Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Magnius Guide to Pokemon Music Hacking

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old January 25th, 2008 (09:14 PM).
clonex25's Avatar
clonex25 clonex25 is offline
Just droppin' by...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pearl of the Orient Seas
Age: 30
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Quote originally posted by shinygoldash:
I put the D/P Rival music in and it doesn't loop.

Are you going to add that to the tutorial?
Have you ripped it directly from the DS ROM? Or do you have any other resources?
I'm not sure, but the DS MIDI has information loop that only the DS can loop (I think it's almost the same as General MIDI).
To loop it in GBA, you must manually edit the S file. Check the link below my signature.
__________________




I hvae updated the GBA Music Looping thread. It now has a tutorial for looping multiple-tracked S Files. Click the link below:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=118722

Due to popular demand, I have lowered the Wild Pokemon Theme (with two versions) and added it in my music collection thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=139756

Next STOP: To make guidelines regarding GBA music tracks
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old February 9th, 2008 (09:37 PM).
roywillow's Avatar
roywillow roywillow is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Shandong China
Gender:
Posts: 39
i still wonder what does this offset 0xEB0B20 means.if i want to assemble more songs, all use 0xEB0B20?
__________________
http://poketb.com/bbs/images/logo.gif
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old February 29th, 2008 (12:15 AM). Edited April 21st, 2008 by clonex25.
clonex25's Avatar
clonex25 clonex25 is offline
Just droppin' by...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pearl of the Orient Seas
Age: 30
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Quote originally posted by Magnius:
lol think I already did but you never replied.

But yeah, all this will really do is insert what you have in your midi into the game. If you want your midi to sound REALLY good on the Gameboy Advance, it'll have to be tweaked. I've been researching GBA sound myself to make my own GBA remixes sound bette and here's what I've observed...
- On the GBA you can only have a number of "direct" tracks. The number? I'm not sure, the most I'vve been able to get is 3 direct tracks playing at a time, but some of the official Nintendo GBA music uses more, however I haven't figured out how. Direct tracks are anything that isn't GBA synth. Basically instruments like trumpets, violins, strings, anything that isn't GBA synth. The most number of direct tracks I've been able to play at once is 3. One trumpet, one drum track and a strings track. But 3 direct tracks only seems to work, if the third instrument is a string ensemble. Also it seems drums can be the only 2nd "Direct" track as of now. Still I've seen professional Pokemon GBA music using 2 "non drum" direct tracks, so I'm trying to figure out how it's done.

- Since the GBA can only hold so much memory, the "Direct" instruments have certain ranges they can play in. If the instrument goes out of that range, the GBA interprets that as GBA synth.

- "Square" and "Sawtooth" instruments seem to emulate the GBA synth quite nicely.

And yeah, that's what I've observed. Much of how the GBA and Sappy interpret the sounds is still a mystery to me.
I think I've got the formula...

- You can use up to 10 tracks per song: 5 for DirectSound (D/S), and 5 for GB Waveform (GB).
- You can use any instrument in the D/S tracks, provided that you must limit the playing instruments to 6 (including the drums).
- You may reserve a D/S track for the drums.
- You can use the GB tracks for the following: 1. Square1, 2. Square2, 3. Wave, 4. and 5. Noise.
- Two GB tracks are used for the Noise part because Applause (126) has a "smoother" effect than Gunshot (127).
- You may maximize the 5 D/S tracks for town/city/route/cave music.
- You must limit the battle music D/S tracks to 4. This gives a track that the GBA uses for the attack SFX. Maximizing 5 D/S tracks may sacrifice the drums upon execution of attacks like Surf, or when there's a stat change (+ATK, -DEF).

You want to ask: Why does some BGMs have 6 or more D/S tracks? Open a Pokemon FireRed ROM in Sappy, and open Battle 4 (has 10 tracks with 6 D/S tracks in it). Upon observation you will notice that some D/S tracks go OFF upon the execution of other D/S tracks.
__________________




I hvae updated the GBA Music Looping thread. It now has a tutorial for looping multiple-tracked S Files. Click the link below:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=118722

Due to popular demand, I have lowered the Wild Pokemon Theme (with two versions) and added it in my music collection thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=139756

Next STOP: To make guidelines regarding GBA music tracks
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old March 19th, 2008 (11:39 PM).
Innocence's Avatar
Innocence Innocence is offline
PC Lurker: I'm watching you...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Queensland, Australia. What are you, a stalker?
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,038
Umm...I don't know what the problem is, but whenever I insert music, it sounds like a crappy 8-bit system. Do I have too many tracks, or what?
__________________

I cringe at things I've said here in the past years.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old March 31st, 2008 (03:31 PM).
Antwhan's Avatar
Antwhan Antwhan is offline
setting up for the big beta
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pizza Capital of the World
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 208
Send a message via AIM to Antwhan Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Antwhan
I can't seem too get anything to assemble at all. I follow all steps but to no avail. I get errors that there are too many .s in the folder even though u specify one of them. But when i take al lthe other ones out it gives me an error saying it needs one of the ones i just moved. So... I move it back and get the too many files error again.

any ideas on what i am doing wrong?
__________________


Twin:Heatran




My hack, check it out:
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old April 11th, 2008 (06:23 AM).
Tré's Avatar
Tré Tré is offline
Raised by the bastards of 1969
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: My town was blind from refinery sun
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,591
hey thanks dude this helps me.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old April 16th, 2008 (06:37 AM).
EmpoleMew's Avatar
EmpoleMew EmpoleMew is offline
Lunatic Lunar Rabbit
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In a white void, waiting to be illustrated by my mind.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 354
I seem to have a problem here. My Sappy doesn't work. It says its missing a component of something. Otherwise, this tutorial helps a lot. If anyone else has had this problem, how do I fix this?
__________________
You want battles? I got battles. (Note: 50/50 shot of 86420 erroring)
Soulsilver FC: 2107-1186-0700
Black FC: 4942-4730-8522

Stuff. Game Swag, your #1 stop for video game swag.
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old April 18th, 2008 (06:19 PM). Edited April 19th, 2008 by Rize.
Rize's Avatar
Rize Rize is offline
The XIII Observer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somewhere with Annoying Weather
Gender:
Posts: 27
Try installing Sappy v.1 (AKA Sappy 2005), the installer for which is found at The Helmeted Rodent, where EliteMap is. That will register the appropriate .OCX file needed to run Sappy; you'll now have Sappy 2005 and 2006. Note that you might get an error if you use Vista; I'm getting the "Sappy has stopped working" thing too.

EDIT: I just figured out how to use Sappy if you get the Vista error. Just take the .xml file from Sappy 2006 and replace Sappy 2005's .xml file with the 2006 one, then use Sappy 2005. I just did that and Sappy 2005 dosen't crash and I can get to every song! Wether I can put mine in remains to be seen......

EDIT 2: When I go to compile the song, it has porblems with the .s file or a "type mismatch". Does anyone have any insight on this?

-TSU
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old April 20th, 2008 (09:28 PM). Edited April 21st, 2008 by clonex25.
clonex25's Avatar
clonex25 clonex25 is offline
Just droppin' by...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pearl of the Orient Seas
Age: 30
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Quote originally posted by Innocence:
Umm...I don't know what the problem is, but whenever I insert music, it sounds like a crappy 8-bit system. Do I have too many tracks, or what?
It depends on the song's voicegroup. Let's say the Flute is not available in Pallet Town's voicegroup but is available in Lavender's.
__________________




I hvae updated the GBA Music Looping thread. It now has a tutorial for looping multiple-tracked S Files. Click the link below:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=118722

Due to popular demand, I have lowered the Wild Pokemon Theme (with two versions) and added it in my music collection thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=139756

Next STOP: To make guidelines regarding GBA music tracks
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old May 4th, 2008 (01:38 PM).
cooley's Avatar
cooley cooley is offline
///Keepin' it simple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Well, I'm into the "Music hacking" stage of my hack now, I just found a bunch of Midi's from:
R/B/Y
G/S/C
R/S/E
Fr/Lg
D/P

For the lower Generations, there are a lot more Midi's available. As for the Upper ones (except R/S/E) there are less available. I don't know how to download them but you can surely record it!
Just dropping by with good news, that's all.

"GB/GBC/GBA/NDS Midis"

Here's an Example Track from RUBY
This should go into the ROM hacking Resources, but I don't know yet...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old May 4th, 2008 (05:06 PM).
Chimchar 9's Avatar
Chimchar 9 Chimchar 9 is offline
(:
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Southampton.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,621
good guide it really helps
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old May 7th, 2008 (07:44 AM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,526
What sort of base destination offset do I have to put in?
Because I've tried 0xEB0B20 and there were only a few instruments
when I used the Newbark Town theme that I downloaded from clonex25's
guide to music looping thread, does enyone know? :\
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old May 7th, 2008 (12:20 PM).
cooley's Avatar
cooley cooley is offline
///Keepin' it simple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
That's just how it is....unless you remix the music of course.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old May 7th, 2008 (10:32 PM).
clonex25's Avatar
clonex25 clonex25 is offline
Just droppin' by...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pearl of the Orient Seas
Age: 30
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
What sort of base destination offset do I have to put in?
Because I've tried 0xEB0B20 and there were only a few instruments
when I used the Newbark Town theme that I downloaded from clonex25's
guide to music looping thread, does enyone know? :\
Use the voicegroup for Lavender Town in order for it to sound perfectly. You may also rearrange it depending on your liking.
__________________




I hvae updated the GBA Music Looping thread. It now has a tutorial for looping multiple-tracked S Files. Click the link below:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=118722

Due to popular demand, I have lowered the Wild Pokemon Theme (with two versions) and added it in my music collection thread:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=139756

Next STOP: To make guidelines regarding GBA music tracks
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old May 16th, 2008 (10:48 AM).
Master_Track's Avatar
Master_Track Master_Track is offline
ROM Reaverz Scripter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austria
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Brave
Posts: 916
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Master_Track
er I've got a question.
I once tryed this out with another tutorial from pho, and the sound was ingame ( I tryed different sound groups, it really was okay). but..after some time the music stopped until the map reloaded (enter house and leave again to activate..).
What do I have to do to make a sound repeat?
For example, if I want this in a rom, what shall I do to let it repeat?
__________________

*Busy with school*

Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old May 16th, 2008 (07:25 PM).
X-Buster X-Buster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 713
you mean looping..?
heres a tutorial on how to do that..!
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=118722
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old May 19th, 2008 (05:19 PM).
EmpoleMew's Avatar
EmpoleMew EmpoleMew is offline
Lunatic Lunar Rabbit
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In a white void, waiting to be illustrated by my mind.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 354
I got Sappy working now, but It won't load all of Firered's songs anymore, when I use Sapphire, I get the "type mismatch" error. Is it the .s file I'm using or is the program itself buggy?

If you need to know, the .s file is Unfounded Revenge from MOTHER 3.
__________________
You want battles? I got battles. (Note: 50/50 shot of 86420 erroring)
Soulsilver FC: 2107-1186-0700
Black FC: 4942-4730-8522

Stuff. Game Swag, your #1 stop for video game swag.
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old May 24th, 2008 (07:34 PM).
shaqattacks's Avatar
shaqattacks shaqattacks is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ajax, ontario
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 98
I have a question. Does sappy only work well on Windows XP? On vista sappy won't let me insert the midis and the program crashes. Is there a way to fix this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old May 27th, 2008 (01:09 PM).
Magnius Magnius is offline
Pokemon Music Hacking Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 295
Quote originally posted by shaqattacks:
I have a question. Does sappy only work well on Windows XP? On vista sappy won't let me insert the midis and the program crashes. Is there a way to fix this problem?
I use Windows XP so yeah.
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old May 28th, 2008 (05:09 PM). Edited May 28th, 2008 by Hardy Har Har.
Hardy Har Har's Avatar
Hardy Har Har Hardy Har Har is offline
Oh dear, oh my...
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In a Swinub family-free area with Lippy the Lion
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 258
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardy Har Har Send a message via Skype™ to Hardy Har Har
i need help here. After the GAME FREAK intro the game will freeze. I used the following MIDI in my ROM.
Attached Files
File Type: zip trainer battle dp.zip‎ (5.7 KB, 21 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds signature height limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old May 29th, 2008 (03:19 AM).
Deos13 Deos13 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Posts: 1
Hi,I have been trying to get this to work for about 3hrs now ...Anyway I finally got it to play the song.Question tho why does it sound so wrong and bad?Help me out plz.Also just wanted to say wow this site is amazing!
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old May 29th, 2008 (06:55 AM).
Magnius Magnius is offline
Pokemon Music Hacking Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 295
Quote originally posted by Deos13:
Hi,I have been trying to get this to work for about 3hrs now ...Anyway I finally got it to play the song.Question tho why does it sound so wrong and bad?Help me out plz.Also just wanted to say wow this site is amazing!
Well making it sound good is mostly covered in Part 2. It's still on the first page so it shouldn't be hard to find.
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old June 13th, 2008 (10:05 AM).
KurlyFries's Avatar
KurlyFries KurlyFries is offline
Named his ShinyTar Angela
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to KurlyFries
I try to assemble the Final Fantasy 3 prelude, but the voicegroup offset is 0x0000 and it tells me to specify a voicegroup offset.
Why didn't it put in the voicegroup automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old June 17th, 2008 (06:42 PM).
2kittle's Avatar
2kittle 2kittle is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Gender:
Posts: 2
wenever i do this all that happens is wen i get to the title screen it plays the healing sound like wen you get to a pokecenter somone plz help me on this
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:42 PM.