The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old February 5th, 2007, 02:37 PM
Deokishisu's Avatar
Deokishisu
Mr. Magius
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed

Advertise here
Thank you. I have another question now. When I cross the border to another map, an event from the first map is duplicated. The person then disappears when I walk farther away and reappears when I go back. I don't know what happened... Can this be fixed?
  #52    
Old February 5th, 2007, 05:59 PM
Glitchfinder's Avatar
Glitchfinder
Let's all get along, please?
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Twilight Zone
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
I have an... interesting question. If I manually expand the number of bytes in a ROM, (say, double them), add data to the new area in the ROM, and then create an ips patch of that ROM, will someone be able to successfully patch that onto the original game's ROM? (For example, if I did it to Firered, would someone be able to do it to patch it to firered and play it?)

Also, I was wondering if anyone had a list of the Hex numbers of all the attacks in the Advanced generation. I can't find that anywhere, even at places with hex numbers for everything else.

Last edited by Glitchfinder; February 5th, 2007 at 06:37 PM.
  #53    
Old February 6th, 2007, 07:25 AM
Christos's Avatar
Christos
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Nature: Serious
Send a message via Skype™ to Christos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
Thank you. I have another question now. When I cross the border to another map, an event from the first map is duplicated. The person then disappears when I walk farther away and reappears when I go back. I don't know what happened... Can this be fixed?
It's the same with tilesets, you shouldn't put the events at the sides of the maps when's there's a connection or that will happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitchfinder View Post
I have an... interesting question. If I manually expand the number of bytes in a ROM, (say, double them), add data to the new area in the ROM, and then create an ips patch of that ROM, will someone be able to successfully patch that onto the original game's ROM? (For example, if I did it to Firered, would someone be able to do it to patch it to firered and play it?)

Also, I was wondering if anyone had a list of the Hex numbers of all the attacks in the Advanced generation. I can't find that anywhere, even at places with hex numbers for everything else.
If you increase the ROM size it won't be changed if you make a patch and patch it on a Fire Red ROM. The changes under 16MB will be applied on the ROM when you patch it.
__________________
pair | pc viruse | dave
  #54    
Old February 6th, 2007, 08:31 AM
Alistair
Donator Tier 2
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 23
Nature: Quirky
What are the behavior bytes for ledges?
__________________
No signature to be found here...
  #55    
Old February 6th, 2007, 08:40 AM
Shiny_Latios's Avatar
Shiny_Latios
Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 21
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
Is there a way to have bigger trainer overworlds usein overworld editor
__________________
White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
  #56    
Old February 6th, 2007, 08:48 AM
Christos's Avatar
Christos
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Nature: Serious
Send a message via Skype™ to Christos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiny_Latios View Post
Is there a way to have bigger trainer overworlds usein overworld editor
OE can't edit sprites' sizes so if you want to make the size bigger you have to hex edit.
__________________
pair | pc viruse | dave
  #57    
Old February 6th, 2007, 09:05 AM
dreemxweever's Avatar
dreemxweever
Full fledged auto mechanic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: U.S.
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
mmkay.. i need this question answered ASAP.. its a matter if hack or no hack
does anyone know how to change the beginning sprites with prof. elm and hero on G/S/C?
if so PM me immmeediatly.. i need to know.. just leave instructions..
we'll give you credit in the hack
__________________
Soul Silver FC: 5199 5025 6011 (battle me!)
  #58    
Old February 6th, 2007, 09:27 AM
dakelland12's Avatar
dakelland12
fire type master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to dakelland12
how do i insert sprites that i have made?
__________________
HI come and join my forum you will love it there is lots of thing that you might like to do here is the link to the forum feel free to join and please do join. POKEMON EVOLUTION

looking for good hackers to join.

Mod note: Size 6 text is not allowed.
  #59    
Old February 6th, 2007, 11:12 AM
Colin's Avatar
Colin
TotW spriter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Must I tell you?
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I've asked but before nobody answered.
How do I change the music for FR?
What is the easiest way to insert tiles?
__________________
The members of my Team:Me(Head of team), ash2000(Mapper).

Check out http://shibuyah-kun.deviantart.com/ to see my latest sprite work.
  #60    
Old February 6th, 2007, 11:35 AM
Christos's Avatar
Christos
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Nature: Serious
Send a message via Skype™ to Christos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin View Post
I've asked but before nobody answered.
How do I change the music for FR?
What is the easiest way to insert tiles?
1. You can use Sappy to edit the music.

2. You can insert tiles with unLZ GBA or Advance Map. It's easier with Advance Map, search for how to insert tiles with AM in the thread.
__________________
pair | pc viruse | dave
  #61    
Old February 6th, 2007, 11:37 AM
Shiny_Latios's Avatar
Shiny_Latios
Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 21
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos View Post
OE can't edit sprites' sizes so if you want to make the size bigger you have to hex edit.
How do you do that and pallete sprites in a hex editor as i have one but don't know how to use it and if possible a link to a tutorial for how to use a hex editor
__________________
White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
  #62    
Old February 6th, 2007, 11:46 AM
Christos's Avatar
Christos
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Nature: Serious
Send a message via Skype™ to Christos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Patch View Post
What are the behavior bytes for ledges?
Advance Map doesn't have behavior bytes for the blocks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiny_Latios View Post
How do you do that and pallete sprites in a hex editor as i have one but don't know how to use it and if possible a link to a tutorial for how to use a hex editor
Palette sprites? To change the size you have to go to the overworld sprite's offset find where the size is and change it. In the OE ini file there's the hero's overworld sprite offset.
__________________
pair | pc viruse | dave
  #63    
Old February 6th, 2007, 11:53 AM
Shiny_Latios's Avatar
Shiny_Latios
Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 21
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos View Post
Advance Map doesn't have behavior bytes for the blocks.



Palette sprites? To change the size you have to go to the overworld sprite's offset find where the size is and change it. In the OE ini file there's the hero's overworld sprite offset.
thanks what i mean is to pallete a sprite to insert with hex editor and can i have a tutorial to use a hex editor
__________________
White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
  #64    
Old February 6th, 2007, 12:21 PM
Glitchfinder's Avatar
Glitchfinder
Let's all get along, please?
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Twilight Zone
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos View Post
It's the same with tilesets, you shouldn't put the events at the sides of the maps when's there's a connection or that will happen.



If you increase the ROM size it won't be changed if you make a patch and patch it on a Fire Red ROM. The changes under 16MB will be applied on the ROM when you patch it.
So, you're saying that the data after the end of the original ROM won't get patched? If that's true, do you know how I can make it so that the data WILL get added?
  #65    
Old February 6th, 2007, 02:01 PM
Superkid11's Avatar
Superkid11
Covered in Shroomish
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
ScriptED won't work for me. I try to veiw something's script in Elitemap but it doesn't show anything...
__________________
  #66    
Old February 6th, 2007, 03:53 PM
userpr's Avatar
userpr
Quilava Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
yeah 1)im having problems with rs ball, when ever i try dumping the gfx bank or even look at trainer/pokemon backpicks it says: trainer/pokemon backpics location is not specified in INI. how can i fix this and if its not fixable is there another program that can do this for me.
2) In advance-map whenever i try making a new map it just overwrites already existing maps, so am I doing anything wrong or what?
thats all for now thanks in advance and if it makes any difference im working on emerald.
  #67    
Old February 6th, 2007, 04:29 PM
Deokishisu's Avatar
Deokishisu
Mr. Magius
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos View Post
It's the same with tilesets, you shouldn't put the events at the sides of the maps when's there's a connection or that will happen.
The thing is... that event was nowhere near where it was duplicated. It wasn't near the edges of the map. (Does 10 tiles away count?) I don't know what to do but edit the map to make the connection farther away from that area and I don't want to do that unless neccessary. Is there any way it can be fixed?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superkid11 View Post
ScriptED won't work for me. I try to veiw something's script in Elitemap but it doesn't show anything...
Put the ROM in the same directory as Elitemap and ScriptEd. That should fix it.
  #68    
Old February 6th, 2007, 04:56 PM
dreemxweever's Avatar
dreemxweever
Full fledged auto mechanic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: U.S.
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
asking again.. anyone answer plzzz
how do you change the beginning sprites in G/S/C
professor Elm, Hero, etc...
plzzz tell me
__________________
Soul Silver FC: 5199 5025 6011 (battle me!)
  #69    
Old February 6th, 2007, 05:05 PM
Deokishisu's Avatar
Deokishisu
Mr. Magius
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: If I'm online, it's a safe bet I'm at a computer.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreemxweever View Post
asking again.. anyone answer plzzz
how do you change the beginning sprites in G/S/C
professor Elm, Hero, etc...
plzzz tell me
Do you mean Overworlds or Intro sprites?
  #70    
Old February 6th, 2007, 05:18 PM
dreemxweever's Avatar
dreemxweever
Full fledged auto mechanic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: U.S.
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
the intro sprites.. you know, like Elm that says "welcome to the pokemon world..." bla bla bla.. the larger ones
__________________
Soul Silver FC: 5199 5025 6011 (battle me!)
  #71    
Old February 6th, 2007, 05:28 PM
Superkid11's Avatar
Superkid11
Covered in Shroomish
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
Put the ROM in the same directory as Elitemap and ScriptEd. That should fix it.
It IS in the same directory.
__________________
  #72    
Old February 6th, 2007, 11:29 PM
phshfe's Avatar
phshfe
OLD MAN HACKER
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
I downloaded Amplifier 2006 from Scizz's tool site,

It has an option to select English as language.

Everytime I try to select English I get this message:

Run-time error "13"
type mismatch

Any idea what I am doing wrong.

Or how to fix it.

Looks to be a wonderful program, I just can't read German.
  #73    
Old February 7th, 2007, 01:11 AM
ash2000's Avatar
ash2000
Beginning Trainner/Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Pacific
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by phshfe View Post
I downloaded Amplifier 2006 from Scizz's tool site,

It has an option to select English as language.

Everytime I try to select English I get this message:

Run-time error "13"
type mismatch

Any idea what I am doing wrong.

Or how to fix it.

Looks to be a wonderful program, I just can't read German.
You have to put VB runtime in the same folder.
__________________
  #74    
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:12 AM
Christos's Avatar
Christos
Project Shinx
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spain, Went's room
Nature: Serious
Send a message via Skype™ to Christos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superkid11 View Post
ScriptED won't work for me. I try to veiw something's script in Elitemap but it doesn't show anything...
Some scripts won't load with ScriptED. Messages and short scripts do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by userpr View Post
yeah 1)im having problems with rs ball, when ever i try dumping the gfx bank or even look at trainer/pokemon backpicks it says: trainer/pokemon backpics location is not specified in INI. how can i fix this and if its not fixable is there another program that can do this for me.
2) In advance-map whenever i try making a new map it just overwrites already existing maps, so am I doing anything wrong or what?
thats all for now thanks in advance and if it makes any difference im working on emerald.
1. The pkmn backpics should have been extracted, you can't extract trainer backpics.

2. Create a new map with Advance Map and finish it. Then choose "Insert" and insert it in a new spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deokishisu View Post
The thing is... that event was nowhere near where it was duplicated. It wasn't near the edges of the map. (Does 10 tiles away count?) I don't know what to do but edit the map to make the connection farther away from that area and I don't want to do that unless neccessary. Is there any way it can be fixed?
Can you show me a screenshot of the duplicated event?
In the top and bottom edges 5 blocks and left and right edges 7 blocks.
__________________
pair | pc viruse | dave
  #75    
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:27 AM
Blazin
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Hi, I'm new at ROM Hacking and just have a couple of quick questions which have probably been answered dozens of times but I cannot find the answers most likely because their is so much to look through.

1. How do you create new pokemon sprites, both for in battle and full image.
2. How do you add the sprites into the game.

Sorry if this has been answered many times and I am just a nuisance, but I have taught myself how to use advanced map and a few others pretty effectively and have learnt from what i have read so I appreciate it.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.