The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old June 13th, 2008, 07:17 AM
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
If @begin is the 802000 then yes I did.
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #27    
Old June 13th, 2008, 03:55 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
Nice video, it's a good idea. :)

Also, your Level Script guide is very nice, however I never did my level scripts like that. Then again, I taught myself, since nobody loves me...

Still, very nice addition, can't wait to see what else you can come up with, if anything.
You did? So did I, xD
I experimented until I got it right every time, what other way were you talking about? Was it through hex?

Quote:
Originally Posted by megiddo View Post
If @begin is the 802000 then yes I did.
What kind of map are you using? Is it a Town map, like pallet town, or an indoor map, like the player's room.

If it's pallet town, then you have to enter pallet town from a house or from a path(e.g. Route 1)
If it's the player's room, then that might not work sometimes. I haven't mastered Level scripting yet, so I have to see why things like this happen.
__________________

  #28    
Old June 13th, 2008, 06:01 PM
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
It's a pokemon center. It's ok. Adiktus helped me fix it. The problems are that a-map's level script tool is buggy and that 0x4000 resets to 0 when you exit the map. So it happens again.
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #29    
Old June 13th, 2008, 07:04 PM
ZodiacDaGreat's Avatar
ZodiacDaGreat
Working on a Mobile System
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Pacific
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via ICQ to ZodiacDaGreat
Quote:
It's a pokemon center. It's ok. Adiktus helped me fix it. The problems are that a-map's level script tool is buggy and that 0x4000 resets to 0 when you exit the map. So it happens again.
I don't think so, you must know that the game itself uses some variables, so I'd say for you not to use 4000 & 4001, maybe the 8000s as well. Try variables starting from 7000.
__________________
  #30    
Old June 13th, 2008, 09:34 PM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter Tier 2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooley View Post
You did? So did I, xD
I experimented until I got it right every time, what other way were you talking about? Was it through hex?
Well, that was one of the ways. This way seems to be better though.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です

Last edited by Darthatron; June 13th, 2008 at 09:40 PM.
  #31    
Old June 16th, 2008, 12:03 AM
Dan13x
Togepi
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Wow! Awesome! This is a great tutorial. Thanks!
  #32    
Old June 20th, 2008, 07:14 PM
Megiddo-san's Avatar
Megiddo-san
Barium - Summer '12 Return?
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where you least expect it
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Megiddo-san
Don't use 4000. The event will happen more than once. Goto the grayed script offset in a hex editor. You should see something like 004000008008. If there is FFFF after the 08, change it to 0000.
__________________

Hashire! Asu e tsudzuku shinka no micha wa
  #33    
Old June 20th, 2008, 07:32 PM
Flashpoint's Avatar
Flashpoint
→ P e r s i s t e n c e
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SRU Headquarters
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Flashpoint Send a message via Skype™ to Flashpoint
Quote:
Originally Posted by megiddo View Post
Don't use 4000. The event will happen more than once. Goto the grayed script offset in a hex editor. You should see something like 004000008008. If there is FFFF after the 08, change it to 0000.
Finally it worked!!
Thanks Megiido.
  #34    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 07:07 AM
foullump's Avatar
foullump
Rom Hacking Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Nature: Calm
Well, I have my own concept of "Map Scripting". It works well. I'm not entirely sure how it works, but it does and that's all that really matters. But you know, you can do map scripting in advance map 1.82 or anything lower. All you need to do is look in the advance/professional view of the header and it's all right there. But I guess it's easier for noobs that there's a map scripting box. It kind of ruins the fact that only masters can do it though...
And it's also kind of annoying because it took me like, three days to learn and master it and now I can't do anything without my hex editor. Good thing Ultraedit never expires for me! So you'd understand what the bytes like 03 FF FF FF 08 04 FF FF FF 08 02 FF FF FF 08 00 represent in the hex editor huh?
__________________
  #35    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 03:48 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by foullump View Post
Well, I have my own concept of "Map Scripting". It works well. I'm not entirely sure how it works, but it does and that's all that really matters. But you know, you can do map scripting in advance map 1.82 or anything lower. All you need to do is look in the advance/professional view of the header and it's all right there. But I guess it's easier for noobs that there's a map scripting box. It kind of ruins the fact that only masters can do it though...
And it's also kind of annoying because it took me like, three days to learn and master it and now I can't do anything without my hex editor. Good thing Ultraedit never expires for me! So you'd understand what the bytes like 03 FF FF FF 08 04 FF FF FF 08 02 FF FF FF 08 00 represent in the hex editor huh?
Yeah, I do now

E.G.
03 FF FF FF 08 = Level script #3(on entering map), FF FF FF 08 = Pointer to script
04 FF FF FF 08 = Level script #4(validates values, and loads handler to 0x03000F28), FF FF FF 08 = Pointer to script
02 FF FF FF 08 = Level script #2(validates values, and loads handler to 0x03000EB0), FF FF FF 08 = Pointer to script

02 and 03 are the most used throughout the game.
04 is really for Immediate activites, they have only been used for "spriteface 0xFF 0x2"

But it's really up to people to experiment. I do not have time, you know, my hack, my programs, and my tutorials. xD

how's that for lol
__________________


Last edited by cooley; June 24th, 2008 at 09:20 AM.
  #36    
Old June 23rd, 2008, 04:06 PM
adiktus's Avatar
adiktus
Basic Scripter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Nature: Hardy
XD well, compared to how I insert level scripts previously (manually), this way is more practical because it somehow saves some space.. O.o
__________________
*´¨) Love life! Get paid!! Get laid!!!!
¸.´¸.*´¨) ¸.*¨) I'm the DiStOrTeD one
(¸.´ (¸.` * ..:¨¨**¤°¨¨°...............
  #37    
Old July 1st, 2008, 10:02 AM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Well, I just wanted to know does anyone need anything to be added to this tutorial?

@adiktus: I see, your the level script inserter of a few hacks, which is pretty much not needed because, it is so easy. You make people think you can do these advanced things, when they're not really.
__________________

  #38    
Old July 6th, 2008, 11:13 AM
Ozumas's Avatar
Ozumas
Creatos Golden Sun/Silver moon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sevilla,Spain
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Ozumas
WTF!
I don´t know if you get the script of my tutorial, but ...That my tutorial was made long ago is therefore think that I was the first that it knew, or I think.

To say, that script you can see the camera script in the script of Ho-oh in FR
  #39    
Old July 6th, 2008, 04:33 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Well, I never knew about the one in Wah, I knew how it was done, but I was using the wrong specials before.

- HackMew -'s XSE reminded me of it, then I asked him, and then I tested, and experimented. Until I perfected it. So no, I did not know about the one on Wah, I can't even read spanish, xD
__________________

  #40    
Old July 9th, 2008, 11:42 AM
Bokkun
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
how can i made a level script, that the message always apear?

Last edited by Bokkun; July 9th, 2008 at 12:09 PM. Reason: works now, but new question
  #41    
Old July 16th, 2008, 07:43 AM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokkun View Post
how can i made a level script, that the message always apear?
Yeah, sorry about that. I'll update the first post with how to fix this. You see, Advance map overwrites the values with 'FFFF'. Which is why most level scripts won't work if you do it through advance map. I'll update the first post with how to make a level script through XSE, or for those who don't like XSE, through hex. The only thing you'll need from A-map is the 'Professional Header' and the 'Map script offset' from it.

You will eventually need XSE to check the script though...And Advance Map with a Hex editor.
Get prepared everyone!
__________________

  #42    
Old July 16th, 2008, 07:10 PM
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum
none pizza with left beef
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to Tyrantrum
Here's what I don't get about level scripts.
When u insert them, how A-Map and the script know where to start.

Explanation:
Like, if u want a level script to happen right when u come downstairs from ur bedroom, how will it know if the script will work at the staircase or at the front door? :\
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Gallery
Previously Eeveon
  #43    
Old July 17th, 2008, 08:08 AM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eeveon View Post
Here's what I don't get about level scripts.
When u insert them, how A-Map and the script know where to start.

Explanation:
Like, if u want a level script to happen right when u come downstairs from ur bedroom, how will it know if the script will work at the staircase or at the front door? :\
I dunno, xD
I've tried to do that with Level scripts, but it'll only work if you use "setmaptile" scripts or "On entering map/not on menu close" or "Load handler to 0x03000F28"

But the scirpts I just mentioned, they can't use messages, applymovement, or anything that requires "Pointer to data to load". They are however very useful, and can check if a flag has been set, then do something else. These are some of the many compatible commands I've encountered.

checkflag (0x2B
clearflag (0x2A)
hidesprite (0x53)
movesprite2 (0x63)
showsprite (0x55)
setfarbyte (0x13)
setflag (0x29)
spriteface (0x5B)
writebytetooffset (0x11)
__________________

  #44    
Old July 17th, 2008, 09:17 AM
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooley View Post
I dunno, xD
I've tried to do that with Level scripts, but it'll only work if you use "setmaptile" scripts or "On entering map/not on menu close" or "Load handler to 0x03000F28"

But the scirpts I just mentioned, they can't use messages, applymovement, or anything that requires "Pointer to data to load". They are however very useful, and can check if a flag has been set, then do something else. These are some of the many compatible commands I've encountered.

checkflag (0x2B
clearflag (0x2A)
hidesprite (0x53)
movesprite2 (0x63)
showsprite (0x55)
setfarbyte (0x13)
setflag (0x29)
spriteface (0x5B)
writebytetooffset (0x11)

Ok, so like if i was going to make a setmaptile script i cant make it like this

Code:
  
#Dynamic 0x800000
 
#org @main
checkflag 0x201
if 0x1 goto @change
release
end
 
#org @change
movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
release
end

i have to make it like this for it to work?

Code:
 
#Dynamic 0x800000
 
#org @main
checkflag 0x201
if 0x0 goto @end
movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
release
end
 
#org @end
release
end
__________________





  #45    
Old July 17th, 2008, 12:04 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by khaosknight1 View Post
Ok, so like if i was going to make a setmaptile script i cant make it like this

Code:
  
#Dynamic 0x800000
 
#org @main
checkflag 0x201
if 0x1 goto @change
release
end
 
#org @change
movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
release
end
i have to make it like this for it to work?

Code:
 
#Dynamic 0x800000
 
#org @main
checkflag 0x201
if 0x0 goto @end
movesprite2 0x15 0x11 0x08
setmaptile 0x14 0x7 0x78 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x7 0x79 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x7 0x7A 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0x8 0x189 0x0
setmaptile 0x14 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x15 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x16 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x17 0x9 0x3E 0x1
setmaptile 0x14 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x15 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x16 0xA 0x1 0x0
setmaptile 0x17 0xA 0x1 0x0
release
end
 
#org @end
release
end
Both ways are good. But setmaptile scripts don't have to include setmaptiles. I don't even think that's the official name for it.
__________________

  #46    
Old July 17th, 2008, 03:27 PM
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooley View Post
Both ways are good. But setmaptile scripts don't have to include setmaptiles. I don't even think that's the official name for it.
So if i was going to make a "setmaptile" level script what would i have to do to make it work? I compiled that script with XSE and applied it using A-map but it didnt work.
__________________





  #47    
Old July 18th, 2008, 10:31 AM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
You aren't supposed to use setmaptile scripts as regular ones...If you'd follow my tutorial, you wouldn't be wondering. setmaptile scripts are the scripts that happens before the map loads, it happens during the black screen that occurs before loading.

You should use the ones in my tutorial. I'll update it today.


OK, Level scripts are all updated! Enjoy, I've included how to make one with Advance map , and XSE.
And I explained it more in-depth with more pictures, etc.

Enjoy, only one more update, until I finish this tutorial.
__________________


Last edited by cooley; July 18th, 2008 at 11:45 AM. Reason: Update post
  #48    
Old July 18th, 2008, 06:03 PM
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooley View Post
You aren't supposed to use setmaptile scripts as regular ones...If you'd follow my tutorial, you wouldn't be wondering. setmaptile scripts are the scripts that happens before the map loads, it happens during the black screen that occurs before loading.

You should use the ones in my tutorial. I'll update it today.

OK, Level scripts are all updated! Enjoy, I've included how to make one with Advance map , and XSE.
And I explained it more in-depth with more pictures, etc.

Enjoy, only one more update, until I finish this tutorial.
I know i have been using them as level scripts, its just i have been using them on a route map and when you enter a route there is no black screen...
__________________





  #49    
Old July 20th, 2008, 11:00 AM
Bokkun
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
this tut for the level scripts is now really great, thanks =D
but how can i make this script, that it every start when i enter the map...

and antoher one:
i made a level script with a movement of the camera an a text box, but at the end when the script should be at the end, there comes a text box again with some letters, as like as you forget to change the 0xFFFF to 0x0

Last edited by Bokkun; July 20th, 2008 at 11:48 AM.
  #50    
Old July 21st, 2008, 07:59 AM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bokkun View Post
this tut for the level scripts is now really great, thanks =D
but how can i make this script, that it every start when i enter the map...

and antoher one:
i made a level script with a movement of the camera an a text box, but at the end when the script should be at the end, there comes a text box again with some letters, as like as you forget to change the 0xFFFF to 0x0
1. I don't know, I'm still researching that.
2. You forgot to put something in Advance map...Like the flag? Or you forgot to fix the problem by Using XSE.
__________________

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.