The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old September 16th, 2007, 11:46 AM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash

Advertise here
Ok, I kinda was messing around with Poccils kit and since people are so stupid and can't figure out how to change the intro or make the 3 choices of Starter Pokemon, etc. I have made a Demo. This includes Poccils Starter Kit, Patches, and PokeGear. It also contains some other goodies.

Download Enhanced Starter Kit

If you liked this, don't forget to show your support by joining my site and/or Poccil's site. We could always use some support
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #77    
Old September 16th, 2007, 11:47 AM
Minorthreat0987
Pokemon Tellurium
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Nature: Adamant
is anyone else haveing trouble with evolution. Poccil said the new release has evolution support but When my pokemon reaches the evolution level it doesnt evolve, for example my Cyndaquil is at level 16, but it should have evolved at level 14.
__________________

Check out my DeviantArt account for info on my new project! Pokemon Tellurium.
My DeviantArt
  #78    
Old September 16th, 2007, 11:49 AM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minorthreat0987 View Post
is anyone else haveing trouble with evolution. Poccil said the new release has evolution support but When my pokemon reaches the evolution level it doesnt evolve, for example my Cyndaquil is at level 16, but it should have evolved at level 14.
Same here, I sent an error log to him. I'm sure it will be fixed within a day or two
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #79    
Old September 16th, 2007, 01:49 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Now i'm having problems with the battle system,

i know i did everything right, on one map the trainer battles i have set up work, but on all the others, they don't work, i've even tride to just copy and paist the battle events from one board to the other to see if they work, for some resin they are only working on 1 of the maps and none of the others.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #80    
Old September 16th, 2007, 01:50 PM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoimutt View Post
Now i'm having problems with the battle system,

i know i did everything right, on one map the trainer battles i have set up work, but on all the others, they don't work, i've even tride to just copy and paist the battle events from one board to the other to see if they work, for some resin they are only working on 1 of the maps and none of the others.
Did you run the Game in Debug/Playtest Mode? If not, run it in Playtest and then see if it works.
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #81    
Old September 16th, 2007, 02:47 PM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flameguru View Post
Did you run the Game in Debug/Playtest Mode? If not, run it in Playtest and then see if it works.
*eye twitch* i've been trying for the past 4 hours, and it, in about 2 seconds, told me what it was. how come it couldn't just say that in the error log???? >.< venonat had a lvl 0 in the trainer form. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #82    
Old September 17th, 2007, 10:25 AM
OblivionMew's Avatar
OblivionMew
Spriter in the Making!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to OblivionMew
This is really bugging me! HOW DO YOU CHANGE POKéMON NAMES!!!!!
  #83    
Old September 18th, 2007, 03:13 AM
NytewolfAU2k7's Avatar
NytewolfAU2k7
Game Modder & Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Hmm... weird... I have a whole heap of trainers in my game, no matter which one I battle, afterwards their sprite changes to the "Red" sprite.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoimutt View Post
that's simple, go to the map that says "Intro", then, in the upper left hand corner, click on the event, and edit away.
I actually found it by myself, but thanks anyway
__________________
Shinies: 3 (Cubone, Ratatta and Bidoof)
Creator of NW's Pokémon Program Suite, An Open-Source Offline Pokémon Information tool or "Pokedex". (No longer cancelled! BETA 6 on it's way)
Administrator of Nytewolf's Game Development Site, A site devoted to showcasing my games.
  #84    
Old September 18th, 2007, 05:12 AM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by OblivionMew View Post
This is really bugging me! HOW DO YOU CHANGE POKéMON NAMES!!!!!
Wjat do you mean? as in how do you change the name of the starter pokemon? or how to nickname all the pokemon you catch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightwolfAA2k5 View Post
Hmm... weird... I have a whole heap of trainers in my game, no matter which one I battle, afterwards their sprite changes to the "Red" sprite.
hehehe, you copy and paist don't you? lol, i did that too. anyways, you need to edit the second page of the event, click on your fighter, then click on the tab that says 2 and change the sprite there to the one that you want it to be when the battle is over and done with.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here

Last edited by yaoimutt; September 18th, 2007 at 05:19 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #85    
Old September 18th, 2007, 05:43 AM
NytewolfAU2k7's Avatar
NytewolfAU2k7
Game Modder & Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Ahh, I thought it had something to do with that, thanks
__________________
Shinies: 3 (Cubone, Ratatta and Bidoof)
Creator of NW's Pokémon Program Suite, An Open-Source Offline Pokémon Information tool or "Pokedex". (No longer cancelled! BETA 6 on it's way)
Administrator of Nytewolf's Game Development Site, A site devoted to showcasing my games.
  #86    
Old September 18th, 2007, 06:34 AM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightwolfAA2k5 View Post
Ahh, I thought it had something to do with that, thanks
Your welcome, like i said, i did the same thing, and it took me the longest time to figure out how to fix it XD
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #87    
Old September 18th, 2007, 09:09 AM
Crazy Weavile's Avatar
Crazy Weavile
Manufacturing a deity
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Inside the depths of your mind.
Age: 19
Nature: Quirky
What program do you use to edit the .DAT files?
  #88    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:19 AM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy Weavile View Post
What program do you use to edit the .DAT files?
You dont edit the .dat files. Instead, edit the .txt files. Once you run the Game from within RMXP (DEBUG/Playtest mode) the .txt files will be compiled and overwrite the .dat files.

EX: Trainers.txt becomes Trainers.dat
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #89    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:32 AM
Sizzle3003's Avatar
Sizzle3003
Cows = Cool :O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Ok wtf?
orbidden
You don't have permission to access /projects/pokestarter/pokestarter.zip on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Every time I click a link to it..
  #90    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:34 AM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sizzle3003 View Post
Ok wtf?
orbidden
You don't have permission to access /projects/pokestarter/pokestarter.zip on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Every time I click a link to it..
Then use my version artard...

(If someone thinks thats uncalled for, read this dudes thread and you will see why I'm pissed at him)
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #91    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:35 AM
Sizzle3003's Avatar
Sizzle3003
Cows = Cool :O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flameguru View Post
Then use my version artard...

(If someone thinks thats uncalled for, read this dudes thread and you will see why I'm pissed at him)
Umm no you suck bals........
  #92    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:48 AM
-BlackShadow-'s Avatar
-BlackShadow-
Shadow King
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: U.S.
Age: 19
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Flameguru In Your Starter Kit that You Just Released In One Of Your Recent Posts How Can I Change What Pokemon I Run Into In The Tall Grass On A Certain Route. Please Help. :\
  #93    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:55 AM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sizzle3003 View Post
Umm no you suck bals........
Hm... Sizzle, if you don't stop being a pain by choose, I'm sure a mod can make you stop by force. If there is someone kind enough to give you a good idea then either take it or so no politely. don't insult,

and if your wandering why i am not saying the same to him, it's because i read the other thread, and while i think he was over-reacting a little, i only think that he over reacted A LITTLE.

I think that if you try to insult someone who is being nice to you (no mater how dumb the insult may be) then you forfeit any right to having people help you politely.
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #94    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:56 AM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by -BlackShadow- View Post
Flameguru In Your Starter Kit that You Just Released In One Of Your Recent Posts How Can I Change What Pokemon I Run Into In The Tall Grass On A Certain Route. Please Help. :\
Simply use this to help you:

Code:
# ------------------------------------------------------
032 # ID of Map (Can be found by Right clicking on a Map's name and selecting Map Properties)
# ------------------------------------------------------
25 # (Encounter Rate - 25 is maximum and is very high)
Land # Pokemon Found in the Grass
HOOTHOOT,2
HOOTHOOT,3
HOPPIP,3
HOPPIP,2
SENTRET,3
SENTRET,2
PIDGEY,2
SENTRET,2
PIDGEY,2
RATTATA,3
HOOTHOOT,2
RATTATA,2
# ------------------------------------------------------
So copy and paste that over the Johto Route 29 entry and edit it any way you want
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #95    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:59 AM
yaoimutt
Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Nature: Impish
Send a message via AIM to yaoimutt Send a message via Yahoo to yaoimutt
Quote:
Originally Posted by -BlackShadow- View Post
Flameguru In Your Starter Kit that You Just Released In One Of Your Recent Posts How Can I Change What Pokemon I Run Into In The Tall Grass On A Certain Route. Please Help. :\
Here's a link to his tutorial about the starter kit.
forums.dsinc.exofire.net/viewtopic.php?t=9

I hope it help

and join the site so that it can grow, plus you can post info on stuff you think might help others ^.^ (yes, i am now assessed with the site)
__________________

Name: FishieNUMBER37 (you don't want to know what happened to the other fishies)
Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

Geat thread here
  #96    
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:59 AM
OblivionMew's Avatar
OblivionMew
Spriter in the Making!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to OblivionMew
What I meant was to actually change the pokemon, to make new ones eg. replace BULBASAUR for GARKIT(Pokemon I made up) and change what it says in the Pokedex.
  #97    
Old September 18th, 2007, 12:02 PM
Flameguru's Avatar
Flameguru
Pokemon: Metallic Silver
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amish country, PA
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Quote:
Originally Posted by OblivionMew View Post
What I meant was to actually change the pokemon, to make new ones eg. replace BULBASAUR for GARKIT(Pokemon I made up) and change what it says in the Pokedex.
Not Possible atm I don't believe. If you wanted to try, it would require changing the Pokemon's Sprite in the Graphics Folder, renaming it in the scripts, and modifying all its moves, stats, and more....which would be a pain...sorry. Poccil may be able to assist you further than me
__________________
My Projects:
Pokemon Engine for Android
Java Pokemon Engine [Thread here on PC]
  #98    
Old September 18th, 2007, 12:04 PM
-BlackShadow-'s Avatar
-BlackShadow-
Shadow King
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: U.S.
Age: 19
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flameguru View Post
Simply use this to help you:

Code:
# ------------------------------------------------------
032 # ID of Map (Can be found by Right clicking on a Map's name and selecting Map Properties)
# ------------------------------------------------------
25 # (Encounter Rate - 25 is maximum and is very high)
Land # Pokemon Found in the Grass
HOOTHOOT,2
HOOTHOOT,3
HOPPIP,3
HOPPIP,2
SENTRET,3
SENTRET,2
PIDGEY,2
SENTRET,2
PIDGEY,2
RATTATA,3
HOOTHOOT,2
RATTATA,2
# ------------------------------------------------------
So copy and paste that over the Johto Route 29 entry and edit it any way you want
Hey Thanks A lot. Can't Thank You Enough. So I Just Go To The Encounters Text Doc. Thanks.
  #99    
Old September 18th, 2007, 12:07 PM
OblivionMew's Avatar
OblivionMew
Spriter in the Making!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to OblivionMew
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flameguru View Post
Not Possible atm I don't believe. If you wanted to try, it would require changing the Pokemon's Sprite in the Graphics Folder, renaming it in the scripts, and modifying all its moves, stats, and more....which would be a pain...sorry. Poccil may be able to assist you further than me
Okay thanks Flameguru, I'll wait til it's possible, maybe it'll be possible in the next release
  #100    
Old September 18th, 2007, 12:07 PM
Sizzle3003's Avatar
Sizzle3003
Cows = Cool :O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United States
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoimutt View Post
Hm... Sizzle, if you don't stop being a pain by choose, I'm sure a mod can make you stop by force. If there is someone kind enough to give you a good idea then either take it or so no politely. don't insult,

and if your wandering why i am not saying the same to him, it's because i read the other thread, and while i think he was over-reacting a little, i only think that he over reacted A LITTLE.

I think that if you try to insult someone who is being nice to you (no mater how dumb the insult may be) then you forfeit any right to having people help you politely.
Next time he shouldn't call me a noob then, and next time plz don't get into my business
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.