Thread: Quick Question
View Single Post
Old September 3rd, 2012 (10:25 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
Nico Nico Nii!~
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Otonokizaka
Age: 25
Posts: 17,475
Your league leader is wrong in this instance. The attack does not say "in order to use this attack" when mentioning the discard cost. Here's the ruling from the compendium over at PokeGym:

Q. If Zoroark uses "Foul Play" to copy Reshiram's "Blue Flare" attack, what happens if I don't have have any Fire Energy attached to Zoroark?
A. The damage amount is done regardless of whether Zororark has any Fire Energy attached to it or not, but if you have one or two Fire Energy attached to Zoroark you must discard them. (Black & White FAQ; Apr 28, 2011 PUI Rules Team)

Original vector used for avatar credit to /u/judealonzo01 on Reddit via /r/SchoolIdolFestival
GIF credits to an unknown individual for original; machomuu for resizing
Avatar Featuring Nico Yazawa from Love Live! School Idol Festival
Signature Featuring Nico Yazawa and Maki Nishikino from the same series
Reply With Quote