Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Advance Map Guide for Beginners!

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old June 13th, 2008 (10:47 PM).
Austinia's Avatar
Austinia Austinia is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 152
Ok... so, I found it extremely hard to learn what I know about advance map... having to ask a ton of people (thanks a lot to G.K.S. who helped a ton) :p

So... I figured, maybe I'd try to make a comprehensive guide on how to add a basic grass tile. I figure every here can learn the rest easily after this part.










(found here) http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=104577







  #2    
Old June 14th, 2008 (04:34 AM).
GSanky GSanky is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Calm
Posts: 40
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to GSanky Send a message via Skype™ to GSanky
Thank you, very helpfull!
*is porting GS tiles into FR*
  #3    
Old June 14th, 2008 (09:06 AM).
cubone_master cubone_master is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
Posts: 7
i already know this but thanks!
this gonna help someones
  #4    
Old June 14th, 2008 (09:58 AM).
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight Tropical Sunlight is offline
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,578
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
This doesn't work for me! The game got glitched-up! (Sure I made a backup )
(I was trying to insert Kyledove PC and house tiles)
__________________
  #5    
Old June 14th, 2008 (04:52 PM).
GKS's Avatar
GKS GKS is offline
Retired Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,321
This a great tutorial Austinia, you sure learn stuff fast. Thanks for saying I helped you.
  #6    
Old June 14th, 2008 (05:31 PM).
/Circa's Avatar
/Circa /Circa is offline
a face in the clouds.
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 881
Quote originally posted by IceCharizard:
This doesn't work for me! The game got glitched-up! (Sure I made a backup )
(I was trying to insert Kyledove PC and house tiles)
You need to recolour everything, and then import it.

Uhh, you shouldn't be added tiles your going to use alot into tileset two, instead you should replace ones from tileset 1 :/
You added it into the black space, when you change cities that tile will be different, because it isn't the same tileset two in the city your in.

I'll explain it a bit better.
Pallet town has a different tileset 2 to Viridian, so if you added that grass tile to the one in Pallet town, when your in Viridian it will change to whatever is in the place where you inserted the tile.

Now to explain that xD
If you put it in a black space in the bottom right, and then went to a different town, the black space will be there, so therefor for that town and all other towns different to that tileset 2, it will be just a black space.

If you get it
As I said, if your adding tiles your going to use over and over, add them to tileset 1, cause that tileset doesn't change in cities.
__________________
dragging himself, forw
ard again, the pain has
still not diminished. E
ventually though, he e
merges inside a v
ery large room w

here everything about

the house

suddenly

changes.
  #7    
Old June 14th, 2008 (06:44 PM). Edited June 17th, 2008 by GKS.
GKS's Avatar
GKS GKS is offline
Retired Hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,321
Quote originally posted by CheesePeow:
You need to recolour everything, and then import it.

Uhh, you shouldn't be added tiles your going to use alot into tileset two, instead you should replace ones from tileset 1 :/
You added it into the black space, when you change cities that tile will be different, because it isn't the same tileset two in the city your in.

I'll explain it a bit better.
Pallet town has a different tileset 2 to Viridian, so if you added that grass tile to the one in Pallet town, when your in Viridian it will change to whatever is in the place where you inserted the tile.

Now to explain that xD
If you put it in a black space in the bottom right, and then went to a different town, the black space will be there, so therefor for that town and all other towns different to that tileset 2, it will be just a black space.

If you get it
As I said, if your adding tiles your going to use over and over, add them to tileset 1, cause that tileset doesn't change in cities.
What you said is right, but remember it is harder to replace tiles in tileset 1 because the new tile may be bigger than the one you want to replace. When tileset 2 is saved and altered, you could load it at any city you want and you will have that there.

For example you add a building or something to tileset 2 for pallet town, and if you want to use it in Pewter City, you could just load tileset 2.

I'm pretty sure that will work just fine. I try not to mess with tileset 1 after an incident today (wasted so much time ).

Actually I take back what I said, I think it is better to just change stuff in tileset 1.
The other way works too though.
  #8    
Old May 8th, 2009 (01:54 PM).
BOBcorevette BOBcorevette is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 9
[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Logan/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot.jpg[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Logan/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.jpg[/IMG]mine still wont work i edited the pallet and everything, and it still is grey in my block editor. i dont know if these pics worked but i tried to up load them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg advancemapimage.jpg‎ (239.9 KB, 30 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: jpg pallete.jpg‎ (79.5 KB, 18 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #9    
Old May 8th, 2009 (11:33 PM).
Went's Avatar
Went Went is offline
Goomba of wisdom
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Madrid
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 18,807
Send a message via Skype™ to Went
Please do not revive threads after a month from the last post.

~Closed
__________________
Mod of The Playground, Advance Gen and 5th Gen
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:42 PM.