The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #10301    
Old July 8th, 2009, 05:47 PM
lizardman974's Avatar
lizardman974
I'm honestly just that awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Not too sure if this is in the correct topic due to the nature of the question, but here goes:

Is it possible to play two different hacks of Pokemon Fire Red on the same emulator if I use different ROMs? I'm wondering because I don't want to accidentally erase my saved data and have to start all over again.
  #10302    
Old July 8th, 2009, 05:49 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
yea, just name the two roms two different things.

at least, it works with vba.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #10303    
Old July 8th, 2009, 06:02 PM
lizardman974's Avatar
lizardman974
I'm honestly just that awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Thanks for the quick answer!
  #10304    
Old July 8th, 2009, 07:06 PM
DrBoners
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
I am getting an error message when I try to play any version of pokemon that says "The 1M sub-circuit board is not installed."

What does this mean and how do I fix it?
  #10305    
Old July 8th, 2009, 07:11 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBoners View Post
I am getting an error message when I try to play any version of pokemon that says "The 1M sub-circuit board is not installed."

What does this mean and how do I fix it?

Options>emulator> savetype> flash 128k


next time please search the forums, as it was already answered multiple times.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #10306    
Old July 8th, 2009, 07:17 PM
DrBoners
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by BananasGoMoo View Post
Options>emulator> savetype> flash 128k


next time please search the forums, as it was already answered multiple times.
Thank you very much! I also apologize for my ignorance, I did not realize that option would effect this problem.
  #10307    
Old July 8th, 2009, 07:19 PM
BananasGoMoo's Avatar
BananasGoMoo
Pokemon Electrum
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, California
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Send a message via AIM to BananasGoMoo
no problem.

i think vba is set to this by default. or at least mine was
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Images in the spoiler tags still count; remove the images in the spoiler tags -- too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #10308    
Old July 8th, 2009, 09:32 PM
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
well I took a theme from emerald and put on fire red it seems like it has been changed but then I played the song on sappy,and instead of playing sappy has quited and I had to reopen it,is that OK or not?
also how to change the trainer\pokemon battle music,lots of people was asking for it and no one answered....
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
  #10309    
Old July 8th, 2009, 11:43 PM
Xatoku's Avatar
Xatoku
Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Is there a way to search for specific scripts? Like say I want to change the surf script to make it so that you need waterfall to surf instead, how would I go about finding it? Is there any program in which I could type "would you like to use SURF?" find the text, and then find the whole script offset?
  #10310    
Old July 8th, 2009, 11:56 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
Tried it. I tried it in two ways (probably not the right ones).
1- I take my original rival sprite and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. I take the 16-bit sprite and paste it on the BLUE sprite. Results: Same problem as before.
2- I paste my original rival sprite on the BLUE sprite. I save and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. Results: Worse than before. All the colours are screwed up. None match and there is no transparency.

What did I do wrong?
Fact is you're pasting your sprite over another. Don't do that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xatoku View Post
Is there a way to search for specific scripts? Like say I want to change the surf script to make it so that you need waterfall to surf instead, how would I go about finding it? Is there any program in which I could type "would you like to use SURF?" find the text, and then find the whole script offset?
You just need to find the text. Any hex editor that support tables will do.
__________________
  #10311    
Old July 9th, 2009, 04:38 AM
sab's Avatar
sab
Now too much of a life.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Midgar
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom Chaos View Post
Tried it. I tried it in two ways (probably not the right ones).
1- I take my original rival sprite and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. I take the 16-bit sprite and paste it on the BLUE sprite. Results: Same problem as before.
2- I paste my original rival sprite on the BLUE sprite. I save and convert it in 16-bit with Irfanview. Results: Worse than before. All the colours are screwed up. None match and there is no transparency.

What did I do wrong?
Is the new sprite in the same palette as the old one?
__________________
anCay ouyay eakspay igpay atinlay? Ifay osay easeplay m.p.ay
emay enthay opycay anday astepay isthay inay ouryay ignaturesay.
  #10312    
Old July 9th, 2009, 05:00 AM
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
can someone tell me what are the color offsets of those sprites in hacckmew's APE?
here:


I really need it....
please insert the sprite and do a screen shot of the offset
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
  #10313    
Old July 9th, 2009, 05:34 AM
daigonite's Avatar
daigonite
Ninjas Against Bottomless Pits
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: With the Birds
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Impish
You can use Unlz.gba to find the pallate's offset... also, you may need to repoint the sprite.
__________________
  #10314    
Old July 9th, 2009, 06:01 AM
onyx79's Avatar
onyx79
Red Dead Revolver
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange Islands (=
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charon the Ferryman View Post
You can use Unlz.gba to find the pallate's offset... also, you may need to repoint the sprite.
the thing is,I CANNOT use UNLZ -____-
__________________
my room base: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...5&postcount=64
  #10315    
Old July 9th, 2009, 09:59 AM
elliott 2
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
When I'm playing on visual boy advance, and I reach a certain point in the player freezes and the screen just scrolls when I try to move the player. Can someone explain how to fix this?
  #10316    
Old July 9th, 2009, 10:02 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliott 2 View Post
When I'm playing on visual boy advance, and I reach a certain point in the player freezes and the screen just scrolls when I try to move the player. Can someone explain how to fix this?
What VisualBoyAdvance version are you currently using?
__________________
  #10317    
Old July 9th, 2009, 10:40 AM
Blaziken_rjcf's Avatar
Blaziken_rjcf
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
i cant make a single signpost script that works. in theory it should. i placed it over the right place, i set everything right, i even open it on XSE before playing the game but i press A and nothing happens. here's what i wrote (got this from another website's tutorial)

#dynamic 0x00000CC

#org @something
message @welcome 0x6
end

#org @welcome
= Welcome to Sabrina Town! Just when you thought \nthings couldn't get weirder.
  #10318    
Old July 9th, 2009, 11:04 AM
elliott 2
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
What VisualBoyAdvance version are you currently using?
Its says the version is "1.8.0-beta3"
  #10319    
Old July 9th, 2009, 11:18 AM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaziken_rjcf View Post
i cant make a single signpost script that works. in theory it should. i placed it over the right place, i set everything right, i even open it on XSE before playing the game but i press A and nothing happens. here's what i wrote (got this from another website's tutorial)

#dynamic 0x00000CC

#org @something
message @welcome 0x6
end

#org @welcome
= Welcome to Sabrina Town! Just when you thought \nthings couldn't get weirder.
Please refer to the Script Help Thread.


Quote:
Originally Posted by elliott 2 View Post
Its says the version is "1.8.0-beta3"
And wat game are you playing? Does it happens with other games?
__________________
  #10320    
Old July 9th, 2009, 11:20 AM
elliott 2
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
It happened before with my hack of pokemon ruby. This time it was a hack of pokemon firered.

Last edited by elliott 2; July 9th, 2009 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #10321    
Old July 9th, 2009, 12:01 PM
Eternal Finality
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2008
How do I change the position/map where the player begins in FireRed?
  #10322    
Old July 9th, 2009, 12:02 PM
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eternal Finality View Post
How do I change the position/map where the player begins in FireRed?
Start Map Chooser Advance - SMCA for short.

The only bug is that it won't let you set letter posistions like A, B, C, D, etc...
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10323    
Old July 9th, 2009, 01:31 PM
HackMew's Avatar
HackMew
Mewtwo Strikes Back
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyman2092 View Post
Start Map Chooser Advance - SMCA for short.

The only bug is that it won't let you set letter posistions like A, B, C, D, etc...
Letter positions?? What do you mean? o.O
__________________
  #10324    
Old July 9th, 2009, 01:42 PM
monkeyman2092's Avatar
monkeyman2092
Aipom Awesome!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by HackMew View Post
Letter positions?? What do you mean? o.O
Ex:

X pos: A Y pos: 1

The bold is a letter posistion.
__________________


Aipom, Pikachu, and Eevee shall take over the world very soon... Very soon...

Map Requests Accepted JUST NOT FOR THE MAP RATING THREAD
  #10325    
Old July 9th, 2009, 02:23 PM
PlatniumPiano's Avatar
PlatniumPiano
You are now breathing manually
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yesterday
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Are there bytes in the game that say what condition the OW is in (i.e. when a trainer locks movement with "!", walking in grass, surfing, just plain walking), and what offset are they located at? Are they stored in a variable, or does it just have to do with the particular script being run by the game?

Thank you in advance
__________________

If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.