PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Are thread ratings really doing a service in Creative Discussions?

seeker
June 10th, 2011, 02:52 PM
Or at all for that matter?

Anyway, my beef is with the fact that we have thread ratings in creative discussions. Personally, I have seen them severely abused, and I know this because my own threads have been targeted by by blatant and unfair lowering in ratings.

So as I seen this going on, I said to myself "Hey, what does this remind me of? Oh yeah, reputation."

I think that thread ratings in Creative Discussions is a really bad idea. Reason being is that everything in there is a form of artwork, more so than the other categories. I am an artist myself, and the last thing I want is a star rating on my work. It's really degrading, and it does not encourage people to actually post. I know from experience that people have rated threads 1 star, and not bothered to comment and say why.

You could say that yeah, I should just ignore them, but they're seriously not being used properly in certain sections in Creative Discussions. I visit all the Art Gallery sections, and I am a frequent poster in Game Development, and I've always disliked thread ratings.

Non-tldr version = I don't think we should have thread ratings in Creative Discussions (or at all), as they are abused and are a lot like reputation. They don't encourage proper criticism in Creative Discussions either.

Thoughts?

Owl
June 10th, 2011, 02:58 PM
I agree, I mean I don't see a point with having them. I've seen/heard of people go on low rating sprees just for the heck of it. We don't need them, they don't mean anything. It just makes the owner of the thread feel like s/he did a crappy job making the thread, when it could just be some random person rating it low for no reason. So why have them?

Oryx
June 10th, 2011, 03:04 PM