The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old October 2nd, 2008, 12:44 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Hello to you all. I am Time, also known as destinedjagold before.
Well, anyways, this tutorial is for you to know how to resize and insert new OW(OverWorld) sprites in advance generation games.
I got this idea from two friends who asked me how to insert new overworlds, and how to resize overworlds.

Let's begin...

------------------------------------------------------
The things you will need are...
1. OverWorld Editor
2. OverWorld Resizer/Changer
3. MS Paint
4. Advance Generation PKMN ROMs(I used Ruby here)
5. VBA(Visual Boy Advance)
6. A spritesheet
------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
Advance Notes...
This tutorial is not applicable if you wish to edit all frames of one sprite, e.g., the hero.
OverWorld Changer/Resizer automatically searches for free offsets, making myself feel it's a bit not safe to use.
For a safer tutorial on resizing framed OW, refer to Darthatron's OW tutorial...
------------------------------------------------------


Step 1...
Open your ROM with both OverWorld Changer/Resizer and OverWorld Editor. Find the OverWorld you wish to edit. In this tutorial, I will edit the male hero's overworld as well as it's walking movements, which is going down.
Spoiler:


NOTE:
---Refer to the OW Editor's index section. It is a guide for you to tell what number the overworld you're changing, since OW Resizer/Changer has no images of those OWs...



Step 2...
If your OW has frames, just select what fram you are gonna change as well in the OW Resizer/Changer... Once that's done, click the 'Dynamic Offset' for you to change the size of the OW...
Spoiler:


Now, in this tutorial, I'll change the hero into a Ho-oh, with the size of 64x64, so what to do? Simply click the 64x64 button and presto! The hero's OW is resized! And became black... :\
Spoiler:


But do not worry about the OW being black at the moment.
Lemme change the frames 3 and 4 as well, since in RUBY, those frames are the male hero's walking sprites.
I'm gonna change the pallete to number 4 as well, since the palletes in number 4 are very like the same as of those to Ho-oh.


Step 3...
Now, I'm gonna search for another OW with the same pallete colour as I will use so I can use the palletes.
Spoiler:


Once you found an OW with the same pallete, save it in a place where you can easily see it.

Then open two MS Paint programs. In the first one, open your spritesheet, and in the second one, open the other OW with the same palletes as we are gonna use...

Spoiler:


Then copy the OW from the spritesheet you want to insert and paste it in the other MS Paint program where you opened the OW...
Spoiler:


NOTE:
---You should also have the same background colour of the pallete being used in the ROM.


Fix the palletes and your sprite to perfection, and then make sure the new OW is the same size as what we changed earlier, which in this tutorial, was 64x64, so make sure the size is also the same.
Spoiler:


After that's done, save it, don't save it as 'Save As...', just click 'Save' or ctrl+s.



Step 4...
Now it's time to insert it into the ROM.
Go to the OW which we changed the size with OW Editor, and then Import our new OW to it and click 'Save' and you're done.
Now make the other frames with the same steps.
Spoiler:


Step 5...
Now, it's time to test it in the game.
Here's a video of the result I got.

Well, that would be all.
I do hope you will find this tutorial very helpful.


Credits go to the creators of the hacking tools; OW Resizer/Changer and OW Editor...
__________________

Last edited by destinedjagold; October 7th, 2008 at 02:20 PM. Reason: added a few notes...
  #2    
Old October 2nd, 2008, 04:24 AM
sab's Avatar
sab
Now too much of a life.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Midgar
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
looks great. I will try it as soon as I get the chance.
I really don't like hex...
Hey I got first post!!!!!

Last edited by sab; December 12th, 2008 at 02:26 PM. Reason: I got the first post
  #3    
Old October 2nd, 2008, 03:14 PM
Tyrantrum's Avatar
Tyrantrum
none pizza with left beef
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to Tyrantrum
Nice job Time. (b'')b
I might try this one day, when or that is IF I need to. ;P
__________________




(x) Tumblr
(y) Gallery
Previously Eeveon
  #4    
Old October 2nd, 2008, 03:19 PM
DarkShadow's Avatar
DarkShadow
When darkness falls
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DarkShadow
Thanks time for this great tut im going to try that right now and see if i can do it
__________________
Go to www.freewebs.com/pkmnhackers and check out my game also tell my if u can help me in making it!!

Making a Mix Cd of rap songs pm me if you want to hear them.
i need a scripter so please pm me thank you.





Last edited by DarkShadow; October 5th, 2008 at 02:26 PM.
  #5    
Old October 5th, 2008, 02:26 PM
DarkShadow's Avatar
DarkShadow
When darkness falls
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to DarkShadow
i tryed to to this again but my result this time way the green background did not leave the thing like its not transparent what do i do?
__________________
Go to www.freewebs.com/pkmnhackers and check out my game also tell my if u can help me in making it!!

Making a Mix Cd of rap songs pm me if you want to hear them.
i need a scripter so please pm me thank you.




  #6    
Old October 7th, 2008, 02:14 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Doesn't Overworld Changer Screw up your ROM?
__________________

  #7    
Old October 7th, 2008, 02:19 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooley View Post
Doesn't Overworld Changer Screw up your ROM?
well, I do think it does... However, I haven't experience having my ROM crashed because of that tool, but because we can't find free offsets manually, I think it really does corrupt the ROM...
That is why I put in the Advance Notes there that Darthatron's tutorial is the safest way to go.

I better edit it. :\
__________________
  #8    
Old October 7th, 2008, 02:32 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time View Post


well, I do think it does... However, I haven't experience having my ROM crashed because of that tool, but because we can't find free offsets manually, I think it really does corrupt the ROM...
That is why I put in the Advance Notes there that Darthatron's tutorial is the safest way to go.

I better edit it. :\
Ah, okay. Thanks.
I might use Darthatron's tutorial, sometime later...When it's most important to insert Entei

Good luck editing!
__________________

  #9    
Old October 7th, 2008, 05:05 PM
Dark Sakurati
Gone
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
This is usefull, but is there a way to change the pallets? I geuss not?
  #10    
Old October 8th, 2008, 03:02 AM
Sarcastic Prince's Avatar
Sarcastic Prince
Starting anew...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kwun Tong Mountains
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamehacker64 View Post
This is usefull, but is there a way to change the pallets? I geuss not?
Well, the palettes can be changed using OWE RE.

Anyway, question time!!

Does this tutorial work on D/P OW sprites as well?

Where did you download your OW Changer?

It doesn't work for me!!
__________________
I am now an anime dubber, cover singer and a fan of anime. I can still apply as a translator and grammar corrector, though.
  #11    
Old October 8th, 2008, 09:56 PM
Dark Sakurati
Gone
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by prince112 View Post
Well, the palettes can be changed using OWE RE.

Anyway, question time!!

Does this tutorial work on D/P OW sprites as well?

Where did you download your OW Changer?

It doesn't work for me!!
If you mean by Diamond and Pearl Roms, NO! Try whack a hack if you have not downloaded it from there, Do you know how to change the pallets with that programme?
  #12    
Old October 9th, 2008, 01:18 AM
Sarcastic Prince's Avatar
Sarcastic Prince
Starting anew...
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kwun Tong Mountains
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamehacker64 View Post
If you mean by Diamond and Pearl Roms, NO! Try whack a hack if you have not downloaded it from there, Do you know how to change the pallets with that programme?

I have a whole OW sprite sheet for D/P.

I'm just asking if I can insert the some of the OW sprites in a GBA ROM.

Do you see a Sprite Info thingy down in the OWE RE?

That's how you can change the palettes.
__________________
I am now an anime dubber, cover singer and a fan of anime. I can still apply as a translator and grammar corrector, though.

Last edited by Sarcastic Prince; October 9th, 2008 at 01:31 AM.
  #13    
Old October 12th, 2008, 05:36 PM
Dark Sakurati
Gone
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by prince112 View Post
I have a whole OW sprite sheet for D/P.

I'm just asking if I can insert the some of the OW sprites in a GBA ROM.

Do you see a Sprite Info thingy down in the OWE RE?

That's how you can change the palettes.
You can insert them, but what I ment was how do I change the current pallet colours?
  #14    
Old October 13th, 2008, 12:34 AM
Mario_Bones's Avatar
Mario_Bones
Lazuli Version Creator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Gender:
How exactly does Overworld Changer screw up your ROM?
__________________


Current Projects:
Pokemon Lazuli Version: 1% Complete (Or something like that)
Editing various tiles into the same style: Around 15% Complete
  #15    
Old October 15th, 2008, 12:47 PM
Satoshi Sugimori's Avatar
Satoshi Sugimori
Hermit
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Satoshi Sugimori
I inserted a sprite and in a-map and OW RE I can see it perfectly but in-game it doesn't show do you know how to fix that?
__________________
  #16    
Old October 15th, 2008, 01:22 PM
Lady Berlitz's Avatar
Lady Berlitz
Cinnamon ♪
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: An igloo in Canada
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoshi Sugimori View Post
I inserted a sprite and in a-map and OW RE I can see it perfectly but in-game it doesn't show do you know how to fix that?
You might have used the wrong palette or something.
There are certain palettes in OverworldEditorRE that do not show.
__________________
_█████████_
_█▄█████▄█_
_█▼▼▼▼▼▼▼█_
██_______██
_█▲▲▲▲▲▲▲█_
_█████████_
_██_____██_
  #17    
Old October 16th, 2008, 07:57 AM
Satoshi Sugimori's Avatar
Satoshi Sugimori
Hermit
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Satoshi Sugimori
No I think that in't the prblem because I used palette 6 if i'm right and that is used on multiple other sprites..
Please help..
__________________
  #18    
Old October 18th, 2008, 02:58 PM
pool92
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Hi, i'm creator of Owerworld Changer you can download the last versione here:

w*w.fileden.com/files/2008/3/12/1810430/Overworld_Changer.rar

There aren't bugs :)
  #19    
Old October 20th, 2008, 01:26 PM
Satoshi Sugimori's Avatar
Satoshi Sugimori
Hermit
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Satoshi Sugimori
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoshi Sugimori View Post
I inserted a sprite and in a-map and OW RE I can see it perfectly but in-game it doesn't show do you know how to fix that?
I really need an answer to this please..
__________________
  #20    
Old October 20th, 2008, 01:58 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoshi Sugimori View Post
I really need an answer to this please..
I can't help you with that 'cause I have never encountered that problem...
Sorry, but maybe the sprite is hidden or maybe that person number's hidden in the map's level script?

Other than that, I don't know...
__________________
  #21    
Old October 20th, 2008, 02:04 PM
Satoshi Sugimori's Avatar
Satoshi Sugimori
Hermit
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Satoshi Sugimori
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time View Post

I can't help you with that 'cause I have never encountered that problem...
Sorry, but maybe the sprite is hidden or maybe that person number's hidden in the map's level script?

Other than that, I don't know...
No problem I'll just ask it again maybe some1 nows XD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satoshi Sugimori View Post
I inserted a sprite and in a-map and OW RE I can see it perfectly but in-game it doesn't show do you know how to fix that?
__________________
  #22    
Old November 12th, 2008, 08:38 PM
joshuathomas2k7
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Gender:
How do you run this program. Could someone help me please.
  #23    
Old November 14th, 2008, 04:40 PM
Liquid Shadow's Avatar
Liquid Shadow
xD
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
OK so say I want to make my overworld 18x32, and not 16x32. How would i do that? (Using this program?)
  #24    
Old November 14th, 2008, 07:38 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by halobro35 View Post
OK so say I want to make my overworld 18x32, and not 16x32. How would i do that? (Using this program?)
use hex and not -this- program.
__________________
  #25    
Old November 23rd, 2008, 08:03 PM
Dark Sakurati
Gone
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Okay I have a problem, I cannot get overworld changer to work, I just click on it and it does not open, Please help someone!!!

Last edited by Dark Sakurati; December 2nd, 2008 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Changes my text colour
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.