• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Forum moderator applications are now open! Click here for details.
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

I'm a Web Developer, how do I get better at design?

KingCharizard

C++ Developer Extraordinaire
Years
As the title say, I'm a developer(programmer) I'm looking to make some cash on the side from templates, but my designs always look old and dated, stuff you could design with html tables. I want to modernize my design skills without actually copying other designs. I can draw, but I can only draw others ppls work. I have trouble coming up with original art, and the same seems to be happening with my designs.

So What I'm asking is do you guys know any sites, books, articles, anything to help me improve my design skills and become a better designer.

Pichu2Pikachu2Raichu

Yep, that's me
Years
Mate, first tables <tr.> are getting old now but are still widely used. Believe me I am a expert on HTML. ;)

Might I recommend you try going to a web based web design school. And most of them are free, just Google it. I don't use them so yeah....

As for helping you with designing, look for fresh inspiration by thinking about what people HAVE NOT done already, that's how I go about designing my websites, and I have a few good CSS ideas too.
But this is the one thing I can't help you with :( if you ever need help with HTML, PM me.

KingCharizard

Years
Mate, first tables <tr.> are getting old now but are still widely used. Believe me I am a expert on HTML. ;)

Might I recommend you try going to a web based web design school. And most of them are free, just Google it. I don't use them so yeah....