PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] MikeMatt15's Ultimate World Map Hacking guide


MikeMatt15
February 24th, 2011, 02:46 PM
Hello all! You may have read my previous tutorials about world map hacking. Well, I learned a few more things, and I do believe that this is the most reliable way of making world maps and injecting them into your game.

Please note, this is for FireRed and LeafGreen. I do not supply information on Ruby, Sapphire, or Emerald.

The guide download is attached below.

Here are some notes!

Depending on what ROM version you have, you might not be able to find the World Map pointers to re-point, If this is the case, you need to use a different set of pointers. I went through the trouble of finding them out myself.

Click the spoiler for the pointers/offsets. Note before trying to use those pointers, try to use the ones listed in the tutorial for POKEMON FIRE BPRE v1.

POKEMON FIRE BPRE
3F090C - Kanto Offset
3F0B6C - Sevii 1 Offset
3F0C7C - Sevii 2 Offset
3F0D60 - Sevii 3 Offset

0C093F08 - Kanto Pointer
6C0B3F08 - Sevii 1 Pointer
7C0C3F08 - Sevii 2 Pointer
600D3F08 - Sevii 3 Pointer


Oh, and if you want to, I would love to see the maps you are making with this tutorial, so if you want, post it in a comment or attachment. Be sure to warn people of stealing...

montyb
February 26th, 2011, 07:57 PM
Thanks for the template, and the instrucitons are mostly okay, but I followed your video exactly (with my own map of course). Even double checking the sizes as I went. Everything worked fine until NTME, I keep getting:

INFO:

the Tile Map is referring to a Tile No. > amount of tiles in tile set. Do you want to replace this with first tile? (If not then loading will be canceled).

And if I select yes, my map comes out looking like the palette instead of the map itself.

Any ideas as to why this is happening, or a simple fix so I don't ave to redo everything?

MikeMatt15
February 27th, 2011, 04:15 PM
Thanks for the template, and the instrucitons are mostly okay, but I followed your video exactly (with my own map of course). Even double checking the sizes as I went. Everything worked fine until NTME, I keep getting:

INFO:

the Tile Map is referring to a Tile No. > amount of tiles in tile set. Do you want to replace this with first tile? (If not then loading will be canceled).

And if I select yes, my map comes out looking like the palette instead of the map itself.

Any ideas as to why this is happening, or a simple fix so I don't ave to redo everything?

Could you PM me a DL link for the tile set? you're using? Also, if you could explain exactly what you are doing. I will be happy to help.

montyb
February 27th, 2011, 05:40 PM
It's okay. I just put it together like a puzzle... it took a good 4 hours, but i got it working. I think was just that my file size in photoshop was off in one of the steps. Your tutorial wasn't to blame. I screwed up. Thanks again for sharing it.

Edit: Actually, for some reason my hex editor can't find any of the pointers. i have o idea why. I double checkd to make sure I had the right rom too. I don't really know why, they just don't come up.

MikeMatt15
February 28th, 2011, 01:24 PM
Edit: Actually, for some reason my hex editor can't find any of the pointers. i have o idea why. I double checkd to make sure I had the right rom too. I don't really know why, they just don't come up.

Well that's quite odd. What (ROM) version are you using?

montyb
February 28th, 2011, 07:40 PM
fire red BPRE. I don't think it was already altered in some way before hand, but I don't know. That's the only thing I could think of, but I'm not willing to try a clean ROM at this point, i've already done a lot of stuff in advance editor and yape that I don't want to lose. Oh well, I know it's not your guide though, as I tried another one before and had the same problem.

MikeMatt15
March 2nd, 2011, 11:29 PM
fire red BPRE. I don't think it was already altered in some way before hand, but I don't know. That's the only thing I could think of, but I'm not willing to try a clean ROM at this point, i've already done a lot of stuff in advance editor and yape that I don't want to lose. Oh well, I know it's not your guide though, as I tried another one before and had the same problem.

I found the problem. There are two POKEMON FIRE BPRE rom versions. I only listed one of the version pointers, but I took about an hour to find the new pointers for the other version that you apparently have.

montyb
March 4th, 2011, 01:18 PM
oh, I replied to your pm before reading this. if you'd be willing to send me them than that'd be a great help. Thanks again.

MikeMatt15
March 4th, 2011, 06:09 PM
oh, I replied to your pm before reading this. if you'd be willing to send me them than that'd be a great help. Thanks again.

I updated the tutorial with the pointers, and it is also at the top. Tell me if it works! I would love to see a picture of your result!

shinyabsol1
March 8th, 2011, 05:44 PM
This was really a great tutorial. Everything worked to perfection except:

In the bottom right hand corner of my map (in game) there are five blue tiles that aren't supposed to be there. I noticed in your tut that they were on your final product too. Any idea how to fix that? I thought I read something somewhere on the forums about it, but I can't find it...

MikeMatt15
March 11th, 2011, 06:41 PM
This was really a great tutorial. Everything worked to perfection except:

In the bottom right hand corner of my map (in game) there are five blue tiles that aren't supposed to be there. I noticed in your tut that they were on your final product too. Any idea how to fix that? I thought I read something somewhere on the forums about it, but I can't find it...

Now did you notice that blue bar in the corner of the map? Yeah I have yet to come up with a solution to this.

Yeah, I mentioned that in the tutorial too, but I have no idea how to fix this. Also, this happens on hacked title screens...

shinyabsol1
March 11th, 2011, 07:04 PM
Now did you notice that blue bar in the corner of the map? Yeah I have yet to come up with a solution to this.

Sorry, I didn't notice that. Anyways:


open your .raw file in hex editor then add 16 bytes in the end.
the total bytes should be 1216 not 1200.

I found this a little while ago in another world map thread. Apparently, this should fix the problem. I haven't tried it yet because I can't figure out how to insert bytes with my hex editor...

MikeMatt15
March 17th, 2011, 06:16 PM
Okay, well I updated the tutorial a little bit, and well included more stuff in the files I believe, so hopefully this will be the last update for a while...

levister101
March 21st, 2011, 04:30 PM
I cant open the .PAL files... Well actually any of the files in the "Including Palettes" Folder

MikeMatt15
March 22nd, 2011, 05:14 PM
I cant open the .PAL files... Well actually any of the files in the "Including Palettes" Folder

Hmm... What are you using to try to open them?

uber_pineapple
March 24th, 2011, 09:31 AM
A very nice guide, easy to follow and understand. I do have one question though, where can I get the sphere editor?

MikeMatt15
March 28th, 2011, 11:01 AM
A very nice guide, easy to follow and understand. I do have one question though, where can I get the sphere editor?

Google for it, but I will just give you the link...

http://spheredev.org/downloads/sphere_release/sphere-1.5.exe

Simmy93
August 7th, 2011, 01:32 PM
I followed this to the letter, but everytime I do I end up with this.

http://i42.servimg.com/u/f42/15/02/69/18/world_10.png

What am I doing wrong? It is shockingly distressing.

-Simmy

jvpski3
August 11th, 2011, 09:04 AM
Looks good, are you skilled in Advance Map or something like that??? Because that was a great guide;)!

letica13s
February 26th, 2012, 02:34 PM
Is there a way to do the drawing of the map without photoshop? With, say, GIMP, or another image editor?

jabberjabber8
March 29th, 2012, 11:01 AM
Can anyone help me, I'm completely stuck at stage 8, I don't really have a clue what to do. When I draw on the layer mask nothing seems to happen.

monyetswa
July 19th, 2012, 05:09 AM
stuck at stage 8

Happened to me too, It must be from a different version of photoshop.
What I did though is just select an 8x8 pixel section, and make sure it was a multiple of 8 away from the edges. then i filled in that selection with black on the "Routes Background" layer.

In the end, it doesnt matter how you draw the map, as you'll save all the layers as a png.

Now for a question:

In FR, after you play Cinnibar Island, you get invited by Bill to that group of islands with the internet connection problem.

At that point your map gets another button on it for changing maps.

How do you incorporate this into a custom map?
-Draw it of course.
-Then would i cover it with "3" tiles in the NTME pallete editor?
thanks

FrozenInfernoZX
July 21st, 2012, 11:27 PM
I'm creating a map with DP tiles. In that case, what palettes do I use for the in game and unlz?

misterpoor
December 6th, 2013, 01:30 AM
https://24.media.tumblr.com/2e80fd12b93a002e3c6d5a66ce83b289/tumblr_mxdhcvLr8H1somzu8o1_250.png
Please help me! I don't understand the Section 3. I just completed the Section 2 in Drawing Tutorial. Please guide me how to change the color? Thank you very much