PDA

View Full Version : [Essentials script] Updating game although the game window is not selected


Peaverin
September 4th, 2013, 05:33 PM
I saw in the Essentials suggestions post that someone asked for creating a new game.exe that doesn't stop updating the game while the window is minimized. Luckily, I remember that I saw that in a brazilian forum. By the way, this script also works with normal rpg maker xp projects.

Here's a video demonstration (tested with my current project).
I put a link because if I directly put the video with the youtube tags it doesn't work(at least for me)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIm6zUbTMDU

Anyways, here's the modified game.exe and the set-up tutorial. It has compatibility with Win32API based systems, so it will work with Pokemon Essentials. Read carefully all the steps:

-First of all create a security copy of your project! This should be done everytime you add something new to your project. You never know if you're downloading something that can corrupt your game!
-Download the new game.exe and replace it with your actuall game.exe. Link:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/56100890/RPGMakerRandom/Game.exe
Note that some antiviruses and even your explorer can say that this file contain virus etc... You decide what to do but I can say I'm 100% it won't damage your computer.
-Then create a new script ABOVE ALL YOUR SCRIPTS! It's just one line but you'll need to put it:
cidi_dk_set_window_proc
-There's a problem: if you don't select the game window, it will be still updating but the input will be still working. To fix this just put this script above main:
module Input
class << self
alias cidi_dk_alias_update update
def update(*args)
return unless $WindowRunning
cidi_dk_alias_update(*args)
end
end
end
-Finished! Test it and it should work without any problem!

Note: I wouldn't implement this "system" in my project until i haven't it finished for a release. I'm not sure if it may cause problems with the compiling system(maybe it works fine, but just in case...).

CREDITS TO:
Cidiomar (a brazilian scripter)
I don't know if the scripter gives the permission of posting that in other forums. I asked him about doing it but it seems that he is no longuer active.
I don't want to be disrespectful to him, so here's a link to the original brazilian forum post:
http://aldeiarpgbr.forumeiros.com/t4612-gameexe-que-nao-para-enquanto-minimizado-atualizado

Peaverin
September 6th, 2013, 07:47 AM
hey man, thanks for the virus -_-
This doesn't contain any virus man... I'm sure you haven't at least tried it.
PD: Guys, this post has had 300 views and just 1 noob comment... Please comment if you liked it!

Alexandre
September 6th, 2013, 11:26 AM
hey man, thanks for the virus -_-
No virus and works as advertised.

Thanks for this Peaverin, was looking for this exact thing the other day, is very useful for my project.

Luka S.J.
September 27th, 2013, 05:57 AM
I tested this out a while ago. The only problem there is with this method, is that the viewports get cut off at 640x480 if they are larger than 640x480. Meaning that you can't change your screensize to anything bigger than that. But since Essentials works at 512x384, that's not a problem - only becomes one to those who customize their stuff. I haven't looked into why that happens yet. If I find something, I'll post it here.