PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Editing Events in AdvanceMap (Noob tutorial)


Hedgehogger
February 19th, 2007, 07:58 PM
This tutorial explains how you can make events in Advance Map (Not how to edit text or make scripts), such as an eternally respawning item, make someone else say and/or do what another person/sign in the game does, making warps, and making hidden items. Most of these techniques aren't really that important, but, they do majorly help if you're trying to put certain people or rare items in another part of the game.

First and foremost, if you want to make an event from scratch, go down to the list that shows number of Warps, Scripts, Signposts, and people, and change the number(s) to the one you want, re-point, and follow the steps below. (Make sure to have the Show sprites button toggled so that it shows the event by its type, marked with a letter.)

To make a person say or do what another person does, you have to find the person you want to "copy" and copy all of the data (unknowns, Script offset, People ID) to another person, be it that you edited them or made them from scratch. If it worked right, that person should now do or say the exact same thing as the one you copied. This technique also can be used to make pokeball items appear in places they weren't before. And, if you want a pokeball item to respawn forever and ever, you might need to change either the first unknown variable to "00", or the people ID to "0000". Best advised to play around with it to find out how it affects different pokeball items.

The exact same can be said for Signpost events, which are also sometimes hidden items. Only problem is, you can't make a hidden item respawn forever.

If you want to edit Warps, find the Bank/Map (The number before the "." and the number after the ".") of the map you want the warp to lead to and paste it into the Warp's Bank/Map data. (Useful for looking ahead to check areas you edited later on in the game)

That was educational, wasn't it? No? Well, hope it has helped anyway.

Lyzo
March 18th, 2007, 10:59 AM
uuum if i want to make a new map in littleroot. you know it already has 6 others.

1= the whole map of littleroot itself
2= the inside of your own house
3= the 2nd floor of your own house
4= the inside of May's house
5= the 2nd floor of May's house
6 = Pro. Birches Lab

Now here comes the qeustion "if i want to make a 7th map how do i do that?"
Or can i not do this?

I am using advance map thx in advance!!!

Christos
March 18th, 2007, 11:12 AM
uuum if i want to make a new map in littleroot. you know it already has 6 others.

1= the whole map of littleroot itself
2= the inside of your own house
3= the 2nd floor of your own house
4= the inside of May's house
5= the 2nd floor of May's house
6 = Pro. Birches Lab

Now here comes the qeustion "if i want to make a 7th map how do i do that?"
Or can i not do this?

I am using advance map thx in advance!!!

This has nothing to do with the tutorial. You could post it in the simple questions.
But if you meant for the warp part you can make one more warp with AM and make it lead to a new map.

Dogboy2709
March 18th, 2007, 12:05 PM
Needed do i, i want to make an Extra Warp in Prof. Birch Lab. and i really don't understand it.

Tony Resta : English Boss
March 19th, 2007, 01:40 AM
Hi, i have a problem, ive added a new house to pallet town and ive made it so it can warp you to the interior of a house in viridian, everything works fine BUT the problem is that when i get out of the house, it spawns m in viridian and not pallet, how do i make it spawn me in pallet?

Hedgehogger
March 19th, 2007, 02:48 AM
Needed do i, i want to make an Extra Warp in Prof. Birch Lab. and i really don't understand it.

I could help you with the warp, but, does it warp to an existing map, or to one you created from scratch?

Hi, i have a problem, ive added a new house to pallet town and ive made it so it can warp you to the interior of a house in viridian, everything works fine BUT the problem is that when i get out of the house, it spawns m in viridian and not pallet, how do i make it spawn me in pallet?

You would need to change the bank/map of the warps in the house to match those of Pallet Town's, and not Viridian City's.

dgfragile
March 30th, 2007, 02:25 PM
I'm using advancemap, I have a meowth and I want to edit the script offset but I don't know how to. Can someone please help?

Christos
March 31st, 2007, 03:32 AM
I'm using advancemap, I have a meowth and I want to edit the script offset but I don't know how to. Can someone please help?

In events view tab, click on a person and at the right of the window change the offset.

bobpickle
March 31st, 2007, 06:47 AM
Dont mean to be a bother

How do I create new scripts for the new events i have created?

Hedgehogger
April 1st, 2007, 03:23 PM
Dont mean to be a bother

How do I create new scripts for the new events i have created?

To create new scripts, you need to use a program called ScriptED that comes with EliteMaps's bonus programs along with Christos' tutorial.

Midnight Beat
April 7th, 2007, 07:41 AM
When working in pallet town, I moved the scripts for when oak takes you to his lab. But when you walk in to them he appears at the origanal spot and the hero walks through the trees.

Hedgehogger
April 7th, 2007, 10:37 AM
When working in pallet town, I moved the scripts for when oak takes you to his lab. But when you walk in to them he appears at the origanal spot and the hero walks through the trees.

Did you edit the map at all? That may be why he walked through the tree. If you want to change Oak's movements, you'll have to edit his script using Raw Code. (PM Christos or another experienced scripter to learn about it.)

jack276
June 2nd, 2007, 05:02 PM
hi, I have a few questions.
1. i have some made from scratch maps and i dont know how to join them together,
2. how do i create warp points,
5. how do i put legendary pokemon into my maps,
4. how do i put things like cuttable trees into my maps.
could you help me with these please.

Hedgehogger
June 2nd, 2007, 06:28 PM
hi, I have a few questions.
1. i have some made from scratch maps and i dont know how to join them together,
2. how do i create warp points,
5. how do i put legendary pokemon into my maps,
4. how do i put things like cuttable trees into my maps.
could you help me with these please.

1. When you say join them together, do you mean implement them into the game, or connect them together. To insert them, go to Insert Map, and put in the bank and map of where you want it to be. To connect them together, go to the connections of both maps, pick the direction they connect each other in, and put in the bank and map of the other map.

2. You create warp points by going to the Events menu, and change the number of warps to the number you want.

5. (WTF shouldn't this be 3?)Put legendary pokemon on your map by copying the offset of a legendary pokemon in the game, pasting it to a new event (Or already existing event) in place of the offset, and change the sprite number to make it the legendary pokemon you want it to look like.

4. Same as 5 (Or 3), only copy the tree's script offset and change the sprite into a tree.

<~F.M.P~>
June 4th, 2007, 05:54 PM
I can't find pokemon offsets were do i get them so i can create legendary battles and other things like that?

jack276
June 7th, 2007, 01:27 PM
hi, thanks for the tips before but i am still having trouble with connecting my maps. i have implemented them into my rom and connected them together in the order i want them to be in, but when i play the rom the maps are not connected? i am extemely new to hacking and I have probably missed out something obvious.
any suggestions will be a great help and once again thanks for the help before.

Christos
June 7th, 2007, 11:00 PM
Have you checked the connection adjustment?
If you make it "0" then if the two connected maps have the same height or width they will be connected fine.

jack276
June 8th, 2007, 01:59 AM
i have checked the connection adjustment and i am not sure on exactly how to use it but i have tried a few different things and its not working
EDIT ok i have figured it out, but i have another question.
how do i make it so that when i warp out of a building into a town i come out of that building and not another one?

Short Range
June 8th, 2007, 04:26 PM
I have a few questions...

1. When I go to copy the cuttable tree data from another one on the road below Pewter City, the trees aren't there. The ROM was clean and had not been tampered with in anyway.

2. I tried to make an extra house in Pallet Town but in the game when I try to enter the house the screen goes black but the music is still playing. And yes I am 100% sure that the warps are set correctly.

3. I added more people to Pallet Town but I can't get them to say anything. I also can't find them in Advance Text. Am I supposed to copy another person from Pallet Town's script and then edit it in Advance Text?

4. How can I edit what Legendary Pokemon appears when I press A on it?

Thanks...

axlefoley
June 9th, 2007, 06:20 AM
this is a good little tut. Though before reading this I had added a new map a new gym and stuff to Pallet town (But gave after trying to get some of the scripting needed to work) But this is good.

Christos
June 9th, 2007, 06:23 AM
i have checked the connection adjustment and i am not sure on exactly how to use it but i have tried a few different things and its not working
EDIT ok i have figured it out, but i have another question.
how do i make it so that when i warp out of a building into a town i come out of that building and not another one?

The warp number should be the same in both warps, the house's inside and the building's.

Short Range
June 20th, 2007, 12:36 AM
People seem to be ignoring me around here...

<~F.M.P~>
June 20th, 2007, 04:41 PM
Where Do I Get Pkmn Offsets So I Can Make Legendary Battles?

Sevilithe
July 7th, 2007, 06:05 PM
To get pokemon offsets you have to find the map with the legendary pokemon on it like Regice for an example. Now add another person to the map you want regice to be on and change the sprite to regice. now take the scriptoffset from regice and add it to the new one, and viola!

Short Range
July 7th, 2007, 06:31 PM
1. When I go to copy the cuttable tree data from another one on the road below Pewter City, the trees aren't there. The ROM was clean and had not been tampered with in anyway.

2. I tried to make an extra house in Pallet Town but in the game when I try to enter the house the screen goes black but the music is still playing. And yes I am 100% sure that the warps are set correctly.

3. I added more people to Pallet Town but I can't get them to say anything. I also can't find them in Advance Text. Am I supposed to copy another person from Pallet Town's script and then edit it in Advance Text?

4. How can I edit what Legendary Pokemon appears when I press A on it?

Hedgehogger
July 9th, 2007, 01:50 PM
1. When I go to copy the cuttable tree data from another one on the road below Pewter City, the trees aren't there. The ROM was clean and had not been tampered with in anyway.

2. I tried to make an extra house in Pallet Town but in the game when I try to enter the house the screen goes black but the music is still playing. And yes I am 100% sure that the warps are set correctly.

3. I added more people to Pallet Town but I can't get them to say anything. I also can't find them in Advance Text. Am I supposed to copy another person from Pallet Town's script and then edit it in Advance Text?

4. How can I edit what Legendary Pokemon appears when I press A on it?

1. You can't see the trees in Advance Map? Click on the button of the Trainer next to the "Insert Map" button to show the sprites, if that's what you mean.

2. I'm not sure about that one; the same thing happened to me when I used to hack LG. I think the Warp may work if you edit an already-existing map.

3. You have to make a script from scratch (See Christos' scripting tutorial) and compile it to the rom and change their offset in Advance Map.

4. Once again, you need to use a Wildbattle script for that. I posted a sample Wildbattle script in the Rom-Hacking Resource; you just have to edit the Celebi's byte to the one of the Pokemon you want to appear in the Wildbattle command.

redragon
July 10th, 2007, 02:55 PM
Hi, I just want to know how to make your starter start in a different town.
Thanks

tomdotcom4
July 12th, 2007, 02:38 PM
I want to make a cave in route 102 in ruby. I need to make a whole new map for the cave, and i have no clue how to do that. I know how to edit a map, but i dont know how i could add a whole new map into the game. I also would then need to make a warp from the cave entrance at route 102 so that it goes to the new map i want to create.

redragon
July 12th, 2007, 07:53 PM
On advance map, click on the picture of a coner of a house, in the top left, kinda, and the one that says, NEW, and when you're done, click INS to put it somewhere.

Short Range
July 12th, 2007, 11:05 PM
1. You can't see the trees in Advance Map? Click on the button of the Trainer next to the "Insert Map" button to show the sprites, if that's what you mean.

2. I'm not sure about that one; the same thing happened to me when I used to hack LG. I think the Warp may work if you edit an already-existing map.

3. You have to make a script from scratch (See Christos' scripting tutorial) and compile it to the rom and change their offset in Advance Map.

4. Once again, you need to use a Wildbattle script for that. I posted a sample Wildbattle script in the Rom-Hacking Resource; you just have to edit the Celebi's byte to the one of the Pokemon you want to appear in the Wildbattle command.

I can't thank you enough. You have been "Friended"! :D

But where is the tutorial?

Shade
August 10th, 2007, 09:33 AM
Ummm. In Ruby I moved the main persons house and he walks in the exact same spot as he did before I edited the rom how can I change where he walks? Please help me out.:\

ShadowScizor
August 12th, 2007, 07:16 AM
This is kinda confusing, but how do you insert the script from another rom, like Rayquaza from Ruby onto FireRed?

spenceroone3
September 9th, 2007, 11:19 PM
copy and paste it into whatever it is you use to compile scripts, and compile it somehow.

Morrissey
September 13th, 2007, 12:39 AM
I have the same question as that chap, Shade...

Ummm. In Ruby I moved the main persons house and he walks in the exact same spot as he did before I edited the rom how can I change where he walks? Please help me out.:\

1. I'd like to know how to edit the entire script that occurs after the player exits the moving truck in the very beginning of the game. (i.e. the player's mother herding the player into the house, setting the clock, watching your father on television.)

2. How might one incorporate setting the clock directly after naming the main character. In the end I simply like the player to exit the truck and watch it drive away.

3. What programs will I need to even attempt this hack and where might I attain them? (I already have Elite Map, Starter Map, and Advance Map.)

(is there somewhere I should be asking this or finding out on my own? if so...link?)


I really appreciate all the help so far...I'm pretty much asking for someone to wipe ma' butt..I know, but without you all helping I'd be prancing about with RPGM2K3 still.

Hedgehogger
September 14th, 2007, 06:40 PM
I have the same question as that chap, Shade...



1. I'd like to know how to edit the entire script that occurs after the player exits the moving truck in the very beginning of the game. (i.e. the player's mother herding the player into the house, setting the clock, watching your father on television.)

2. How might one incorporate setting the clock directly after naming the main character. In the end I simply like the player to exit the truck and watch it drive away.

3. What programs will I need to even attempt this hack and where might I attain them? (I already have Elite Map, Starter Map, and Advance Map.)

(is there somewhere I should be asking this or finding out on my own? if so...link?)


I really appreciate all the help so far...I'm pretty much asking for someone to wipe ma' butt..I know, but without you all helping I'd be prancing about with RPGM2K3 still.

1. Well, you'd have to wipe all scripts (And potentially all people events involved) and re-write your own scripts in their place for what happens when you step out of the truck. I can't elaborate on how to go on from there because the rest is up to you, regarding Map Script placement.

2. I don't think anyone's able to edit the script so it brings that up after naming the player. I mean, even if you did find Birch's script offset and edit it up a bit somehow, I think that the rom still could crash or freeze for a number of reasons, if you could get lucky enough to access the data.

3. Well, if you want programs to successfully make a hack, I recommend looking at the "Any good programs?" (Or something like that) thread, in the Rom Hacking section. (I'd link it, but it wouldn't be too hard finding it.)

shivaramakrishnan
June 16th, 2008, 04:09 AM
I have edited a hacked pokemon game "crystal shards" i created a small house at the bottom and linked it to an entire new area. i saved it and played it with my vba. whenever i go into that new place i created, the game restarts. why? plz u gotta help me, someone............... :(.................
also one more question..........
how to create a pokemon centre?

by the way,........how do you edit the words in signposts.....where its written as "oak's lab" or something.........how to do it with, am?

Pokemonking345
June 16th, 2008, 12:18 PM
Can anyone plaz give me a step by step instruction on how to make warps that work? and can anyone post a link to a good script editor thing plz?