The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old June 29th, 2009 (02:22 PM).
Link_971's Avatar
Link_971
French Rom-Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: France
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Link_971
Quote:
Originally Posted by -DarK- View Post
Well, if the pointers for the sprites can be changed, so should the pointers for the cries, I guess. Or not?
Yes, but before we need to create tool for this.

And R/S/E capture : Freeze
FR/LG capture : OK (with not entries)
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old June 29th, 2009 (06:39 PM).
Gloosh's Avatar
Gloosh
Is Playsing the Porkemons.
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: H-TOWN BABY!!!!
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
I used this to put in 2 sprites and it worked perfectly. (Bulbasaur and Charmander)
Then I changed the back sprite of Bulbasaur.
I entered the battle with Gary and the back sprite of my new pokemon was there, but the coloring was completely messed up

HALP?
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old June 29th, 2009 (06:44 PM).
Link_971's Avatar
Link_971
French Rom-Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: France
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Link_971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloosh View Post
I used this to put in 2 sprites and it worked perfectly. (Bulbasaur and Charmander)
Then I changed the back sprite of Bulbasaur.
I entered the battle with Gary and the back sprite of my new pokemon was there, but the coloring was completely messed up

HALP?
Change offset of the palette with RS Ball.
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old June 29th, 2009 (10:11 PM).
-DarK-
Hold Your Colour
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to -DarK-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloosh View Post
I used this to put in 2 sprites and it worked perfectly. (Bulbasaur and Charmander)
Then I changed the back sprite of Bulbasaur.
I entered the battle with Gary and the back sprite of my new pokemon was there, but the coloring was completely messed up

HALP?
The backsprite must have the exact same pallete as the normal sprite, because they use that same one in-game.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old June 29th, 2009 (11:23 PM).
amtrax's Avatar
amtrax
Pheonix will rule the world...
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Age: 20
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to amtrax Send a message via Skype™ to amtrax
Quote:
Originally Posted by -DarK- View Post
The backsprite must have the exact same pallete as the normal sprite, because they use that same one in-game.
actually your backsprite should have the shiny pallete while the front sprite has the normal pallete and the games programming shares the pallates and recognizes the back sprite as the shiny pallete

anyway i had the problem of the black screen upon encountering the pokemon inserted over a ? spot after celebi aswell
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old June 30th, 2009 (08:35 AM).
PlatniumPiano's Avatar
PlatniumPiano
You are now breathing manually
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yesterday
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Haha thanks this tutorial really helped alot:


I didn't really want to fight a dude BUT oh well lol.

I do have one question, though:

Is it possible to edit/add a new trainer into uNLZ? Because that's kinda what I wanted to insert but I got a Pokemon instead lol
__________________

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old June 30th, 2009 (09:25 AM).
FinalZero's Avatar
FinalZero
...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Yes, but before we need to create tool for this.

And R/S/E capture : Freeze
FR/LG capture : OK (with not entries)
What do you mean: "(with not entries)"? Do you mean that there just isn't any pokedex entries?

Btw, those offsets you posted are for the cries right?

Quote:
Is it possible to edit/add a new trainer into uNLZ? Because that's kinda what I wanted to insert but I got a Pokemon instead lol
Well, it's easy enough to add the graphic to the rom with UNLZ, and it's easy to create a new trainer with PET (or some variant), there's plenty of empty trainer entries in a rom. The problem is I don't know how to assign the picture to the trainer. I'll run some tests tonight and see if I can figure something out;

Btw, speaking of the pokedex earlier, does anyone know how to edit the part of the pokedex in FRLG that lets one go through entries by the habitat of the pokemon? I'm saying, if one added pokemon to the ?????????? spots, would there be some way to add them to the habitat part also?

Also, on the subject of adding pokemon, does anyone know how to repoint the learned moves list of pokemon? That is, if one added a pokemon, they wouldn't be abled to tell it to learn moves unless they deleted some that already exist for other pokemon. (Same situation for egg moves, which I'm working on... slowly...)
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old June 30th, 2009 (12:45 PM). Edited June 30th, 2009 by liveitout.
liveitout's Avatar
liveitout
What? Where?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
You might want to add a little disclaimer to your tutorial: it doesn't work in Emerald. The sprite can be changed, but its palette will stay the same.

Okay, I managed to change a sprite image in Ruby. (Yay.) But I can't change any of the other attributes, like attacks and type. Pokemon Editor says that everything saves fine, but when I load the game, Electrike is still an electric Pokemon with the same attacks.
__________________
Wal-mart (a haiku)

Tendrils spreading wide,
Oh bastion of urban sprawl
Fill us with your grace.
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old June 30th, 2009 (01:04 PM). Edited June 30th, 2009 by FinalZero.
FinalZero's Avatar
FinalZero
...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
What do you suppose I did wrong?
When you put the sprite into the rom with UNLZ, you have to check the "export pallete" box also, then repoint the pokemon's offsets to the sprite AND pallete with Pokemon Editor or some other program (Pokemon Editor is the only one that I'm aware of.).

Also, a small note about Pokemon Editor Pro: It switches the base xp and catch rate when you save (my version does this at least). I don't know if the author ever released a version that fixes this or not. So, to make sure the base xp and catch rate stay correct, hit the save button twice so it switches it back correctly on the second hit. Anyone else have this problem with Pokemon Editor Pro?
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old June 30th, 2009 (01:40 PM).
liveitout's Avatar
liveitout
What? Where?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Sorry, I edited my post since then. Yes, I checked all of the boxes and repointed everything. I think it's just Emerald. I'm using Ruby now, and it's much better with the sprites, but I still can't edit anything aside from sprite graphics.
__________________
Wal-mart (a haiku)

Tendrils spreading wide,
Oh bastion of urban sprawl
Fill us with your grace.
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old June 30th, 2009 (02:04 PM).
FinalZero's Avatar
FinalZero
...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
I think it's just Emerald.
Oh, I didn't know it was emerald you were working with. If you explore an Emerald rom with UNLZ, you'll see why sprites mess up; Emeralds are twice as large to include the graphic movement that begins when a pokemon comes out.

I'm not sure why Pokemon Editor Pro (hencforth PEP) isn't working for you. I can only ask you to make sure you're editing and testing the same rom.

Quote:
Yes, I checked all of the boxes and repointed everything.
Well, you actually only need the the "Export Image" and "Export Pallet" checked. You only need "Auto abort..." if you're replacing an already existing picture instead of putting it in empty space (lots of FFs or 00s). I've never used the "automatically fix pointers" option. I do all my repointing of pokemon sprites through PEP.
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old June 30th, 2009 (03:05 PM). Edited June 30th, 2009 by liveitout.
liveitout's Avatar
liveitout
What? Where?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
I think I know why it might not work with Emerald - isn't Emerald's free space byte 00 instead of FF? As for the animations, there's no problem with that at all. I edited my sprite so that its tail wiggled a bit, and it worked. The only error is with the palette.

Edit: Well, I've solved my problem. I was changing info for the wrong Pokemon. xDD It works perfectly now (in Ruby, at least).
__________________
Wal-mart (a haiku)

Tendrils spreading wide,
Oh bastion of urban sprawl
Fill us with your grace.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old June 30th, 2009 (03:33 PM).
Link_971's Avatar
Link_971
French Rom-Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: France
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Link_971
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinalZero View Post
What do you mean: "(with not entries)"?
"Without entries", sorry.


Quote:
Originally Posted by liveitout View Post
You might want to add a little disclaimer to your tutorial: it doesn't work in Emerald.
No. It works for Emerald, and all versions too.



Quote:
Originally Posted by liveitout View Post
I think I know why it might not work with Emerald - isn't Emerald's free space byte 00 instead of FF?
You need FF free space, in all versions, for insert new sprites with palettes.
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old June 30th, 2009 (06:30 PM).
liveitout's Avatar
liveitout
What? Where?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
You need FF free space, in all versions, for insert new sprites with palettes.
According to XSE's scripting guide, Emerald's free space byte is 00.
__________________
Wal-mart (a haiku)

Tendrils spreading wide,
Oh bastion of urban sprawl
Fill us with your grace.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old June 30th, 2009 (06:48 PM).
tpravetz
... doesn't exist.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
I put up a note on Emerald. I never use Emerald, and it is very rarely used as a hacking base, so I don't know how to edit the animation and all that, but I am pretty sure that will work for fixing the palette...
__________________
Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old June 30th, 2009 (08:39 PM).
FinalZero's Avatar
FinalZero
...
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
According to XSE's scripting guide, Emerald's free space byte is 00.
It has both. In the middle of the rom it has patches of 00s, but at the end there's a large chunk of FFs. Anyways, you shouldn't be hacking Emerald; It's notoriously unstable.
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old July 1st, 2009 (10:41 AM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
no non noooooooo
this is my final result:
I'm getting sick about it,I'm doing evrything and I get this stupid girugamesh!
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old July 1st, 2009 (11:51 AM).
tpravetz
... doesn't exist.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
no non noooooooo
this is my final result:
I'm getting sick about it,I'm doing evrything and I get this stupid girugamesh!

What ROM are you using Onyx?
__________________
Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old July 1st, 2009 (12:58 PM).
-DarK-
Hold Your Colour
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to -DarK-
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpravetz View Post
What ROM are you using Onyx?
And also, can you tell step-by-step what exactly you did?
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old July 1st, 2009 (05:41 PM).
tpravetz
... doesn't exist.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by -DarK- View Post
And also, can you tell step-by-step what exactly you did?
Yes, that too. That'd definitely help us diagnose your problem...
__________________
Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old July 1st, 2009 (07:48 PM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
the room I use is fire red
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old July 1st, 2009 (08:18 PM).
Cyclone Dragon's Avatar
Cyclone Dragon
Dragon & Video Game Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hyrule
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
This looks really awesome, and I tried to do it, but im having a small problem; in step 11 when I go to FSF and try to open the ROM i downloaded, it doesn't show up.. I checked it out online, and it said something about a nds file and a emulator? Do you know what im talking about? im confused, It says that you need an emulator to open a nds. file. So did i download something wrong? Or can someone explain to me how to open an nds file...

Also Is this only for a certain game? because i have platnium and diamond, and i downloaded a platnium ROM, could that be the problem...? I mean like is this only for Fire Red, or emerald?
__________________

(^ Pokemon Team Unfinished^)


"Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old July 1st, 2009 (08:51 PM).
tpravetz
... doesn't exist.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In a swirling vortex of impending doom
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
FSF only works for GBA files, and Platinum is a NDS. I have never tried doing this with a NDS file, but I would be willing to bet my bottom dollar that it won't work... Sorry...
__________________
Join the Suro revolution |Win the war of Majasuroshia| Fight the Oppressors
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old July 1st, 2009 (09:06 PM).
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
maybe my sprite wasn't good?I've tried to replace bulbusaur with a magmortar that I took from bulbapedia....
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old July 1st, 2009 (09:31 PM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Quote:
Originally Posted by onyx79 View Post
maybe my sprite wasn't good?I've tried to replace bulbusaur with a magmortar that I took from bulbapedia....
Hmm, have you triend shrinking it to 64*64 size?

Nice tutorial by the way mate, now I can have Minusle and all the real Pokemon up yo 3rd gen. :D
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.