PDA

View Full Version : [Tutorial] Advanced Ruby title screen editing


Epsilon
August 11th, 2007, 10:26 AM
Oh, maybe some (ore alot :P) words are misspelled,
because i'm dutch :P
Oh, and you got to have a little experience to do this :P
Introduction: (READ!)


Before you start,
some screenshots are from dutch programs,
but i think that should't be a problem.
This tutorial works for:
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/7789/badgerubyzy1.png

Tools needed:
Emulator (Best if VBA is used)
Unlz
graphics editor (best if paint is used)
A little bit of pixel experience.
And if you want to edit pallete you need: APE
A clean ruby rom

This tutorial shows you how to change
the titlescreen in ruby, including
palletes etc.
This is what result you can achieve with this guide:
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/3476/rubytitlehj9.png

STEP 1: Palette editing:

Oke, first up pallete editing.for this you
need a emulator and Advance Pallete Editor and maybe UNLZ.
Now open pallete editor, and open your rom.
http://img49.imageshack.us/img49/7429/ape1kc7.png
Now enter this ofset:
00393210 and click 'load'
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/1940/ape2qz1.png
You wil now get the groudon pallete,
i'm importing a lucario pallete:
http://img49.imageshack.us/img49/6876/ape3qc3.png
If you want to use another pokemon, open unlz and
find the pokemon, and use the pallete offset located
above, open it with APE and export.
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7636/screen3av5.png
(if you load it with APE be sure to click this:
http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/4765/thiswb6.png)
If you like you're new pallete click replace
and you have changed your palette!

So if you came through that part ,
you're now edting the groudon and other things.

STEP 2 : Graphic editing (HARD!):
First open UNLZ, and open your rom.
Now for example, if you used the pichu pallete,
you need to remember this number:
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3167/screen3oy6.png
Now goto number 78, paste the number you remembered earlier,
into the textbox next to the button 'select pal' and click that
button. now click 'save as' And enter a filename.
now open the file with paint and edit it.
for example:
http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/3264/beforeafteryt2.png
Now import the edited image,
and hopefuly you've got a working titlescreen.
If this is to hard i recomend you to go to this thread:
http://pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=80975
Good luck!

O.G. Duke
August 19th, 2007, 11:22 PM
A question here...The pallete I insert the offset into the APE is not the same with the pallete of the pokemon....

shadowboy166
August 20th, 2007, 06:02 AM
I normaly do fire red hacks but i might do a ruby one because i now know how to do this and because technicly ruby has day and night

D-Trogh
August 20th, 2007, 06:27 AM
Ah, I was planning to do a tutorial like this too..
Anyway.. Titlescreen editing isn't hard at all.. if you know how to work with tilemaps..
If you use Cyclone you could make it easier..
Anyway, for the spelling you could use spelling-checkers though ^^

jdogpwnz
August 20th, 2007, 02:59 PM
erm didnt really make sense for me?

O.G. Duke
August 20th, 2007, 03:23 PM
Can anyone answer my question?

Epsilon
August 21st, 2007, 04:21 AM
A question here...The pallete I insert the offset into the APE is not the same with the pallete of the pokemon....

You could use the coulour picker, and fill in the RGB.

O.G. Duke
August 21st, 2007, 04:40 AM
Thanks! It works now! Its my careless just now...I didn't mark the compress thing...

Epsilon
August 22nd, 2007, 06:23 AM
Anouncement:
I'm maybe doing part 2 of this tutorial that tells you how to work with tilesets and tilemaps.

mackoo
August 24th, 2007, 02:03 AM
But I always have Compressed size is too big" - what do let it be good?

Epsilon
August 24th, 2007, 07:08 AM
But I always have Compressed size is too big" - what do let it be good?


The image has to be smaller or just as large as the previos image. But if thar is many unneccesary transpaprant background.
You can shrink it, But make sure you can divide the dimensions by eight.

tank-poker
August 25th, 2007, 06:48 AM
I'm very sure i'm doing everything correctly, but when i import my edited image of groudon onto unlz.gba i write it. Then when i open my rom it just shows a black screen.
But for some reason i cant put my pics on any site.

tank-poker
August 25th, 2007, 07:57 AM
Well i re did it and its better this is what happened when i re did it

Please look at it. Im in need. Please help.

The picture of my prob is attached

Epsilon
August 25th, 2007, 08:10 AM
READ!

This is what i replied to tank-poker, might be helpful
for alot of you that readed this tutorial.

Better for you if you just look at the other ruby title screen editing tutorial. But i can tell you what's wrong. Yuo see, in order to save space for the rom, gamefreak used tilesets and tilemaps. The tilesets ar the graphics, and the tilemaps tell the emulator (or you're console) how the tilesets need to be ordered. And the tilesets are made out of tiny bits, that are named tiles (8 by 8 pixels) So you just edited the tileset. But my next turorial shows you how to make tilemaps. And the messed up colours ar just because you didn't edited the pallete. Ore when you writed to the rom it showed that the data was to big. (You cant import an image that's bigger than the original).

And if you don't understand a word i'm saying you just have to look at the other tut. Or start with simpler things.

~Dai-kun~
August 29th, 2007, 04:44 AM
I think when you typed 78 it was 79 because I went on goto 78 and theres nothing like how you said so I clicked next and found the groundon sprite.

destinedjagold
August 29th, 2007, 06:28 AM
Hi Cronos..,

I forgot to thank you for this thread, and when I tried it for the first time, I really changed the title screen of my hack!

Thank you so much!

Epsilon
August 29th, 2007, 08:38 AM
I think when you typed 78 it was 79 because I went on goto 78 and theres nothing like how you said so I clicked next and found the groundon sprite.


For some reason it's different in every rom. Mine is at 78, but someone elses is at 80 ?

Dr.Razor
August 30th, 2007, 09:54 AM
How do you make the palette of the lucario?

D-Trogh
August 30th, 2007, 11:33 AM
For some reason it's different in every rom. Mine is at 78, but someone elses is at 80 ?The numbers differ per dump, that's all.
Just look for them yourself when you don't find it at the specified number..

shadowboy166
September 26th, 2007, 08:36 AM
Well i tried ages ago but i couldn't tell you because of internet problems. Anyway it worked perfectly after rearranging the tile map in cyclone. Anyway it is alot easier in cyclone so people just wait for part 2 if you get random rubbish.

rsr13
October 1st, 2007, 02:53 AM
Does somebody know's to how to change birch in te intro??:D

duskull_seviper
October 7th, 2007, 10:55 AM
Thank you, this helped me a lot!

BurstX
October 20th, 2007, 01:17 PM
i dont know why but every time i try to write it to the rom it says its to big help

Nytkoi
October 21st, 2007, 06:56 AM
Great Job My game will be better than ever with this!!

Binary
October 22nd, 2007, 03:11 AM
This is a very helpful tut Cronos,
It was really helpful
Now ive learnt something new about rom hacking although i already know other stuff

BurstX
October 22nd, 2007, 12:07 PM
hello does any one wanna help me with my problem, i mean this tut is great but i cant get the stupid thing to work

ROMan
October 24th, 2007, 01:22 PM
Very nice! Very nice! I'll try to get used to doing this hence the "Advanced" in the title makes it pretty hard...

~Poke~
April 27th, 2008, 03:16 PM
img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=jirachititlescreenresulre4.png

How do i change the red bar at the top!!!!????

Blazichu
April 28th, 2008, 04:09 AM
No need to revive month old threads...

*Locks*