View Single Post
Old September 15th, 2012 (5:32 PM).
Hiroshi Sotomura's Avatar
Hiroshi Sotomura Hiroshi Sotomura is offline
Administrator CS
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 15,854

You're invited to celebrate the PokéCommunity's 10th Anniversary.
The 10th Anniversary Get-Together starts September 24.

What is the Get-Together?

This month, the PokéCommunity turned 10 years old! To celebrate this important milestone, get together with your favorite band of members and mingle with entirely new ones - the Get-Together is aptly named for being a community event where everyone is invited to get together! (There's that word again.)

The 10th Anniversary Get-Together runs for seven days. It commences from midnight (Eastern Daylight Time) on September 24 and finishes up at 11:59 PM September 30.

For the fourth consecutive year of the Get-Together, as with every other year we've a swag of member-run events for everyone to participate in; we've done our best to cater for a good bunch of the many things you might be interested in! As with every Get-Together, we've also got the traditional chat thread happening - a place to chat and chat, moreso about the past 10 years!

Events will take place in a dedicated event forum which you will be able to see from midnight on the 24th of September. Mark the calendar and be sure to attend!

Those times in other areas of the world:
Hawaii 6:00 PM Monday September 24
West Coast: 9:00 PM Monday September 24
Central: 11:00 PM Monday September 24
London: 5:00 AM Tuesday September 25
Berlin: 6:00 AM Tuesday September 25
Tokyo: 1:00 PM Tuesday September 25
Sydney: 2:00 PM Tuesday September 25


Core Events
Anniversary Chat Thread
Join the celebrations and discuss PokéCommunity's 10th anniversary, among other things!

If you don't have a microphone and would rather real-time conversation, then join the booming chat on PokeCommunity's IRC channel.

Do you like the sound of your own voice? Do you like the sound of everyone else's voices? If so, then the Skype event is for you.

iCan sketch the best! Draw Pokémon-related things and see how quick others can guess them without too many hints!

Creativity Events

10-Year Banner Collab
Collaborate with other members to help put together a new 10-year style!

Slogan Contest
After 10 years you'd think it's time for a new slogan...

Singing Contest
Just missed out on winning the X-Factor? That sucks! Here's a singing contest for you to win instead.

Design-a-Pokémon Event
Have an interesting Pokemon design you've had locked away for the last year? Now's the time to show it off!

Prettiest Profile Contest
Do you consider yourself a master profile designer? Now's the time to prove it.

Map-off Event
Do you think you make great maps? Show them off and for others to judge!

Roleplay Event
Just participated in the RPO's? Can't get enough of roleplaying? Luckily there's another roleplaying event for you!

Writing Event
Sharpen your pencils, or open up Word and write based on a given theme!

Art Contest
Artists, gather your pencils and get ready to draw in the Art Contest!

Graphics Contest
Is Photoshop your best friend? Time to spend some more time with it in the Graphics Contest.

Photography Contest
Do you love taking photos? Any photographer can enter and show what they've captured!

Sprite Contest
Skilled at using pixels? If so, get ready to sprite!

Song Parody Contest
I wanna be the very best, like no member ever was. Love listening to parodies? Try to come up with one yourself in the Song Parody Contest!

Caption Contest
Caption a picture with the most amusing captions and win.

Pokémon Anime Snapshot
Take a snapshot of the Pokemon anime, then try to match it with the given theme.

IRL Pokemon Snapshot
Do you ever feel like Pokemon are around you? Maybe they are! Take a photo of things in real life that represent Pokemon (like mushroom = Amoonguss) and earn points to win.


Scavenger Hunt
One clue leads to another, think you can finish the hunt?

Competitive Battling Tournament
Are you excited about the new Black 2 and White 2 metagame? Time to show your skills as a battler!

Complete a challenge in-game as fast as you can!

Egg Swap
Think you're good at trading? Let's see how fast you really are and see who can swap the most eggs in the set period of time!

PC History Quiz
Do you remember when...? Now's the time to start remembering! The person with the best memory wins a special prize. ;)

Trivia Contest
Test your skills on all sorts of general trivia, which may even include Pokémon!

Minecraft Event

Gaming Events - Team Fortress, Borderlands, etc
A selection of PC and Xbox Live games you can play, available here.

Retro Gaming Event
If you love retro games like Pacman, then this game will keep you busy over the celebration period.

Crossword/Word Search/Pokemon Pairing Word Game
If you spend your weekend doing crosswords, then you're probably going to want to participate in this event.

Other Events

PokéCommunity highs
Sit back and recall your greatest times here as we touch down on 10 years!

Impersonate Lerroux
Oh no, Lerroux is back to cause trouble! Oh wait, no, it was just a PokéCommunity member impersonating him.

Shiny Pokémon Raffle
If you have rare shinies, consider donating a few to go into the raffle. You never know what you'll end up with!

Movie Nights
Hungry for both popcorn AND movies? Then the Movie Nights should satisfy that craving!

2012 © Poké Featuring designs by Kip.
Reply With Quote