PDA

View Full Version : Mozilla's Firebird's Icon is changed? What?


Haruka
December 6th, 2003, 05:16 PM
http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gif

Yet again, if you are using Firebird... then you better comment about this..

Mozilla Organization had decided a new icon... yup... it's true.. I think....

http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gif is the same comsept as Microsoft Internet Explorers. well, shouldn't they make better icons for a good browser for everyone to use, or just use that one?

DragonTrainer
December 6th, 2003, 05:31 PM
I don't use firebird, so this doesn't apply to me.

BTW, what is firebird exactly?

Haruka
December 6th, 2003, 05:36 PM
http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird is a next generation internet browser... it surpasses IE so http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifar... :P
:-/.. Why a new icon... :-|

DragonTrainer
December 6th, 2003, 05:42 PM
Hmm, does it cost money?If it doesn't, I may check it out.......if it does, I don't feel like paying for two interne services

Haruka
December 6th, 2003, 05:46 PM
Hmm, does it cost money?If it doesn't, I may check it out.......if it does, I don't feel like paying for two interne servicesNo, http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird is http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifree

Timbjerr
December 6th, 2003, 05:47 PM
why does a new icon matter?

it is the same service as before...no one complained when Burger King or Taco Bell changed their logos recently...why would it matter?

Haruka
December 6th, 2003, 05:52 PM
why does a new icon matter?

it is the same service as before...no one complained when Burger King or Taco Bell changed their logos recently...why would it matter?
It resembles too much like the E icon for Internet explorer. it's not orginal.

Timbjerr
December 6th, 2003, 06:00 PM
It resembles too much like the E icon for Internet explorer. it's not orginal.
so?

it is good for competition, and what's good for competition is good for profits. Kinda wierd how it does that, but it does...

just like Pepsi and Coke...they are competitive and use similar colors (red and white) but they both make lots of money...

Hiroshi Sotomura
December 6th, 2003, 10:55 PM
They haven't applied the icon to the Mac OS X Version...
And Firebird is definitely going to get a bigger rating later on estimated 2005, as Explorer won't be for the Windows platforms free anymore. Get IE 6 before you can, and people like Shadow (who want to stick with Windows 98) will have to stay with IE 6.

Firebird is free. Internet Explorer will no longer be updated for use on older Windows OSes or other platforms. It will be intergrated into Longhorn.

Don't stay with web-slowing Explorer. Get technology-added-everyday-Firebird!

DragonTrainer
December 7th, 2003, 05:55 AM
Where can I go to download said Firebird?I can't find it anywhere

EDIT-Ok, I downloaded it, but how do I install it?

Kairi
December 7th, 2003, 07:34 AM
Just unzip it to a folder, and double click the flame icon. You dont have to install it, it just lives in whichever folder you extract it to.

Haruka
December 7th, 2003, 08:02 AM
and also make a shortcut to make it a easy access.

DragonTrainer
December 7th, 2003, 10:16 AM
OK, I will do that

and thanks for the help.:)

Haruka
December 7th, 2003, 10:22 AM
You're welcome..

They should make a installer for 0.7 though.

DragonTrainer
December 7th, 2003, 11:30 AM
Lol, I have another problem

I got Firebird and all, but when I try to get on a site it says,"Page could not be reached, please try again."Every single time, and I can't seem to get on any sites with it.What do I do now?

Shingo`
December 7th, 2003, 12:49 PM
I Am Using FireBird Right Now To Post This

Editor initialized for Mozilla in 0.004 seconds.

DragonTrainer
December 7th, 2003, 12:57 PM
Man, you are lucky

I am trying to get Firebird to work, but it keeps saying that the site can't be reached

Shingo`
December 7th, 2003, 01:03 PM
I've always used:
Safari
Mozilla
Firebird
Thunderbird

Haruka
December 7th, 2003, 01:53 PM
Lol, I have another problem

I got Firebird and all, but when I try to get on a site it says,"Page could not be reached, please try again."Every single time, and I can't seem to get on any sites with it.What do I do now?
You have to configure http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird to a proxy.. Just copy the Proxy Settings from internet actions to http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird's Prefrences.

Timbjerr
December 7th, 2003, 01:53 PM
hmm...IE is working just fine for me, but I wanna know what makes Mozilla browsers better than IE?

Arcanine
December 7th, 2003, 02:01 PM
You have to configure http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird to a proxy.. Just copy the Proxy Settings from internet actions to http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird's Prefrences.Haruka do you post with the FireBird icons or is it just my computer. (look below)

Haruka
December 7th, 2003, 02:06 PM
Yes... I use it for empsis... well, expression... :P

Kairi
December 7th, 2003, 02:09 PM
Eww, Arcanine your font is not smoothed. >.< To each his own, and yes she is posting with the Firebird icons. ^_^; Even in IE It looks that way.

Arcanine
December 7th, 2003, 02:12 PM
Eww, Arcanine your font is not smoothed. >.< To each his own, and yes she is posting with the Firebird icons. ^_^; Even in IE It looks that way.
Ok then is she posting just the icons or the name firebird?

Haruka
December 7th, 2003, 02:14 PM
Ok then is she posting just the icons or the name firebird?
And that http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gif icon is the offical http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird icon for the windows verson of http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird.

DragonTrainer
December 7th, 2003, 02:23 PM
Haruka, how exactly do I configure that thing?If you could, could you please post step-by-step instructions?

Thanks for all the help

Kairi
December 7th, 2003, 02:32 PM
I dunno, are you on broadband or Dial-up? I dont know how to work dial-up, havent used that fossil technology in years. ^_^;

DragonTrainer
December 7th, 2003, 02:35 PM
Yes, I have dial-up....and I dislike it

But, can anyone help, even though I have dial-up

mewthree w/armor
December 7th, 2003, 07:32 PM
Just unzip it to a folder, and double click the flame icon. You dont have to install it, it just lives in whichever folder you extract it to.

I'm not meaning this as a diss for Firebird, but not being able to install Firebird is whats going to cause it to be unsuccessful (no matter how good it is), and partly why I sent it immediately to the trash can after unzipping it. I personally like a nice clean installation, and keeping those folders on the desktop is not going to work on my computer due to it being the family computer and everybody can mess with everything. Basically what Im getting down to is its not stupid proof. Now dont get me wrong, I like some of the features in Mozilla, but its just to complicated for the person with limited computer skills i.e. dad and brother.

I dunno, are you on broadband or Dial-up? I dont know how to work dial-up, havent used that fossil technology in years. ^_^;

When ya got no other options it's better than nothing, and ya never know when ya just might end up back on it.

Haruka, how exactly do I configure that thing?If you could, could you please post step-by-step instructions?

There should be no configuration; it should automatically work after unzipping it and clicking the icon, unless youre running on some kind of Proxy or behind a really fancy firewall.

Shining Arcanine
December 7th, 2003, 07:39 PM
http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifirebird is a next generation internet browser... it surpasses IE so http://mozilla.org/images/ico-fb.gifar... :P
:-/.. Why a new icon... :-|

Firebird is not a mature web browser. There are glitches that aren't going to be fixed until after 1.0 comes out. I do not advise using it yet.

They haven't applied the icon to the Mac OS X Version...
And Firebird is definitely going to get a bigger rating later on estimated 2005, as Explorer won't be for the Windows platforms free anymore. Get IE 6 before you can, and people like Shadow (who want to stick with Windows 98) will have to stay with IE 6.

Firebird is free. Internet Explorer will no longer be updated for use on older Windows OSes or other platforms. It will be intergrated into Longhorn.

Don't stay with web-slowing Explorer. Get technology-added-everyday-Firebird!


Or just upgrade to Longhorn and witness a whole new computing experience surpassing everything Microsoft has created before. Even Windows XP which already blows away the competition.

Hiroshi Sotomura
December 7th, 2003, 09:04 PM
Well I think that is'a all opn all a different story for users of other platforms.
Internet Explorer will be behind for a while.

mewthree w/armor
December 8th, 2003, 05:18 AM
Or just upgrade to Longhorn and witness a whole new computing experience surpassing everything Microsoft has created before. Even Windows XP which already blows away the competition.

The corporation that's more powerful than the US Government just keeps getting better and better. Can't wait for Longhorn. :D

DragonTrainer
December 8th, 2003, 05:20 AM
There should be no configuration; it should automatically work after unzipping it and clicking the icon, unless you’re running on some kind of Proxy or behind a really fancy firewall.

Yes, I am running behind some sort of proxy, but I can't seem to fix it

Can anyone help me? :(

Shining Arcanine
December 8th, 2003, 08:06 AM
Well I think that is'a all opn all a different story for users of other platforms.
Internet Explorer will be behind for a while.

It still makes for speedy browsing with my 10MBit/sec connection. ^_^

Kairi
December 8th, 2003, 08:19 AM
It still makes for speedy browsing with my 10MBit/sec connection. ^_^Anything will browse that fast with that connection. I like MYIE2 being an IE shell with a lot of features, and since it shares IEs cookies and whatnot I can use Nortons Web Tools. I mean, I have about 20 cookies I do want to save, and an infinite amount of ones I dont. Norton was wise and created that Web Clean. It lets you choose the cookies you dont want to be erased, and cleans the rest. Also like IESpell (www.iespell.com), a neat little program. Cant go on enough about MYIE2 features either. Although I like Firebird, these few things make it hard to switch. Plain IE I havent used in ages, except for Windows Update of course.

mewthree w/armor
December 8th, 2003, 09:23 AM
DragonTrainer, did you go in and enter the Proxy settings in Mozilla it's self?

Dizzy
December 8th, 2003, 11:17 AM
Still need help DragonTrainer? I think i might be able to help you, my cousin has dial-up and she uses Mozilla Firebird and Thunderbird.

Haruka
December 8th, 2003, 12:40 PM
Firebird is not a mature web browser. There are glitches that aren't going to be fixed until after 1.0 comes out. I do not advise using it yet.



Or just upgrade to Longhorn and witness a whole new computing experience surpassing everything Microsoft has created before. Even Windows XP which already blows away the competition.
You're saying, we should dish out 299 dollars for Longhorn in 2005?

Well, I am saying, IE is just horrible... It would be nice if MS add a tabbed browsing freature.

Kairi
December 8th, 2003, 02:24 PM
You're saying, we should dish out 299 dollars for Longhorn in 2005?

Well, I am saying, IE is just horrible... It would be nice if MS add a tabbed browsing freature.
I plan to get Longhorn, but not for IE. Longhorn has some very interesting prospects, but thats off the topic of browsers.



I do need tabs bad, as I look at 200+ topics a day on The Pokmon Community, so tabs are very nice. I know I could group IE windows on the start bar, but its better just to have one instance of the program and multiple tabs. Remember I am used to that old 256 RAM clunker downstairs, my 2 GB of RAM is still so amazing to me. ;p The old 256 one would slow down with a few IE windows and Trillian open. I cant get this one to slow down if I tried. @_@:

DragonTrainer
December 8th, 2003, 02:29 PM
Mewthree, I keep trying to fix the proxy, but nothing happens

Dizzy, sure, thatt'd be great if you can help me!

Haruka
December 8th, 2003, 03:16 PM
Well, Firebird uses 30 MB of my precious memory!!

I think Firebird has a memory leak.. -.-

DragonTrainer
December 8th, 2003, 05:26 PM
Seriously, can anyone help me?I hear so many good things about this, but I need to get it to work

I will give you a cookie!

Dizzy
December 8th, 2003, 05:59 PM
But why should we all use Firebird Alyssa? Because its better? I mean, even if it does use up lots of memory, it has a built-in popup blocker, Tabs for easy one window viewing, you can change the themes on this browser ( something IE never had). Mozilla Firebird is better, as is the Thunderbird Mail Client.

Sure DragonTrainer what may I help you with?? ^_^. If its about the Proxy you should really use IMAP if you can since AOL and Netscape(TM) use a similar Mail system. I can help you out with it by PM if you want.

DragonTrainer
December 8th, 2003, 06:01 PM
OK, I will Pm you for help so I won't clutter this thread

Haruka
December 8th, 2003, 06:07 PM
Well, a 30MB chunk of 384MB is alot of memory... Ouch... I am sticking with IE.... or prehaps Avant Browser.

DragonTrainer
December 10th, 2003, 05:21 AM
Unless you have a whole bunch f stuff on your comuter, 30MB isn't too much to pay for one of the best Internet Browsers

Kairi
December 10th, 2003, 07:28 AM
Shes talking about RAM I believe, not hard drive space. I have 2GB so you know; I can run everything out of my RAM. ^_^ I turned off Virtual Memory, dont need it. Turned off Automatic Updates, indexing, etc.



Its the same reason she cant use Trillian too well. I could use it fine on 256 on the old computer though, so maybe give Trillian another try with your 384MB now? Just be sure you dont have a bunch of junk processes running in the background. A lot of kids tend to do that, I see their taskbars like a mile long with stuff running. X_x;

Haruka
December 10th, 2003, 02:39 PM
Shes talking about RAM I believe, not hard drive space. I have 2GB so you know; I can run everything out of my RAM. ^_^ I turned off Virtual Memory, dont need it. Turned off Automatic Updates, indexing, etc.



Its the same reason she cant use Trillian too well. I could use it fine on 256 on the old computer though, so maybe give Trillian another try with your 384MB now? Just be sure you dont have a bunch of junk processes running in the background. A lot of kids tend to do that, I see their taskbars like a mile long with stuff running. X_x;
The problem, I have a stupid processor... I hate Celeron Processors!

Imakuni?
February 12th, 2004, 01:09 PM
i hate mozilla firebird... ><

Kairi
February 12th, 2004, 01:10 PM
Please stop reviving such old topics.make new ones if you want further discussion