sent twice with one click?


You all are definitely missing the point. I NEVER DOUBLE CLICK THE REPLY BUTTON! Ever. I always click it exactly one time, and the request gets sent twice, odd thing about it is that it waits precisely 15 seconds between the first and second send, so I'm assuming that 15 seconds into loading the next page it gets sent again somehow. (I know it waits 15 seconds because it always tells me I still have 30 seconds left out of 45 to wait) It's really weird...and it's annoying because I end up having to do extra navigation around the message, especially since I like being able to see my post when I click submit. :<

Sora
November 18th, 2010, 10:20 PM
Just because they missed the point, it doesn't mean you have to burst out at them. It's commonly human nature.

Anyways, you're not really the only one who gets this problem. I as well get this from time to time, though it's usually not on my main (thank goodness, considering where I usually post). I'm pretty sure that I also click as once well (since I usually click back over to Firefox after sending something on my alt), but all the same it likes to try to send two at once at times. Perhaps it's a server problem: while you're clicking once, the server spazzes slightly, and causes it to think you clicked twice. With this said, while it may be irksome to have it happen all the time, and it may be annoying to navigate back, you can at least be assured that you're not the one at fault. If anything, you might just have to deal with it like the rest of us, especially if it is something with the server. That, or since it happens more frequently for you, it may be your internet connection, since sometimes internet connections causes things to spaz, and thus resend things even though you click only once.

Zet
November 18th, 2010, 10:20 PM
I really only get the message when the server is being a bit sluggish, but every other time, I don't get the message.

Platinum Lucario
November 19th, 2010, 01:09 AM
Well, I know it's probably something you guys always see occasionally, but I have consistently been getting the dreaded double-post on click issue when I'm posting around the forums. I've tried it in both browsers, I've even disabled addons in Firefox to ensure that it wasn't caused by those and yet I still frequently get the message "You must wait 45 seconds between posts". It's not just because I'm using quick reply either, I've gotten this error consistently on the advanced reply as well. It's annoying mainly because it requires that I navigate back to the forum in question then back to the last page on the thread in question, because the breadcrumb link drops you on the first page. Perhaps if we could fix the breadcrumb links on all themes, it'd be nice.

Though I would honestly prefer that rather than dumping me on a blank advanced post page with that error, that it simply silently ignore the extra post request entirely and direct me to that last post made in that thread like it ought to. I know it's not because I'm clicking anything twice.

I assume... it would be a problem to do with your mouse settings. Go to control panel, click on where it says "Mouse", then it'll bring up the Mouse Properties. On the buttons tab, make sure that the double click speed isn't set to the lowest, make sure it's in-between, but just a tad faster. Otherwise... you'd end up double clicking right on your first click.

If that isn't the problem, then click Device Settings tab, and then click settings. Then you might be able to find out what the cause is, prahaps the best way on those settings... is to put it to default settings.

And to be honest... I aren't really having this problem... so I do assume it is a problem with your Mouse configurations.

Cherrim
November 19th, 2010, 01:14 AM
It's not the mouse unless it's on mine too... and my old untampered-with work computer's mouse settings. I think it's a server thing, 'cause I do definitely notice it when the server is hiccuping all over the place.

:( It happens to me all the time too except whenever I do it, it just posts twice (since I have no flood limit and it doesn't catch my double posts), and people comment on it because I never notice, haha. I have no fix, just dropping in to say it's very, very unlikely it's related to the mouse.

Pablo49
November 19th, 2010, 01:47 AM
I think your internet connection plays a role, too. My wireless loves to mess with me, and sometimes when it's connection is low, I'll get the flood message. Same happens on another vB board I'm on, and they don't have the server issues like PC has.

Also, I laughed so hard at Lightning's double post. :)

Archer
November 19th, 2010, 02:01 AM
Just because they missed the point, it doesn't mean you have to burst out at them. It's commonly human nature.

I think it's the frustration of several people insisting the OP was doing the wrong thing when they weren't. It didn't look terribly personal, anyway.

And to be honest... I aren't really having this problem... so I do assume it is a problem with your Mouse configurations.
There's still more than just the mouse and settings for variables. The account, connection, server, browser, etc.

On the other hand, it doesn't seem like the button signal is being sent twice, does it? Or they'd get a "this post is a duplicate of one that you have posted in the last X minutes" prompt, wouldn't they? Or is the flood control prioritised when posting?

Melody
November 19th, 2010, 08:26 AM
I know the culprit isn't the mouse settings or I'd be experiencing double click issues everywhere...not just on one site in my browser. :< Common sense people.

I'd think that the flood control kicks in first for some reason...the duplicate post detection isn't kicking in, which I find to be very very strange. (Do we even still have that enabled/installed?)

But anyways, if we could do something to make the flood control dump you at the last page of the thread that'd be nice.

WonderGirl
November 19th, 2010, 08:33 AM
I get the same problem, but it doesn't always happen. Let's say one out of three times.

Sora
November 19th, 2010, 10:31 AM
I think it's the frustration of several people insisting the OP was doing the wrong thing when they weren't. It didn't look terribly personal, anyway.
Use of Bolding, Underlining, and Italics can make people think otherwise, even if all Pachy was doing was just re-establishing the point that he is not double-clicking.

I know the culprit isn't the mouse settings or I'd be experiencing double click issues everywhere...not just on one site in my browser. :< Common sense people.
I seem to remember you asking if you can have the answer as to why this is happening. I simply supplied a plausible answer. Also, I don't think I mentioned the culprit being the mouse setting. I said it was the server, or your internet connection. The same as what pablo just said.

I'd think that the flood control kicks in first for some reason...the duplicate post detection isn't kicking in, which I find to be very very strange. (Do we even still have that enabled/installed?) Yes, the double-posting detection is still enabled. However, I think it kicks in after you try to make a post again after 45 seconds, but before however long it is.

Rukario
November 19th, 2010, 11:13 AM
it's likely me messing with processes and sql queries trying to reduce loads.. if it happens when pc is a bit laggy. otherwise, I'm not sure.. I've not seen this happen except when its a legit double post or 'posting too fast' situation.

Melody
November 19th, 2010, 01:07 PM
It's actually intermittent. It comes and it goes, but doesn't always happen when PC is lagging. More often than not it just happens at random unpredictable times. Though I will admit that it could easily be when you're tinkering with such things that it could happen.

Still I'm not certain why it does that. I highly doubt it's anything on my end, and Steve's tinkering would explain problems server-side, unless it's a transport issue and something is getting replicated on the way over.

Kura
November 19th, 2010, 01:50 PM
It does it to me, too. It's probably BECAUSE of the server.. but at the same time I think it's making the server situation worse.

Elite Overlord LeSabre™
November 19th, 2010, 02:04 PM
What I've experienced with this is it happens when the site is being a bit laggy, but not to the point where it gives a database error. Not that it happens all the time... sometimes it'll lag and still post normally; sometimes it'll lag and give the message. Rarely, however, will it do the warning message thing (for me at least) when PC is running as normal.

Platinum Lucario
November 20th, 2010, 10:23 AM
It's actually intermittent. It comes and it goes, but doesn't always happen when PC is lagging. More often than not it just happens at random unpredictable times. Though I will admit that it could easily be when you're tinkering with such things that it could happen.

Still I'm not certain why it does that. I highly doubt it's anything on my end, and Steve's tinkering would explain problems server-side, unless it's a transport issue and something is getting replicated on the way over.
Hm... maybe I just haven't been posting very much for this to happen, I see that it's a server issue... not anything to do with the internet connection or computer.
it's likely me messing with processes and sql queries trying to reduce loads.. if it happens when pc is a bit laggy. otherwise, I'm not sure.. I've not seen this happen except when its a legit double post or 'posting too fast' situation.
Now that explains why Pachy has been getting these double posts occuring, I see that it is caused by the editing in the database, I think it must be because you edited something in the posting thing... so it sends a duplicate of a post, not just one.