PDA

View Full Version : Computer/OS Talk


Pages : 1 [2]

Kairi
January 7th, 2004, 12:44 PM
I'd rather pay $50 more and get 9,000 more songs on it. They probably would have to drop the mini another 50~100$ to make it a deal over the plain iPod.

Hiroshi Sotomura
January 7th, 2004, 12:52 PM
It's already $50 less, do you reckon it should be $199 instead? Maybe it makes sense...

Shining Arcanine
January 7th, 2004, 06:06 PM
But, wouldn't new techology will raise prices on computers?

I'm sure that Intel will use it as an excuse to raise prices. SATA and PCI Express shouldn't cost more than the currently employed technologies through. MS will keep prices the same. I'm not sure what everyone else will do through. Prices will go down over time through.

Btw, LCD monitor prices are going up so if you want to get a good deal, buy now.

http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/category.aspx/dj?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs

You might like that, it compares Dell Digital JukeBox to Ipod. Unless the AAC format offers higher compression than the WMA format, they should store the same amount of songs. Apple has been known for given their products better specifications as to what they can do (G5 PPC Processor vs P4 comparsions anyone?). Also the WMA format can compress songs with the same quality at half the bitrate of MP3s (at the same bitrate, the compression is better than MP3 compression) so I would think that the 20GB Dell Jukebox can hold more songs than the 20GB iPod. That is excluding ACC from the formula. I don't have a macintosh so I can't convert an MP3 to both formats on both systems to compare the file sizes.

Not to mention that (assuming a CD holds 15 songs) you can store well over 600 CDs (4900 divided by 15) on the 20GB Dell Jukebox and can purchase it for a much lower price.

Arwen
January 7th, 2004, 06:17 PM
Also, I read... Dell Jukebox supports Voice Recording. :P

Shining Arcanine
January 7th, 2004, 06:25 PM
Also, the battery life is rated for 16 hours and users don't threaten to sue Dell over its Jukebox:

http://neowin.net/comments.php?id=16268&category=main&highlight=

Arwen
January 7th, 2004, 06:31 PM
Thats why I don't want and like a iPod... :P...

*sighs* Bad quality and too expensive.

Hiroshi Sotomura
January 7th, 2004, 08:44 PM
AAC: MPEG4 Quality
Curiously, is the Dell Jukebox compatible with Macs?
WMA is a format only Windows users can create. AAC is a cross-platform (and QuickTime usable) and it's done in .m4a format. (mpeg4aac)
What connection does the Dell Jukebox use? Have they licensed Firewire? Apple will probably be using Firewire 800 format. For Windows it's Firewire and USB 2.0.

Shining Arcanine
January 8th, 2004, 02:14 AM
MPEG4 is a video specification meant to build upon MPEG2. It does not have anything to do with audio.

Dell only makes Windows and sometimes Linux computers. It has never supported Macintosh to my knowledge.

I never checked but I don't know why the connection matters after a certain point since the Hard Drive and CD Rom drive can't keep up with a high speed link to begin with.

Hiroshi Sotomura
January 8th, 2004, 12:40 PM
QuickTime uses MPEG-4 video and compresses it with AAC audio. You still get great quality out of it.

Mac OS isn't supported? iPod has voice recording with a Belkin Voice Recorder. Really, I was wondering how it used connections. Firewire 400? 800? USB? USB 2.0?

Shining Arcanine
January 8th, 2004, 01:28 PM
I'm refering to audio formats. iPod's tiny display is not suitable for video, nor is Jukebox's.

Btw, I would think it would be USB 2.0, call Dell and ask since I'm not quite sure about the interface and OS support.

Kairyu
January 8th, 2004, 01:48 PM
AAC: MPEG4 Quality
Curiously, is the Dell Jukebox compatible with Macs?
WMA is a format only Windows users can create. AAC is a cross-platform (and QuickTime usable) and it's done in .m4a format. (mpeg4aac)
What connection does the Dell Jukebox use? Have they licensed Firewire? Apple will probably be using Firewire 800 format. For Windows it's Firewire and USB 2.0.
It can be, but its the software that needs to be compatible with mac. So, no I don't it would work. Besides I think the Dell Jukebox only uses usb 2.0, no firewire connection in there

A little side note, my comp stats:
Pentium 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0GHz 800MHz FSB 512KB Cache
Desktop Board D875PBZ - Intel 875P Motherboard
1GB DDR SDRAM PC-3200 - 2 x 512MB Module
GeForce FX 5950 Ultra 256MB 8x AGP w/DVI & S-Video
120GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 Serial ATA 7,200 RPM 8MB Cache
Lite-On 52x32x52x CD-RW
Samsung 52x24x52x16x CD-RW/DVD Combo Drive
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS - 7.1
NEC 19" MultiSync FE991SB Flat CRT
Creative MegaWorks THX 2.1 250D speakers

Hiroshi Sotomura
January 8th, 2004, 01:58 PM
Wow! A good machine you have there.

AAC has an advantage over MP3 at filesize, but I can't test WMA without Windows Media Player itself (I can use Virtual PC though).

Arwen
January 8th, 2004, 02:10 PM
Eek...... Everyone have better machines than me... I use cheap, slow machines.... which I don't like....

Shining Arcanine
January 8th, 2004, 07:06 PM
Wow! A good machine you have there.

AAC has an advantage over MP3 at filesize, but I can't test WMA without Windows Media Player itself (I can use Virtual PC though).

You could read what MS says about it:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/9series/codecs/audio.aspx

And look... uh... listen to their audio quality demos:

http://windowsmedia.com/9series/DemoCenter/AudioQuality.asp#

The quality of 20kbps MP3s is pathetic... 20kbps WMA quality is superb. I can barely tell a difference from the source.

Btw, I compared a few WMAs to the MP3s from MS's site and the MP3s are smaller... From what they said, I thought WMA was supposed to offer better compression. I guess they meant it is an excellent mix of compression and quality. I wonder if the Dell Jukebox can save at 64kbps.

Hiroshi Sotomura
January 8th, 2004, 07:42 PM
WMA is getting popular. AAC is trying to become a spread format, unlike MP3, which is a big format (and APC Mag [Australian Personal Computer Magazine] says it's the worst of some of the best). WMA encoding appears to be limited to Windows Media Player though, but it is, after all, bundled with Windows XP.

Shining Arcanine
January 9th, 2004, 02:32 AM
Microsoft offered to allow 3rd parties use the Windows Media codecs with their software for I think it was 25 cents an installation. Meaning linux/macintosh software can support it as long as MS is payed 25 cents per a download.

jbritz22
September 1st, 2004, 01:28 PM
LoL, I guess I should post my specs here huh? Well here goes nothing...

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows 98 SE
OS Service Pack None
Internet Explorer 6.0.2800.1106 (IE 6.0 SP1)
Computer Name OEMCOMPUTER

Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Pentium III, 600 MHz (6 x 100)
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Intel 82440BX/ZX
System Memory 256 MB (PC133 SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (06/07/00)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro
3D Accelerator nVIDIA RIVA TNT2 M64
Monitor Super VGA 1280x1024

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Cirrus Logic CS4281 Audio Accelerator

Storage:
Floppy Drive GENERIC NEC FLOPPY DISK
Disk Drive GENERIC IDE DISK TYPE47
Disk Drive hpz
Disk Drive IEEE-1284.4 Compatible WDM Mass Storage Device (HPH11)
Disk Drive IEEE-1284.4 IOS Port Driver (HPH11)
Optical Drive HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-5000 (8x/40x DVD-ROM)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8525B (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)

Partitions:
C: (FAT32) 19452 MB (8376 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
Mouse A4Tech PS/2 Port Wheel Mouse

Network:
Primary IP Address Shouldnt have ip address on here lol.
Primary MAC Address 00-50-FC-21-E5-67
Network Adapter PPP Adapter.
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC (207.195.109.102)
Modem Lucent Win Modem

Peripherals:
Printer hp photosmart 7350 series
Printer Visioneer Color
Printer Visioneer
USB Device photosmart 7350


And best of all, I can run freelancer at high settings, 1024x768 and get good gameplay. And same with jedi academy, except I have to run that at a lower resolution.

Sakura and Espeon
September 1st, 2004, 07:16 PM
Please don't bring up old topics that have been over a moth old. ^_^

jbritz22
September 1st, 2004, 08:00 PM
I didnt want to post a new topic about computer specs, sorry. :D ^_^

Hiroshi Sotomura
September 1st, 2004, 08:19 PM
>_O; Do we want to keep this topic open? If not, it shall be closed. But being relatively big, I don't see why we can't bend the rule.

Not my decision, though, it's completely up to a forum leader. (And I dunno what to decide.)

Sakura and Espeon
September 2nd, 2004, 08:34 AM
Well, if the forum leader decides to bend the rules, atleast move it to computer discussion forum. o.O

Kairi
September 2nd, 2004, 10:22 AM
I think since we have a computer forum now, it’s largely unnecessary. This thread was mostly discussing specs and OS news, both of which could have their own topic in the new forum. ^_^;