View Full Version : How do you Playthrough Each New Video Game?

Miss Doronjo
March 21st, 2013, 9:55 AM
What I mean from the title is, let's say that you've just purchased a brand new video game that you have never played before.

Would you prefer that new game blindly, or, at some point, would you rely on a guide for some help on a part that you might get stuck on? On that note, do you consider using guides in games "cheating", or just a way of assistance? Or does it simply depend on the game itself? If you have other thoughts you'd like to share, feel free to!

March 21st, 2013, 12:19 PM
If it's my first time playing, I like doing it Blind. That way when everything unfolds it's a surprise to me, and keeps me playing.

In later playthroughs, I'd do some fun stuff though, like in Persona 4 Golden doing an Only Izanagi run.

March 21st, 2013, 1:14 PM
Blind. Just me and the video game. If I get stuck in a game for a while and I want to keep playing, I might look at a guide. Relying on guides or walkthrough make the playthrough much less entertaining for me.

Princess Sandshrew
March 21st, 2013, 2:42 PM
I will start blind and continue this way unless I get really stuck and need a a hint in the right direction.
I also use guides to help me remember where I am in the game after taking a long break from play, this is pretty much exclusive to RPGs for me, otherwise I would rather replay the game than continue having forgotten what has happened previously.

After the first playthrough I will use a guide to help collect all the optional/collectible things that I missed the first time around.

Sweets Witch
March 21st, 2013, 3:18 PM
Blind the first time, but after that I reserve the right to use any guide I want because I'm not wasting a ton of time trying to figure out where collectibles are. That's how I play through visual novels. The first time I just see which ending I get naturally, but after that I skip all read text and use guides to get 100%.

Ephemeral Euphoria