PDA

View Full Version : Here goes nothin'.

Arise
September 4th, 2013, 06:05 PM
Hi there. You can call me Elise or Arise. I live in the United States and have Asperger's Syndrome. I am a self-diagnosed social phobic. I am afraid of people and what they may be thinking of me, and also afraid of embarrassing myself or sounding stupid in a social situation. Because of my social phobia, I have very little experience with forums. I have signed up on other Pokemon forums, but this one felt the least intimidating to actually post on. However, with that said, this is my first time making a thread, and it's terrifying. Even though communication makes me extremely anxious, I am hoping that by taking this first step, I can get myself to talk to people just a little bit, because as much as I try to deny it sometimes, I do get lonely. I think Pokemon might be a good doorway into getting some social experience.

I got into Pokemon in the 90's, when it was all the rage in the US. I watched the anime and had a bunch of merchandise (mostly toys), but since I didn't have a GameBoy (my first console was a PSOne, when I was 10-12 years old), I was never introduced to the video games. The only Pokemon game I ever played was Pokemon Snap at someone's house, which I loved. I outgrew the anime during the Johto season, so much so that I thought Pokemon was stupid. Many years later, my nostalgic feelings for my favorite Pokemon Mew were beginning to rekindle my interest in the franchise, and I decided to try Pokemon SoulSilver. The games are fun, and I don't think I'll be retiring from them for a long time. I am super excited for X and Y, they're like my childhood fantasies of a Pokemon game, especially with the ability to ride Pokemon. I plan to get X since I love Xerneas' design. All I need now is a Pokemon Snap 2!