PDA

View Full Version : [Question] Debug Item


Derxwna Kapsyla
March 25th, 2012, 09:23 AM
I know this must be a bit of an awkward question to ask, but:
Is it possible to bind the Debug Menu activator to an item? This makes it easier for mobile testing.

Maruno
March 25th, 2012, 01:43 PM
An odd question indeed. Are you suggesting that you want to be able to access the Debug menu while not in Debug mode (i.e. testing it as an actual game)? Why not simply remove the phrase if $DEBUG from the appropriate line in the script section PokemonPauseMenu instead?

For what you want, it is indeed possible. Just stick the following in PokemonItemEffects (the second handler is optional, and used if the item has been registered to the F5 key):

ItemHandlers::UseFromBag.add(:DEBUGITEM,proc{|item|
pbFadeOutIn(99999) {
pbDebugMenu
@scene.pbRefresh
}
next 1 # Continue
})

ItemHandlers::UseInField.add(:DEBUGITEM,proc{|item|
pbFadeOutIn(99999) {
pbDebugMenu
@scene.pbRefresh
}
})
You will probably want to make it a Key Item, otherwise it will be consumed when used.

Derxwna Kapsyla
March 25th, 2012, 06:04 PM
Is there any specific location that I should add it in, such as before "x" line?
Edit: Disregard that, I got it working. However, I ran into an error.

Script 'PokemonItemEffects' line 12: NoMethodError occured
undefined method 'pbRefresh' for nil:NilClass

Maruno
March 26th, 2012, 09:05 AM
Delete the @scene.pbRefresh line - it's actually unrelated to the debug menu.