PDA

View Full Version : Ruby and Sapphire Bug...


usami
December 5th, 2003, 04:27 PM
I'm not sure if anyone knows this but there is a bug in Pokemon ruby and sapphire this is an article on the-magicbox.com (http://the-magicbox.com/):

Nintendo of Japan announced there is a bug in Pocket Monster Ruby & Sapphire for GameBoy Advance, after the game is played for one year, the internal clock function may get corrupted and certain time triggered events may not longer available, such as berry growth and Pokemon lottery. Those who experience the problem can call up the Nintendo Service Center in Japan for a repair.

Just thought i'd metion this.

Kairi
December 5th, 2003, 04:30 PM
I saw this. Pretty surprising actually. They haven't said if it goes ditto for the US versions.

usami
December 5th, 2003, 04:34 PM
I'm hoping its not in the U.S. version but if the Pokemon Of Japan had just found the bug that means theres a pretty good bet its in the USA versions.

Shadow
December 5th, 2003, 04:36 PM
In an archived news article on Pokemon Forever Meowth346 says something about this happening and he said it could be fixed by restarting your game. I don't know if he was talking about the US or Japanese version though.

Sleek
December 5th, 2003, 08:40 PM
wow, meowth is pretty famous underground. i knew one of his friends on gamefaqs. he is a hacker. kool. and i make games. if only i knew him personally....

Hiroshi Sotomura
December 5th, 2003, 10:50 PM
Meowth346 does hack, but he doesn't do anything really bad, like give people a hack. He just searches the games and puts data into his databases.

Sleek
December 6th, 2003, 07:56 AM
i know. i just wish i knew him. he is the type of guy that if he was in the making of lets say red and blu, missigno probably would not be there. if u need me to explain why just ask.

Manta
December 6th, 2003, 11:40 AM
that happened on my crystal game, come to think of it! After about a year, the clock buggered up"

oni flygon
December 6th, 2003, 12:54 PM
after a year the internal battery will run dry? Shoot, what use is colloseum then?

Hiroshi Sotomura
December 6th, 2003, 12:56 PM
Oh? I've had cCrystal for 2 years and nothing but what I did has happened.

Kairi
December 6th, 2003, 12:56 PM
It still saves your games, it just doesnt perform time functions like sales and berries.

oni flygon
December 6th, 2003, 01:15 PM
Oh I see... well better gather up as many berries soon!

Arcanine
December 10th, 2003, 12:14 PM
I hope thay fixed this in the US versions of R/S, but if thay just found out about it in Japan then there is a very good chance that it is in the US version of R/S too.

latios tamer
December 10th, 2003, 05:30 PM
i've never known anyone thats played it for more then 6 months so i don't have that problem

Amras_Calaelen
December 12th, 2003, 01:41 AM
If this is about ingame time 6 months...then those who have it are insane...who would ever have aprox. 4320 hours of gametime on his cartridge? realtime? we are in grave danger...

Rayquaza
December 12th, 2003, 05:49 AM
its only when you play it for over a year orso. And I thought it was something with the realtime battery, but you can charge it when you have a flashlinker.

Amras_Calaelen
December 12th, 2003, 10:12 AM
But still, it's quite a big mistake to maek a game with time-based stuff run out of bateries to create the time-based stuff


and why do we need yet another piece of Hardware to charge it again? Can't it be done in some conventional way without buying new stuff? Aw well, who cares, as long as we have fun with the game :D

Josh
December 13th, 2003, 10:58 AM
I've read about this bug on another message board and it will without a doubt affect the North American Versions of Ruby and Sapphire.

It's 100% true.

Muffin Man
December 24th, 2003, 02:43 AM
oh great, way to go! What next? Exploding catridges?
Why are there so many bugs in these games? I've got an american version, insteaad of english (i got it before anyone else over here :P)
But now I just feel stupid for bying both versions... http://www.computerpannen.com/cwm/cwm/big/firemad.gif
Oh well, atleast It doesn't bugger your game completely, I suppose i can live with it... :\

Altaria
December 24th, 2003, 09:39 AM
Ive almost had mine for a year dammit!
oh well, i hardly use berries and ive got every item from the sale

UmbreonxTrainerx
December 24th, 2003, 12:06 PM
Something simialiar to this happened on my Silver version.I had played it for about a year and then all of I sudden I noticed that My attacks weren't showing up.now that really sucked!

Ntice,after a year or two something bad is bound to happen to your game.

Dragonair
December 24th, 2003, 01:38 PM
Well Its Pretty Hard To Get A Year Total On Cartridge Anyway I Play Alot And I Only Have 100 Hours of Gamplay Time Thats Only Like 3 Or 4 Days Correct??

Easkyla
December 30th, 2003, 12:42 PM
After about 6 months of hard game play, all of the games seem to glich in some way. By hard gameplay, I mean 4+ hours every day. I alwas wonderd about how the clock worked when I took it out...

Easkyla
December 30th, 2003, 12:46 PM
I dont think the games are ment to last. Everyone wants to make a profet, so, they make them to give out after a time that way you but more, and they make a profet. Then ther happy and your tiked becuse you lost all your good pokemon^_^

usami
December 30th, 2003, 01:01 PM
Ive been think about this and thought maybe Nintendo of Japen did it on purpose beacause they wanted you to bye the new game that might come out a year later im just guessing.

K-3.1416
December 31st, 2003, 01:13 PM
I found this:

Update: Game Informer Online has reported on this story with an official comment from Nintendo of America. The company confirms that this bug will also affect the North American version of the game at the one year anniversary of its release, which will be in March. NOA has not announced any sort of recall as in Japan, but there may be action taken in the spring.

I wrotte this in another forum, for you guys that would like to see this post:

http://usuarios.lycos.es/markyo/kapy/Misc/Post.JPG (Pokemex Forum Post)

i think this update was since dec 6, but i still don't know if thats true, and another thing, i think that reseting your game will no have effect on erasing this bug, btw, it's said that the bug will appear one year after the game function (it started around march), so in march 2004, if this is true, all the american gamers will see their game with the bug, it doesn't matter if you started to play it months later march, 'cause in march the games were activated for their sales. Well that's what i know :paranoid:

DeadlyAssassin
January 4th, 2004, 02:53 AM
there's a new Pokemon version (latest version: v1.1) if you guys haven't noticed... I hope the bug isn't in the latest version too! =P

Manta
January 10th, 2004, 11:01 AM
4+ Hours? You Call THAT Hard Game Play??? *snort*

I Play About 6 Hours A Day - MINIMUM!

=P

I MEant A Year REAL Time. About A Year Or So After Getting Crystal, The Time Changed So At 6pm The Time Walud Be 2:48am Or Something O.o And The Time Difference Changed Every Time You Loaded The Game... Strange MMmmm? O.o

*confuzzled*

Berries? MY PRECIOUS LUM BERRIES! THEY ARE NOT SAFE! *hoards*



I Live In England. I Doubt It Will Affect Me...

*hopes*

Latios Master
January 10th, 2004, 11:38 AM
So far nothing bad has happened to my Ruby and Sapphire games. I bought Ruby the day it was released, and I have almost 400 hours of gameplay; and I bought Sapphire in the summer, and it has like 16 hours on it. (I beat the elite 4 in Sapphire with only 15 hours played on my game. :D ) Now I REALLY want Pokemon Box so I can send all my valuable Pokemon to it. Nothing bad happened in my Silver and Crystal games either. The clock stopped in my Yellow version though.

Imakuni?
February 4th, 2004, 06:02 PM
how do we know if we have 1.1

charizard_ma
February 5th, 2004, 03:49 AM
it just the clock that doesn't work not the game ruby is a better game then g/s/c and there is a lot of things to do after the e4 so just keep playing your game that simple

Imakuni?
February 5th, 2004, 01:44 PM
it just the clock that doesn't work not the game ruby is a better game then g/s/c and there is a lot of things to do after the e4 so just keep playing your game that simple

You know thats nice and all but you didn't answer my question.

HOW DO I KNOW IF I HAVE VERSION 1.1?

Furikuri Otaku
February 5th, 2004, 03:02 PM
im sure everyone knows this by now, Jirachi will fix this problem up.
Im almost positive that it will repair the game, in a way.
Im not absolute on this buy im 80% sure

Aniram
February 6th, 2004, 06:25 PM
It doesn't matter if this does happen. First of all...who has even neared the stage of over 3000 hours of gameplay? Even if you do reach this stage, and you're afraid of your precious berries, maybe you should get a job and buy a gameshark or actionreplay or something so you can have your precious berries? I don't think that you're going to miss getting berries the right way after that. Ok? Don't worry about it. When it happens, feel proud of yourself for actually keeping interest in your game for that long and then feel good about cheating your way to grabbing berries.

Imakuni?
February 7th, 2004, 06:36 PM
i wonder if there is an action replay bug fix code

Neb
February 8th, 2004, 01:51 PM
I'm new here, so before I post, I better introduce myself...

Hi, I'm Neb!

Okay, with that out of the way, I may have the solution to this problem. I just got the free bonus disc that you get when you reserve Pokmon Colosseum at Toys R Us last night.

You know, the one that lets you download Jirachi to Pokmon Ruby and Sapphire?

Anyway, when you do this, the game "updates your berry program." I'm not exactly sure what the "berry program" is, but I'm willing to bet that when you download Jirachi, it will fix the problem with the berries in the game.

Reserving Colosseum costs 5 bucks at Toys R Us, and you get the bonus disc right away. Even if you weren't planning on getting Colosseum (which I highly doubt you were :laugh: ) you can still get the bonus disc for $5.00, and then never go back and buy Colosseum.

Hope this helps!

Imakuni?
February 8th, 2004, 06:49 PM
cool but you were supposed to do the newbie dance

ill do it first

**does the newbie dance**

Neb
February 8th, 2004, 07:43 PM
Newbie dance? Uh... okay.

<::does newbie dance in messy room::>

<::trips on empty box::>

Ohh, my head! What a great way to be initiated into the Pokmon Community! Ow!

Muffin Man
February 10th, 2004, 11:59 AM
Hey, go here! (http://pokemonpalace.net/index.php#newsitem1076432413,29502,)
Its a new news update from PPN it says-
"Hey, I just saw on a site, that if you press; Select + B in fire red or Leaf green game, that you can fix your Ruby and Sapphire game, you need to Hook up the 2 games, and put the link cables in both your Ruby/sapphire, and fire red/leaf green games, and then your game will be fixed, With fixed i mean, The time will go on, so berry's will grow again"

Another good reason to buy FR/LG! :laugh:

UPDATE-
go here... (http://)
Its a page on serebii.net with instructions

Lady Umbreon
February 10th, 2004, 12:14 PM
I dunno about it, because I've been playing my Silver and Crystal for way more than a year and I have never experienced any problems with them. Or maybe I'm just not paying that much attention anymore. ^_^;

Muffin Man
February 10th, 2004, 12:25 PM
I dunno about it, because I've been playing my Silver and Crystal for way more than a year and I have never experienced any problems with them. Or maybe I'm just not paying that much attention anymore. ^_^;

uhh...we're actually talking about a ruby/sapphire bug...or have i missed something...i dont think there is a bug in the GSC series...

Cassie-chan
February 10th, 2004, 05:22 PM
It still saves your games, it just doesnt perform time functions like sales and berries.


My brother's Sapphare's time doesen't work, but he can still grow berries. Weird. :\

My brothers game had gone through a fire. Maybe water got in it....

Kairi
February 10th, 2004, 05:35 PM
I got the bonus disc today, but it said it couldnt apply the fix. Maybe because my game is too hacked and its save file came from my computer. X_x;

Computerman45
February 10th, 2004, 05:38 PM
Calm down people, this problem IS fixed with the Pokemon Colosseum bonus disk. When you transfer Jirachi to your game it also fixes this bug. Also the Fire Red/Leaf Green will fix it also.

Imakuni?
February 10th, 2004, 05:57 PM
My brothers game had gone through a fire. Maybe water got in it....


Dear Lord what did he do!?

Cassie-chan
February 10th, 2004, 06:19 PM
Dear Lord what did he do!?


The apartment above us caught on fire. Water ruined most of our games :'( . Thank god my Ruby works fine.*Hugs Ruby*

Imakuni?
February 10th, 2004, 06:29 PM
o <insert random word here> how is that fair ? their apartment burns and your stuff gets wrecked ! that stinx

Cassie-chan
February 10th, 2004, 06:39 PM
Yes, it does stink. I am happy I could buy new games w/ my allowence.

Imakuni?
February 11th, 2004, 03:42 PM
whew! i never have any money...