Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] [Repost | R/S/E/FR/LG] How to change Pokémon sprites (Beginners guide)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old April 9th, 2007 (08:56 AM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is online now
chase is my favourite
Moderator, BSCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,430
Quote originally posted by kaz:
i kept pressing next but and im at 1500 but i still only see a mess of colors
Try opening your ROM again and see if the pokémon's palettes are fine.
If they're still messed up then your ROM is probably corrupted, try another one.
__________________
  #77    
Old April 11th, 2007 (03:54 PM).
dhame dhame is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 8
Whenever...I write a sprite on the game. the image is okay however the backround is the color i saved it as. How do i get rid of the backround?
  #78    
Old April 11th, 2007 (06:08 PM). Edited April 13th, 2007 by ~Dai-kun~.
~Dai-kun~'s Avatar
~Dai-kun~ ~Dai-kun~ is offline
The black wind howls again...
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 12,000 BC
Age: 20
Nature: Calm
Posts: 515
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to ~Dai-kun~ Send a message via Skype™ to ~Dai-kun~
the same thing that happened to ratchetrules happened to be.Also when I changed its color it was too big!!!
  #79    
Old April 17th, 2007 (10:29 AM).
jujuca jujuca is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 6
has anyone tested if there's a way to use the d/p sprites in the gba games?
  #80    
Old April 24th, 2007 (06:31 AM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is online now
chase is my favourite
Moderator, BSCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,430
Quote originally posted by jujuca:
has anyone tested if there's a way to use the d/p sprites in the gba games?
To insert D/P sprites in GBA ROMs you have to make the sprite smaller and index it.
Then insert it and it should be fine.
__________________
  #81    
Old April 28th, 2007 (01:24 PM).
Yagami_Raito Yagami_Raito is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2
I took the sprite of Treecko in PkMn Ruby and create a new pokemon form scratch. The back is the same color as the original (purple or green) and the outlines are black. Then I save the new sprite on the rom. But when I see it playing... The lines of the sprite are messed up... They are white and not black anymore
Can someone help please? Thanks
  #82    
Old April 28th, 2007 (02:40 PM).
home32's Avatar
home32 home32 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 18
ok i got two problems

one:i insert two images but they both always have the same pallete
like charzard facing front is normal and charzard facing back is shiny but when i do it. it's ether shiny and shiny or normal and normal

two:every time i insert a new trainer image for gary (i'm using fire red)it has messed up lines at the bottom but its the same 64X64 size
anyone that can help will be greatly appreceated
  #83    
Old April 28th, 2007 (10:13 PM).
Christos's Avatar
Christos Christos is online now
chase is my favourite
Moderator, BSCS
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 4,430
Quote originally posted by Yagami_Raito:
I took the sprite of Treecko in PkMn Ruby and create a new pokemon form scratch. The back is the same color as the original (purple or green) and the outlines are black. Then I save the new sprite on the rom. But when I see it playing... The lines of the sprite are messed up... They are white and not black anymore
Can someone help please? Thanks
Maybe the color you used for the outline was the background one.

Quote originally posted by home32:
ok i got two problems

one:i insert two images but they both always have the same pallete
like charzard facing front is normal and charzard facing back is shiny but when i do it. it's ether shiny and shiny or normal and normal

two:every time i insert a new trainer image for gary (i'm using fire red)it has messed up lines at the bottom but its the same 64X64 size
anyone that can help will be greatly appreceated
1. The backsprite should always be shiny, in the game it won't be.

2. The sprite has to have the same number of pixels as the Gary one.
__________________
  #84    
Old April 29th, 2007 (08:11 AM).
Yagami_Raito Yagami_Raito is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2
[QUOTE=Christos]Maybe the color you used for the outline was the background one.

In Paint, the background was the purple one and I used Black for the outlines and with another sprite, the bg was green and I used once again black for outline and result was the same.. 0.o
  #85    
Old May 3rd, 2007 (05:48 PM).
home32's Avatar
home32 home32 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 18
umm that doesen't help for #1 i need to know how to KEEP
it like that but it wont let me only normal and normal not normal and shiny
  #86    
Old May 19th, 2007 (04:11 PM).
dhame dhame is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 8
I have a terrible time trying to insert Diamond/Pearl Sprites. All the ones I find are 80x80 does anyone know wheere I can find 64x64 Diamond/Pearl Sprites with or without the colored backround..?

thanks
  #87    
Old June 19th, 2007 (05:44 AM).
Antwhan's Avatar
Antwhan Antwhan is offline
setting up for the big beta
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pizza Capital of the World
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 208
Send a message via AIM to Antwhan Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Antwhan
I'm new here and am also trying to get d/p pokemon into my hack, i can't seem to figure out how to get the pictures to turn out like they should, i replaced one of the ?? pics with turtwig, but since i couldn't maKe aN indexed png i replaced a bulbasaur one i ripped and inserted it over the ??. Now i can't figure out how to remove those corrupted lines on the sprite.

if anyone has a link to already indexed d/p sprites i would love you...i tryed all the links here but they were dead...

please if someone could answer,i would appricate it alot
  #88    
Old June 19th, 2007 (03:59 PM).
Twilight Itachi X's Avatar
Twilight Itachi X Twilight Itachi X is offline
Twilight X. The ultimate.
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Posts: 219
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Twilight Itachi X Send a message via Yahoo to Twilight Itachi X
I'm also trying to figure this out, I'm having trouble putting Aruseus (the Steel type version mainly) in my hack for some time now. With either using Pokepic or Unlz GBA it won't work, either the colors are messed up (Pokepic), or there are those glitchy lines on the bottom of the images (Unlz). I would really like to know if there is an indexed Aruseus sprite (again, the Steel type can be good), Sprihacknet doesn't have all of the D/P Pokemon (and I need indexed Aruseus sprites). It will be much appreciated if there's somewhere that has all of the D/P Pokemon indexed.
__________________
Click here to feed me a Rare Candy!

  #89    
Old June 20th, 2007 (09:35 PM).
Myoko-chan's Avatar
Myoko-chan Myoko-chan is offline
アーシェ
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 尸魂界
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 963
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Myoko-chan
Quote originally posted by Opal Pikachu13:
I'm also trying to figure this out, I'm having trouble putting Aruseus (the Steel type version mainly) in my hack for some time now. With either using Pokepic or Unlz GBA it won't work, either the colors are messed up (Pokepic), or there are those glitchy lines on the bottom of the images (Unlz). I would really like to know if there is an indexed Aruseus sprite (again, the Steel type can be good), Sprihacknet doesn't have all of the D/P Pokemon (and I need indexed Aruseus sprites). It will be much appreciated if there's somewhere that has all of the D/P Pokemon indexed.
I have one, but i need to get 15 posts first lol
__________________

-|^OBJECTION!|-
  #90    
Old June 21st, 2007 (08:57 AM).
Youji's Avatar
Youji Youji is offline
Game Designer
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 600
Quote originally posted by xxshayminx:
I have one, but i need to get 15 posts first lol
Yes but you can send him a PM with a link to your Pic.:D
  #91    
Old June 26th, 2007 (06:59 AM).
peterrab peterrab is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 18
How do you index sprites in IrfanView ?
  #92    
Old June 29th, 2007 (03:27 PM).
clakes707 clakes707 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 49
Ok, can I import an image that was drawn already to replace the old pokemon? And, how do I set the color depth to 16
  #93    
Old June 29th, 2007 (03:40 PM).
clakes707 clakes707 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 49
Ok, can I import an image that was drawn already to replace the old pokemon? And, how do I set the color depth to 16
  #94    
Old July 11th, 2007 (05:18 PM).
trevor813's Avatar
trevor813 trevor813 is offline
Its Just Me I Am Zero
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waldorf Maryland USA
Age: 29
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 69
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to trevor813
how do u indexed a sprite image ???
__________________
Eh I'm a Nice guy !
  #95    
Old July 12th, 2007 (11:32 AM). Edited July 12th, 2007 by redragon.
redragon's Avatar
redragon redragon is offline
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 14
When I try importing one, it says "image not indexed" can anyone help? Thanks
  #96    
Old July 12th, 2007 (03:31 PM).
trevor813's Avatar
trevor813 trevor813 is offline
Its Just Me I Am Zero
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waldorf Maryland USA
Age: 29
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 69
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to trevor813
same thing for me two can some one help?
__________________
Eh I'm a Nice guy !
  #97    
Old July 15th, 2007 (03:31 AM).
Youji's Avatar
Youji Youji is offline
Game Designer
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 600
You have to save the pic you want to edit. Paste your pic in the pic. Color the backround as the original pic ones. Than import it.

Actually I don't know how to make indexed sprite. It means the Pics you import aren't "registered" in the game.
  #98    
Old July 15th, 2007 (04:25 AM).
trevor813's Avatar
trevor813 trevor813 is offline
Its Just Me I Am Zero
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waldorf Maryland USA
Age: 29
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 69
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to trevor813
You have to save the pic you want to edit. Paste your pic in the pic. Color the backround as the original pic ones. Than import it.

Actually I don't know how to make indexed sprite. It means the Pics you import aren't "registered" in the game.

hmm i guess ill try it
__________________
Eh I'm a Nice guy !
  #99    
Old July 15th, 2007 (04:26 AM).
Youji's Avatar
Youji Youji is offline
Game Designer
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 600
Quote originally posted by trevor813:
You have to save the pic you want to edit. Paste your pic in the pic. Color the backround as the original pic ones. Than import it.

Actually I don't know how to make indexed sprite. It means the Pics you import aren't "registered" in the game.

hmm i guess ill try it
If you want to take my message and write your message above than click QUOTE.
  #100    
Old July 15th, 2007 (04:54 PM).
redragon's Avatar
redragon redragon is offline
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 14
for ruby, the hoenn pokemon start at around 964, so bulbasaur should be around 462, but I have a question, I try changing the front sprite of the 3 starters, but it doesn't work but the back sprites work, but also, the front and back sprites work for their evolutions though.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:55 AM.