Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #10126    
Old June 29th, 2009, 10:41 PM
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkPrince304 View Post
@Mega Maccer:
This is it: 00460568

I am saying my question again
1st: What's the Tile Molester Offset of the Intro Hero in Fire Red
I am having problems editing it in black and white colours
So I have the Pallet Offset ready and I just need the Sprite Offset

2nd:
How do I change the sprite frame of a sprite on the same spot it is standing in a script?

Please help me
You've posted your question twice on the same page. If necessary, PM someone who knows what they're doing. otherwise, dont keep positng the same question over and over.
._.
  #10127    
Old June 30th, 2009, 07:36 AM
pizzaM4N
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
hi,
has anybody a real time clock (ips) fix for pokemon Emerald? I play it on a supercard miniSD (flash card for GBA).

regards pizzaM4N

Last edited by pizzaM4N; June 30th, 2009 at 07:50 AM.
  #10128    
Old June 30th, 2009, 08:52 AM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exon View Post
Just compiling the script and allocating it to a script tile isn't working. I wanted to see if it would freeze if I set the unknow to 0000 and the variable number to 0000 as well, and it did. Yet I tried using the 0300 and 4050 from the diegoisawesome's tutorial and they didn't work.


So, does anyone know if there are particular numbers we need to use for unknown and variable number to get a script to work? ...and if so, how do we figure them out?
Instead of 0300 try 0003 and 4050.Thats what I use and it works.Also it can be different if you dont have the newest advanced map,but it should be that.
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #10129    
Old June 30th, 2009, 10:04 AM
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
I have a few questions...

1. When I use a script editor to edit texts, a msgbox may copy itself into another msgbox and screw up the text.
2. When I try to load a picture into UNLZ.gba, it says this error: "Error Image not indexed"
3. Sometimes my scripts ruin themselves


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10130    
Old June 30th, 2009, 10:25 AM
Vednix's Avatar
Vednix
:D
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyman2092 View Post
I have a few questions...

1. When I use a script editor to edit texts, a msgbox may copy itself into another msgbox and screw up the text.
2. When I try to load a picture into UNLZ.gba, it says this error: "Error Image not indexed"
3. Sometimes my scripts ruin themselves

I can answer number 2 for ya.

For it to be indexed,. it needs to be in 16 colour bit mode. To do this, you'll need some image editing softer that can lower the bit rate. the most popular is IrfanView
._.
  #10131    
Old June 30th, 2009, 10:51 AM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyman2092 View Post
I have a few questions...

1. When I use a script editor to edit texts, a msgbox may copy itself into another msgbox and screw up the text.
2. When I try to load a picture into UNLZ.gba, it says this error: "Error Image not indexed"
3. Sometimes my scripts ruin themselves
1. Well that's why it's a script editor and not a text Lol. But if you're adding more text, it's not safe especially when there's another script right after the one you're editing.

When you add, you overwrite the next bytes, and since the next bytes are used and not Free space, XSE doesn't repoint the script or something similar to that. All you have to do is decompile the script, and replace the offset "0x8105925" with a dynamic one "@msg" and insert a #dynamic tag at the top of the full script. XSE will auto-replace it for you

2. Download IrfanView, and open the picture. Goto Image->Decrease Color depth->click on either 256, or 16 colors->Click OK, and Save file.

3.
It's not the script. Because the script doesn't have a brain or thought processes XD
Maybe you should post, so we can help you.

  #10132    
Old June 30th, 2009, 11:20 AM
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
Ok, I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the script that I'm using, but it should work...

So, my problem is, I made a script where you see a poké ball, you click it, it shows a picture of a pokemon, asks if you want it yes/no. If no, then ok, choose another one, end script. When you press yes you go on, get the pokemon, fanfair, your rival picks a pokemon and then he leaves...

This all takes place in the lab, with an aid and your rival. Now, my problem is... that after you choose your pokemon, you can choose if you want to give it a name. When you press no the script runs fine and it works as it should. When you press yes the script also works fine... but at the end of the script you don't control the player but the lab assistant... Why's this?

I don't think the script is need... but I'm still posting it xD
Oh, and it's a level script.

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @Start
checkflag 0x828
if 0x1 goto @Done
showpokepic 0x8 0xA 0x3
msgbox @WantFreezpool 0x5
compare LASTRESULT 0x0
if 0x1 goto @No
hidepokepic
msgbox @GoodChoice 0x4
hidesprite LASTTALKED
fanfare 0x13E
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
givepokemon 0x8 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
msgbox @GiveName 0x5
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 call @NameDoing
applymovement 0x5 @MoveRival
pause 0x50
msgbox @RivalPick 0x4
hidesprite 0x2
fanfare 0x13E
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
msgbox @FindQuick 0x6
applymovement 0x5 @MoveRival2
pause 0x70
hidesprite 0x5
setflag 0x828
setflag 0x500
setflag 0x201
setflag 0x203
release
end

#org @Done
msgbox @AlreadyHavePokemon 0x6
release
end

#org @No
hidepokepic
release
end

#org @NameDoing
setvar 0x8004 0x0
call @NameDoing2
return

#org @NameDoing2
fadescreen 0x1
special 0x9E
waitstate
return

#org @WantFreezpool
= [blue_fr]AID: FREEZPOOL, the WATER-TYPE\nPOKéMON!\pDo you want FREEZPOOL?

#org @GoodChoice
= [blue_fr]AID: I think that's a great choice,\n[player]!\p[player] received a FREEZPOOL!

#org @GiveName
= Would you like to give FREEZPOOL\na NICKNAME?

#org @RivalPick
= [blue_fr][rival]: Then I'll pick[.]\pThis one!\p[rival] received a SQUIBEEL!

#org @FindQuick
= [blue_fr]AID: Find him, quickly!\nPlease!\p[rival]: Sure!\pC'mon, [player]!\pLet's find him!

#org @AlreadyHavePokemon
= You already got your POKéMON!

#org @MoveRival
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x13
#raw 0x11
#raw 0xFE

#org @MoveRival2
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0x10
#raw 0xFE


I'll try if it helps to do the name choosing later in the game...
But I'm still wondering why this happens, so if anyone has an answer please answer :D


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #10133    
Old June 30th, 2009, 11:25 AM
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag
the man in black
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Is the Lab Assitant's movements on Look down? If so change it to No movement. If not, I'll look over the script a bit more.
"i am the hero pokécommunity deserves, but not the one it needs right now"

paired with christos
retired rom hacker
please PM me any moderation requests (keep in mind the 24 hour rule)
  #10134    
Old June 30th, 2009, 11:42 AM
Lyzo's Avatar
Lyzo
On vacation
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lyzo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alice. View Post
Is the Lab Assitant's movements on Look down? If so change it to No movement. If not, I'll look over the script a bit more.
That fixed it :D!!!
Thanks for replying so quickly!


Thank you The Blueprint !!!
  #10135    
Old June 30th, 2009, 06:14 PM
darrkwolfy
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
please dont eat me if this has already been asked because 400 pages is a bit much to read.

im trying to edit the fire red titlescreen i want to use a new tileset and tilemap i used my own images and got them set up but the files were larger than the originals so i used free space finder to find a new adress i had it save it there then autimaticly repoint but when i start the game either the images are not there or are in about a million peices all over the screen compleatly unrecognizable how can i do this please let me know asap thx.
  #10136    
Old June 30th, 2009, 07:07 PM
Doom Chaos's Avatar
Doom Chaos
I don't have a title
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 20
Nature: Calm
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Me again, but this time this is very very VERY easy. I looked at the tutorial Dante made for the intro hero for Fire Red, but I can't save the BG in .act. Can somebody upload it somewhere I could download it? Everytime I choose the format, it saves it like this: bg.pal. I can't do a thing with that! I tried naming it "bg.act", but still not working! If I change the format manually, it screws the palette up. What the heck...
  #10137    
Old June 30th, 2009, 08:23 PM
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
how to revamp old sprites?
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
  #10138    
Old June 30th, 2009, 08:24 PM
PlatniumPiano's Avatar
PlatniumPiano
You are now breathing manually
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yesterday
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Well I guess I have a simple question, but it's kind of long...

I have a trainer in unLZ. Steven's sprite, to be exact. So I went to import my newly indexed .png file, a steven-ish sprite with a green shirt. I clicked export pallete, and all of the other boxes. No problems, the sprite was editied... However, I go to the previous trainer sprite in the list... and I get this:

Spoiler:




A gentlemen Trainer Sprite with the same pallete as the New stevens'. Not only that, but all of the other trainers before Steven now have a dumb- looking palette in unlZ- all of them have pallete 1039. Now, when I fight a gentleman in the game... He looks normal. He has a totally different pallete than what shows up in unLZ. Sure, this is confusing, but what's more so is that (the new) Steven's in-game sprite now has a discolored palette. However, in unLZ, it looks fine. Also, in every trainer editor I open... all trainer palettes, except Steven's, look normal.

My question is- How can I fix Steven's Palette in game, and the other trainer palettes in unLZ? Is my ROM screwed up? Will I be able to not edit any more trainers? Did I miss something important?

This is quite an important question, seeing as I need to edit the majority of trainers for my hack.

Thank you in advance

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
  #10139    
Old July 1st, 2009, 01:52 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
Me again, but this time this is very very VERY easy. I looked at the tutorial Dante made for the intro hero for Fire Red, but I can't save the BG in .act. Can somebody upload it somewhere I could download it? Everytime I choose the format, it saves it like this: bg.pal. I can't do a thing with that! I tried naming it "bg.act", but still not working! If I change the format manually, it screws the palette up. What the heck...
Try using an updated VBA version to see if it matters.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaulJones View Post
Well I guess I have a simple question, but it's kind of long...

I have a trainer in unLZ. Steven's sprite, to be exact. So I went to import my newly indexed .png file, a steven-ish sprite with a green shirt. I clicked export pallete, and all of the other boxes. No problems, the sprite was editied... However, I go to the previous trainer sprite in the list... and I get this:

Spoiler:




A gentlemen Trainer Sprite with the same pallete as the New stevens'. Not only that, but all of the other trainers before Steven now have a dumb- looking palette in unlZ- all of them have pallete 1039. Now, when I fight a gentleman in the game... He looks normal. He has a totally different pallete than what shows up in unLZ. Sure, this is confusing, but what's more so is that (the new) Steven's in-game sprite now has a discolored palette. However, in unLZ, it looks fine. Also, in every trainer editor I open... all trainer palettes, except Steven's, look normal.

My question is- How can I fix Steven's Palette in game, and the other trainer palettes in unLZ? Is my ROM screwed up? Will I be able to not edit any more trainers? Did I miss something important?

This is quite an important question, seeing as I need to edit the majority of trainers for my hack.

Thank you in advance ^_^
unLZ keeps the palette and sprites list cached into the ROMName.gba.spr and ROMName.gba.pal files. Make sure to close the ROM and delete them both. Then load the ROM again with unLZ.
  #10140    
Old July 1st, 2009, 02:41 AM
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
hmmm what's the pic number of the battle box(the one that shows you the HP & EXP bars)at unlz in fire red?
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
  #10141    
Old July 1st, 2009, 03:27 AM
wolfy
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
im using advance map with my friend were making a hack and such , but were having a problem

henever we try make a sprite, it stays in the corner on the "0" sprite.
it dosnt change even if i apply a script or not, and i made all the vars the same as another character and it still didnt work
Any ideas?
  #10142    
Old July 1st, 2009, 06:02 AM
Doom Chaos's Avatar
Doom Chaos
I don't have a title
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 20
Nature: Calm
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfy View Post
im using advance map with my friend were making a hack and such , but were having a problem

henever we try make a sprite, it stays in the corner on the "0" sprite.
it dosnt change even if i apply a script or not, and i made all the vars the same as another character and it still didnt work
Any ideas?
Go on events, click on your 0 sprite (left click) and change de picture no. And if you want to move it, you have to click, hold and place it somewhere else.

To answer HackMew, I'm gonna try in a few seconds, I'll edit my post for results.

EDIT: Should I take a stable version or a beta (the beta is the latest release)?
EDIT2: The beta makes it work fine. Thanks
EDIT3: After I enter a name, the sprite becomes screwy, why?

Last edited by Doom Chaos; July 1st, 2009 at 08:28 AM.
  #10143    
Old July 1st, 2009, 06:07 AM
Tropical Sunlight's Avatar
Tropical Sunlight
The Faltine
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Tropical Sunlight
Is it already possible to change the font in FR/LG?
  #10144    
Old July 1st, 2009, 07:12 AM
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag
the man in black
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Yeah it is, in tile molester I think :\ I can't entirely remember, take a whack at asking Zeikku. He has fully incorporated a font hack in LC.
"i am the hero pokécommunity deserves, but not the one it needs right now"

paired with christos
retired rom hacker
please PM me any moderation requests (keep in mind the 24 hour rule)
  #10145    
Old July 1st, 2009, 07:19 AM
Gamewhale's Avatar
Gamewhale
lol --
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
I'm trying to add more trainers to my Ruby hack using A-Trainer, but when I edit the trainer amount and then go into the game and battle a trainer that was already there (not a new one that I have created), the game displays the trainer class and then a whole lot of random text shows up and the game crashes (so therefore I can't battle any trainer). Is there a way to fix this?

  #10146    
Old July 1st, 2009, 08:06 AM
PlatniumPiano's Avatar
PlatniumPiano
You are now breathing manually
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yesterday
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
unLZ keeps the palette and sprites list cached into the ROMName.gba.spr and ROMName.gba.pal files. Make sure to close the ROM and delete them both. Then load the ROM again with unLZ.
Thank you for the help! But now I have another problem with that. Every trainer sprites behind Steven's is now 1040. And all of them look fine in game (and a little better in unLZ), but steven still looks like this:
Spoiler:

And still wierd looking in unLZ. I tried importing steven again, and guess what? I'm back to square one.

This is making me think that my ROM is corrupted... am I wrong?

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
  #10147    
Old July 1st, 2009, 08:20 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamewhale View Post
I'm trying to add more trainers to my Ruby hack using A-Trainer, but when I edit the trainer amount and then go into the game and battle a trainer that was already there (not a new one that I have created), the game displays the trainer class and then a whole lot of random text shows up and the game crashes (so therefore I can't battle any trainer). Is there a way to fix this?
The only way to fix it is to wait for a new A-Trainer, since that bug has been reported (and fixed) already. Basically a few pointers to the trainer names weren't repointed causing the random text or whatever. I guess you don't want to go through the trouble of finding and repointing them by yourself, isn't it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaulJones View Post
Thank you for the help! But now I have another problem with that. Every trainer sprites behind Steven's is now 1040. And all of them look fine in game (and a little better in unLZ), but steven still looks like this:
Spoiler:

And still wierd looking in unLZ. I tried importing steven again, and guess what? I'm back to square one.

This is making me think that my ROM is corrupted... am I wrong?
Is the Auto abort enabled?
  #10148    
Old July 1st, 2009, 09:49 AM
PlatniumPiano's Avatar
PlatniumPiano
You are now breathing manually
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yesterday
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Auto abort is enabled. I took it off and it worked, but I'mna put it on again. But unLZ just aborts it then, so how do I put it in?

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
  #10149    
Old July 1st, 2009, 11:36 AM
Yummeh.Strawberriez's Avatar
Yummeh.Strawberriez
Mapper/OW Spriter (:
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Littleroot Town Ftw
Nature: Jolly
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Hey i was wondering if someone could help me out, I wasn't quite sure where to put this, but i figure this seemed best.

I'd like to know if anybody has made a WORKING Rombase of Kyledoves DPPt tiles, because i have looked around a lot, and the closest i can find is one that has messed up door animations.
But the main problem is that NONE of the supposed kyledove have the interior tiles?
It's quite irritating, i would insert them myself and palette edit them myself, but i am shocking at inserting tiles, i fail epically..
Overall i really would like my hack to have the full kyledove DPPt style tiles, the buildings, the trees, grass, and especcially interior.
But i cannot find a thing.
And maybe if there isn't one, i was wondering if someone could insert them? I would of course give credit etc.
Any help would be appreciated an insane amount, i would be extremely grateful.
Thankyou in advance,
George.
Pokémon Rhenic/Poptart Creator (:

Happy to help anyone in need of a mapper/OW Spriter.
  #10150    
Old July 1st, 2009, 12:36 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaulJones View Post
Auto abort is enabled. I took it off and it worked, but I'mna put it on again. But unLZ just aborts it then, so how do I put it in?
You never, really never have to disable that option. Instead, you have to repoint the image you want to insert somewhere else by finding a free space area and putting the offset you found in the Image Offset when importing it into unLZ, making sure to have "Automatically fix pointers" enabled. To fix your screwed up ROM, see my tutorial in the Documents and Tutorial section, HackMew's Knowledge. The link is in my sig.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:54 AM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.